We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Jungle Escape”
Review of Lookout Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Inn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to the Lookout Inn in June 2012 to start off our honeymoon in Costa Rica. Terry and Katya greeted us warmly as soon as we arrived and then Katya gave us a tour of their beautiful place of which the photos don't do justice. We stayed in the Spa which was open air to really give you the jungle experience. More than once we awoke to monkeys eating bananas only a few feet from our room! The bed was covered with mosquito netting and hung from the ceiling; it was very comfortable with a fan for the hot nights. Every day the small pool in our room refilled and our room was cleaned while we were out enjoying the spectacular views.
The food was the best we had during our stay in Costa Rica, Chef Juan Kee is a fantastic cook and fisherman! They are very accommodating and even asked if we had any requests, my husband asked for perogies which was a high order but lo and behold we had the most delicious perogy dinner on our last night.
The staff are very very friendly and efficient, Alana made us feel right at home. Happy hour brings cocktails, popcorn and a magnificent view while many hummingbirds are at the feeders only a few feet away. Dinner is a communal event where stories from the day's adventures are swapped and new interesting friends are made.
Corcovado Park is a must visit, be sure to get an early start as the first and last bit of the hike is on the hot beach. Katya's frog tour was well worth it, we saw snakes, red eyed tree frogs and many other interesting frog species.
The beach was all to ourselves and hikes just around the lodge offered many opportunities for wildlife viewing- the best we experienced in our two weeks. We extended our stay another night we were so entranced by the place. We recommend Lookout Inn wholeheartedly it is worth the trek. We cannot wait until our return visit hopefully next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the best accomodation closest to Corcovado National Park. There are a few rooms (more affordable) right in the main lodge and are clean and very dry (if you are in the rainy season). The rest of the lodge offers open air cabanas. We were there for 7 days on our honeymoon and stayed in the Beach Bungalow. This room was very private and was probably the most enclosed of all the cabanas available. The food is INCREDIBLE and the views are fantastic. They are accomodating for your nutritional needs (I have lactose intolerance and I had no problems). It is a very private and quiet location so if you want to get away and avoid the overcrowding tourists, go here. You can take a different hike everyday and get guided tours with little notice. Like most beaches on the Pacific side, its a bit rough, but the lodge offeres boogie boards. Quiet, clean great staff. To get to the lodge, you can either take the local bus or hire a driver. Although more expensive, the hired driver is reliable, very nice (we stopped to look at sloths and crocodiles en route), and much much faster/comfortable. But the bus is safe and cheap. The PARK IS BEAUTIFUL! This is not a 5 star resort - this is a down to earth, beautiful, simple, clean lodge with great staff and amazing food. Everything you need for a comfortable stay is there - privacy is paramount, nature is impecible, friendliness is abundant. Good luck, have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmug155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went here in April of 2012 with our 13 year old and 19 year old. It is a great place with great food, but perhaps not for everyone. We stayed in a "Room" that was a long climb up many stairs and was that was really like an open air platform where monkeys swung by lbirds flew overhead. The boys each had a bed with netting up in a loft and we had a double bed with netting. There are no windows, and the loft access is a ladder. The bathroom is open to the jungle. The place is DARK at night, so bring headlamps. The lodge will provide little laterns, but we mostly just hung out in the lodge until we ready to sleep and then headed up. There is lots of hiking, great bird-watching, and a long beach to roam down. Lots of wildlife. This place may feel primitive to some, but the food is gourment, there is a nice vibe, and a good bar with plenty of hammocks to lounge in. Beware all of the stairs - if you have sore knees or can't walk up lots of stairs look eslewhere. If you like camping, hiking, and "soft" adventure, this place is for you! The staff is great, and they will pack up a lunch for you and give you an extra early breakfast if you have a long hike ahead.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

If you are looking for a place away from it all where you can unwind and get lost in sound of the crashing waves and Costa Rican jungles, then this is it. The Inn is nestled on the side of a steep hill, at the end of the road on the Osa Peninsula and offers a very fun environment to connect with fellow travelers from all over and spectacular rooms completely open to the raw jungle. The bed was a bit stiff, a hammock might have been a nice option. If you are looking for an Inn off the beaten path, then this is the location for you.

Room Tip: We staying in one of the Tiki Huts, very cool, open air room, bed was a bit stiff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were coming to Costa Rica every year for nearly 15 years by now. Almost each time we come to stay at the Lookout Inn in Carate. Staying there is always a remarkable and unique experience. The location of the inn, nestled in the hills overlooking the beach, invites great views of the ocean and is always a prime spot for watching the native scarlet macaws and white faced capuchin monkeys. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the resident chef serves up amazing meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The inn's location is also walking distance from Corcovado National Park and is a great base camp for exploring the natural wonders of the region. I have stayed at many places in Costa Rica, and most of them were very nice, but none of them could beat the Lookout Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BugHunter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

First of all Carate Beach is at the very end of the road before Corcovado. If you don't know about the amazing biodiversity of this area you need to look it up. Because it's on the end of a bumpy dirt road Carate is not a tourist zoo yet as many parts of Costa Rica have become. The Lookout is the only hotel on the Beach. I've looked all around the area and it's the best place to be. The food is fantastic and inclusive in the (low) price. The guest are from all over the world and almost all very into nature and photography. Terry Conroy is a character and his Katia wife is beautiful and charming. They will set up anything you want (a plane, a boat, a guide...). The rooms are all good, and the Monkey Hut is stunning. I've gone back four times and am planning my next visit. I have never been anywhere with as many kinds of seeable animals as Carate/Corcovado. The one problem is those (ho-hum) pesky macaws. They're everywhere!

Room Tip: Try the Monkey Hut, Tiki Hut, Spa or Blue Butterfly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrGermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

One of our best family vacations ever. We went to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary with our two kids and stayed in the Monkey House. Terry and Katia were great with us and all of the guests and created a really unique environment. Among other things, we really loved the roast pig on the beach on New Year's eve!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
12.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
1.2 mi away
LagunaVista Villas
LagunaVista Villas
#4 of 6 in Carate
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn Lodge

Address: Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range: $105 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lookout Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Inn Lodge is a beach and rainforest ecolodge in Carate on Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. We are located completely off the beaten path and conveniently located near an entrance to the world-renowned Corcovado National Park. Ideally situated to offer comfortable and affordable eco-friendly accommodations to adventure travelers visiting this remote part of Costa Rica, the Lookout Inn Lodge is sure to impress. Nestled in the hillside right above the road and alongside an isolated black sand beach, Lookout Inn Lodge provides our guests with spectacular views of the surrounding jungle rainforest, the majestic Pacific Ocean and an endless unspoiled Osa Peninsula coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lookout Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Carate
Lookout Inn Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing