We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous retreat”
Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 5 days at Luna Lodge and I could have stayed for 5 weeks in our lovely little bungalow, with hummingbirds flitting round the flowers in the partially open bathroom, a little deck projecting out over the valley into the rainforest, with scarlet macaws flying past.

We had bumped along the track for nearly 2 hours from Puerto Jimenez in a 4 wheel drive (luckily not driven by us!), through several rivers, and up and down and weregreeeted by Lana and one of her lovely boys with ice cold glasses of water. Hoiwever, having discivered that we could fly back in 10 minutes or so, we decided thatthat was part of the adventure!

Lana has managed to surround herself with fabulous staff, who could not have been more friendly and helpful, making us feel like part of the family, and the guides are stunningly knowledgeable.

The food is lovely, and lovingly prepared. The margaritas are excellent also!

Yoga lessons and an amazing massage just made the whole experience perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna-Lodge, Owner at Luna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here! Please feel free to write us any time to keep in touch – we hope to see you again in the future!
Pura Vida from Luna Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at Luna Lodge shortly after New Year and although quite a trek to get there, it was well worth it. I first flew into San Jose from Miami and then down to Puerto Jimenez on a regional airline (turbo prop) and finally to Carate in a small 4 seater plane. Built on the hillside, overlooking the lush trees towards the ocean, the views are spectacular.

Luna Lodge takes its role in protecting the environment very seriously as was evident everywhere on the property and in the chalets. The chalets are rustic, comfortable, but do not expect luxury as it is not. However, the beds are comfy with insect nets; there is enough cupboard space and the bathroom amenities are more than adequate. And showering in the open air is an exhilarating experience!

One of the highlights of the stay was the Yoga platform, which is the highest point on the property with stunning views. Doing an early morning Yoga session overlooking the valley; seeing the multitude of birds and the playful monkeys is a wonderful way to start the day. And the swimming pool, filtered using solar power is another special spot.

The focus is on nature walks and hikes and these are plentiful varying from easy to difficult. The highlight for me was the 7 hour trek into the Corcovado National Park and back - we saw lots of birds and animals - magical. The canoe trip was very special as well.

A few minor quibbles - the restrictive times to use the Internet is a little like school and unnecessary - we are adults and will not intrude on others, who generally did not care if you want to use your iPad or laptop!

Also allocating us to tables for dinner, to force mixing, I also feel is not required as in such a small environment people will gravitate to each other anyway.

While the food is good, it is not gourmet as advertising on website and the wine selection is poor, but this is caused by logistics.

Lastly, the greatest asset at Luna Lodge is the staff - friendly and caring! Would I go back - definitely if I had the time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high up the mountain side as possible - a longer walk to meals, but better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaymanBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

After visiting Luna Lodge for a day trip 2 years ago (and experiencing their infinity yoga deck, wonderful food and hospitality), I was so thrilled to return for a 3 day visit with a good friend. We stayed in a permanent tent at the top of the property - over 150 steps above the main lodge. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable. (I would have enjoyed a 2nd pillow, but hey, we were roughing it.) We enjoyed sleeping at the tree top line looking out over the entire rainforest. During our stay, we practice morning yoga, had a creative and spiritual massage, hiked the trails on the property to the waterfall. But, the highlight of the trip was the day long hike into the Corcovado National Park. Our guide was Gary and he was a true, authentic and passionate guide. We saw so many endangered and exclusive creatures of this specific park; it gave us a whole new appreciation for this precious life and planet. I will return again soon!
Key recommendations: hire the charter flight to Carate instead of driving from Puerto Jimenez; it's fast and worth the expense. Pack light with performance gear that's easily washable.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cyrusrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As other reviewers have already said it is really remote but arrangements can be made through the lodge for pick up in carate or puerto jimenez .We flew into puerto jimenez from San Jose,great way to tour the country,by air,as we had great views from the airplane.The drive was an adventure as well,2 hours of rough roads crossing 17 rivers/creeks! We enjoyed the drive! We really liked luna lodge! The friendlyness of the owner or her mother and the staff.We were made to feel at home in short order by being introduced to the other guests that were there.We stayed in the hacienda rooms which we liked as it had screening and was close to the main lodge.there was also hammocks out front of the hacienda rooms and i enjoyed some time everyday in one of them! The food was simple but fresh and the service could not be beat.Fresh coffee and hot water for tea is always available in the main lodge.I would get up very early get some coffee and sit on one of there huge decks overlooking the ocean and rainforest..We took part in many of the tours offered, oscar being our guide was top notch! One day a group of us flew into the heart of corcovado park,sirena,and hiked all day what a great day that was.We weren't sure if we would find enough to do as we had booked seven nights there but we had no problem.The lodge is set up for yoga and retreats but if you want to just enjoy nature,as we did, that was no problem and we met guest coming for all sorts of reasons. My traveling buddy and i both agreed we would return to luna lodge again because it is one of those special places you can fall in love with! Any critisms would include because of the remoteness it was necessary to travel with guides to go anywhere, which is extra cost.

Room Tip: e lodges are open air so if you are uncomfortable with that the hacienda room are completely screene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 152sharonac152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you like it remote then this is perfect, you can drive there, a very long way over extremely bumpy roads or fly to the local 'airport/strip' which is only 15 minutes away by 4 wheel drive through a coyple of rivers and up a mountainside. Built with love and care each lodge is surrounded by lush plants giving privacy but maintaining stunning views. The yoga platform is particularly breathtaking. Food is served as a group and was fresh and tasty, My only gripe here is having to sit with others who you may not have chosen to under other circumstances. The rainforest is pristine and truly amazing and the wildlife sounds are soemthing else!
The lodges are on a steep incline so if you have trouble walking then you need to make sure you have the lowest lodge else it is a hike. All in all a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Choose a room closest to the restaurant as they are all private but most are a hike up a very steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This area is remote but is absolutely worth it. I wanted the experience of an eco-lodge, an unspoiled rainforest, the birds, animals, and wonderful people -- and I received the very best of it all at Luna Lodge! Lana has carved out the most wonderful, eco-friendly setting and made it sustainable while interacting with the nature surrounding you. The trip from Puerto Jimenez to Luna Lodge was made so enjoyable by my guide pointing out all the birds and animals along the very rough road. Then arriving at Luna with cold, crystal clear water awaiting you and Lana greeting you, seeing my wonderul bungalow and the view, the delicious fresh lunch on the verandah of the dining room overlooking the rainforest and out to the ocean. The guides, Gary and Oscar, were extremely knowlegeable and made the tours the best -- always available to answer any "dumb" question I might have. And one must always have Osa, the greatest dog, take you on a hike to the waterfalls or along the many trails. All the staff of Luna Lodge are marvelous, food was absolutely yummy and fresh, and my 5 night stay was wonderful! I raved about this experience (April, 2012) to everyone and already have had friends take the same trip on my say so, and they loved it as well. I checked off so many birds -- close to 50 -- plus others I didn't get written down, as well as monkeys, lizards, insects, snakes, coatis, etc. Loved sitting on my deck, in my rocking chair, watching the hummingbirds flitting around and looking out to sea. Never have enjoyed yoga so much as with Lana, on the deck, looking out over the forest, with Macaws flying by -- unique and unforgettable! So much more to say...........!

Room Tip: Loved the bungalow, was easy to get to the main area, and the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Luna Lodge website shares the lodges beauty, to experience it is over the TOP!
Experiencing the amazing people, food "extra"ordinarily FRESH, the land is beyond beautiful.
Imagine listening to the waterfalls in the jungle, hearing the Pacific ocean waves roll in and watching the sunrise...oh yes the monkeys singin' their morning songs.
Lana, Willie and the entire crew provided amazing service, care & heart the entire stay:+)!
Best kept secret is the Hibiscus labyrinth.
Loved the rocking chairs, stargazing, & coconut scrub massage.
All Good & Grateful for all of it.
Remember to contribute to the White Hawk foundation:+)

Room Tip: #7 is a perfect spot, private tucked in and hummingbirds around the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
12.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
21.8 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
21.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
12.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing