We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a zen monastery in the rain forest”
Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a zen monastery in the rain forest”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

with most forms of real estate the decisive elements are (in the order listed): location, location and location. and here we have a clear winner. the lodge is built on the steep hills of one of the last pristine rain forests in costa rica (which, of course, is a crime). still, it's hard to escape the draw. there aren't many places on this planet, where you can sit on the floor of the restaurant and gaze at the distant ocean, while being swallowed by the vivid flora and fauna surrounding you. the bungalows and the restaurant are nothing short of spectacular, etc. etc.

so maybe it's good, that the luna lodge has some serious downsides preventing the place from being overrun: the atmosphere created by the regular guests is outright spooky, a somewhat unlikely mixture of nursing home, penal colony, zen monastery and kindergarten. the eco-label is somewhat pretended (water is heated with natural gas), the tours offered are a silly joke, the food is bad, in short, the place is terribly mismanaged by the owner, who even insists on regulating your daily access to the internetz.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not_such
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
First of all - thank you very much for taking your time to review us here in Trip Advisor.
We are sorry that you did not take advantage of the free Sustainability tour, read the information provided in your room, or ask questions while you were here, so that you would have realized that the reason we are considered an Eco-lodge is because our electrical energy is provided 100% by hydro power, our filtering system for the pool is salt filtered and even the hot water for the showers is solar generated in the hacienda rooms.
Yes, at first it might seem inconsistent to have a Lodge in the heart of the forest that you are trying to preserve, but the fact is that the property where Luna Lodge sits had been burned down over 40 years ago by the last owner, with the intent to have a farm. The construction process of the Lodge was supervised by the Costa Rican Government and not a single tree of primary rainforest was cut. The forest that serves as the grounds for Luna Lodge is far healthier today than when Luna began.
Our guests are from all over the world and are amazing people. Potential visitors, please continue to read our other reviews to see how wonderful a trip to Luna can really be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    22
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
131
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What an amazing time we had at Luna Lodge! Lana and her staff make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive til the day you say goodbye. The drive to the lodge is incredible. I think we crossed 7 rivers, saw green parrots, lapas, hawks, monkeys, iguanas...and that was only the drive in. We made it just in time to see the sunset, then settled into our "tent" huts...They consisted of tarp walls/net windows, two beds, a bathroom complete with a heated shower, and patios with rocking chairs perfect for relaxing.

We stayed two nights, with a hike in Corcovado during the day. One thing I would recommend is to make sure you drink enough water! We had been doing tons of hiking before we even got to Corcovado, and we showed up dehydrated- big mistake. Drink. Your. Water!!! :)

Luna Lodge was absolutely magical. Lana and her mother treat you as a dear friend, her staff goes above and beyond to make your stay relaxing, safe, and enjoyable. We ended up getting a flat tire and they helped us patch it up and change it to the spare. Then, when it was time to leave, Lana even gave us a cool alternate route through mountains and utilizing a one-car ferry to cross a wide river, we may have saved some time, and definitely enjoyed some spectacular views of the Osa. She also recommended a restaurant with an epic ocean-jungle view in Dominicalito en route to our next destination.

Overall, I give Luna Lodge and the Osa Peninsula an A+. 5 Stars. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review – it makes us more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as it was wonderful for us to have you and your family as our guests! We hope to see you again soon and please feel free to email us anytime to keep in touch!
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Luna Lodge in the tents at the top of the hill after spending 3 days in the Corcovado National Park. We had booked this as our recovery with the intention of doing NOTHING for 2 days.

The lodge is located far up a hill at the edge of Carate and the trip on the road is quite interesting in itself - not one for the timid self-drive!

The tents are plenty big enough for 2 people and are have great views to the ocean - the bathrooms are lovely. There's a lovely big swimming pool. As they are higher up It also seemed cooler than at the platform.

All the food is included and Lana and her mum Willy and their staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was very nice and there was plenty of it. One thing I did miss was that there was no fruit-juice offered at breakfast or any other time (lots of fresh fruit though) .

We did a night walk on the property with a guide to go in search of the red-eyed tree frog which we hadn't seen until then (it was a success).

Lana is very conscious of the encroachment of development on the Osa Peninsular and is fundraising to buy the strip of land from the Corcovado NP to Matapalo to maintain the wildlife corridor - having been in the park this is an essential task and I wish her well in her endeavours.

Luna Lodge was what we needed after the hike but 2 nights for us was enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review. We enjoyed having you here as a guest and are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay! We hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 5 days at Luna Lodge and I could have stayed for 5 weeks in our lovely little bungalow, with hummingbirds flitting round the flowers in the partially open bathroom, a little deck projecting out over the valley into the rainforest, with scarlet macaws flying past.

We had bumped along the track for nearly 2 hours from Puerto Jimenez in a 4 wheel drive (luckily not driven by us!), through several rivers, and up and down and weregreeeted by Lana and one of her lovely boys with ice cold glasses of water. Hoiwever, having discivered that we could fly back in 10 minutes or so, we decided thatthat was part of the adventure!

Lana has managed to surround herself with fabulous staff, who could not have been more friendly and helpful, making us feel like part of the family, and the guides are stunningly knowledgeable.

The food is lovely, and lovingly prepared. The margaritas are excellent also!

Yoga lessons and an amazing massage just made the whole experience perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here! Please feel free to write us any time to keep in touch – we hope to see you again in the future!
Pura Vida from Luna Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at Luna Lodge shortly after New Year and although quite a trek to get there, it was well worth it. I first flew into San Jose from Miami and then down to Puerto Jimenez on a regional airline (turbo prop) and finally to Carate in a small 4 seater plane. Built on the hillside, overlooking the lush trees towards the ocean, the views are spectacular.

Luna Lodge takes its role in protecting the environment very seriously as was evident everywhere on the property and in the chalets. The chalets are rustic, comfortable, but do not expect luxury as it is not. However, the beds are comfy with insect nets; there is enough cupboard space and the bathroom amenities are more than adequate. And showering in the open air is an exhilarating experience!

One of the highlights of the stay was the Yoga platform, which is the highest point on the property with stunning views. Doing an early morning Yoga session overlooking the valley; seeing the multitude of birds and the playful monkeys is a wonderful way to start the day. And the swimming pool, filtered using solar power is another special spot.

The focus is on nature walks and hikes and these are plentiful varying from easy to difficult. The highlight for me was the 7 hour trek into the Corcovado National Park and back - we saw lots of birds and animals - magical. The canoe trip was very special as well.

A few minor quibbles - the restrictive times to use the Internet is a little like school and unnecessary - we are adults and will not intrude on others, who generally did not care if you want to use your iPad or laptop!

Also allocating us to tables for dinner, to force mixing, I also feel is not required as in such a small environment people will gravitate to each other anyway.

While the food is good, it is not gourmet as advertising on website and the wine selection is poor, but this is caused by logistics.

Lastly, the greatest asset at Luna Lodge is the staff - friendly and caring! Would I go back - definitely if I had the time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high up the mountain side as possible - a longer walk to meals, but better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

After visiting Luna Lodge for a day trip 2 years ago (and experiencing their infinity yoga deck, wonderful food and hospitality), I was so thrilled to return for a 3 day visit with a good friend. We stayed in a permanent tent at the top of the property - over 150 steps above the main lodge. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable. (I would have enjoyed a 2nd pillow, but hey, we were roughing it.) We enjoyed sleeping at the tree top line looking out over the entire rainforest. During our stay, we practice morning yoga, had a creative and spiritual massage, hiked the trails on the property to the waterfall. But, the highlight of the trip was the day long hike into the Corcovado National Park. Our guide was Gary and he was a true, authentic and passionate guide. We saw so many endangered and exclusive creatures of this specific park; it gave us a whole new appreciation for this precious life and planet. I will return again soon!
Key recommendations: hire the charter flight to Carate instead of driving from Puerto Jimenez; it's fast and worth the expense. Pack light with performance gear that's easily washable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cyrusrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As other reviewers have already said it is really remote but arrangements can be made through the lodge for pick up in carate or puerto jimenez .We flew into puerto jimenez from San Jose,great way to tour the country,by air,as we had great views from the airplane.The drive was an adventure as well,2 hours of rough roads crossing 17 rivers/creeks! We enjoyed the drive! We really liked luna lodge! The friendlyness of the owner or her mother and the staff.We were made to feel at home in short order by being introduced to the other guests that were there.We stayed in the hacienda rooms which we liked as it had screening and was close to the main lodge.there was also hammocks out front of the hacienda rooms and i enjoyed some time everyday in one of them! The food was simple but fresh and the service could not be beat.Fresh coffee and hot water for tea is always available in the main lodge.I would get up very early get some coffee and sit on one of there huge decks overlooking the ocean and rainforest..We took part in many of the tours offered, oscar being our guide was top notch! One day a group of us flew into the heart of corcovado park,sirena,and hiked all day what a great day that was.We weren't sure if we would find enough to do as we had booked seven nights there but we had no problem.The lodge is set up for yoga and retreats but if you want to just enjoy nature,as we did, that was no problem and we met guest coming for all sorts of reasons. My traveling buddy and i both agreed we would return to luna lodge again because it is one of those special places you can fall in love with! Any critisms would include because of the remoteness it was necessary to travel with guides to go anywhere, which is extra cost.

Room Tip: e lodges are open air so if you are uncomfortable with that the hacienda room are completely screene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 152sharonac152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
12.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
22.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 40 in Osa Peninsula
607 reviews
21.8 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Property: Luna Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing