We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luna Lodge - A great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luna Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luna Lodge - A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I loved our Luna Lodge experience and would recommend it to anyone that's looking for an opportunity to experience a very special part of Costa Rica in a beautiful lodge with great, friendly staff, delicious and healthy meals and the opportunity to partake in activities like hiking and bird watching with fantastic local, capable guides. We do a lot of travelling and I'd say the visit to Luna Lodge is up there with the top couple of travel experiences we've had. I compare it to an experience we had in the Okavanga Delta in Botswana Africa. Starting with the 2 hour drive from Puerto Jiminez (an adventure in itself), to the yoga class with Lana, the hike into the Corcovado National Park and the upper Ridge hike with Oscar, bird watching with Gary, getting to know the guests from all over the world at meal time, and the beautiful bungalow. What a place!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow and it was fantastic. The chairs on the deck looked out over the trees and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    21
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
117
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was such an amazing trip! I was there with five friends in early February, 2012. Lana, Willie, Gary, and all of the staff were incredibly gracious - and totally dedicated to preserving and growing this unique space of biodiversity - and to sharing its wonder with guests.
The air was full of the sounds of summer insects. We saw exquisite flowers, spider and howler monkeys, an anteater, white-lipped peccaries, king vultures, scarlet-winged macaws, ibises, hummingbird nests, and many vibrantly colored small birds, which we saw on the birdwatching tours with a guide and a powerful spotting scope. We stayed in one of the beautifully constructed thatched-roof bungalows. We did have a cute resident lizard or two, but no mosquitoes. The shower is completely private to the bungalow, but opens out onto a small lush garden.The food, prepared by Carmen and her staff, was fresh, creative, delicious, and beautifully presented. Rosie's massage was wonderful; as were Lana's yoga classes! We were amazed at the effort it took to carve this paradise out of the rainforest in this out0of-the-way place-- all materials carried in; swimming pool dug by hand, etc. Absolutely amazing!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flourtown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Luna Lodge along with a group of yoga enthusiasts. The lodging is exquisite and the owner is a visionary who deeply cares about the wildlife in the Osa Penninsula. Each morning you awake to the sounds of the birds and howling monkeys (they are far away so don't worry). There are many hikes to take, places to visit and excellent guides who will share their deep knowledge and appreciation for Costa Rica.
You will enjoy every minute here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Luna Lodge over the holidays. Getting there isn't easy - fly to Puerto Jiminez, drive 2-3 hours to Carate, and then cross the river a few times and head STRAIGHT up the side of a mountain - but it was well worth the trek.

Don't go here if you need air conditioning. It was hot, and humid, but not too hot that we weren't able to sleep. Our bungalow had a decent breeze, and you can't beat the open air bathrooms and howler monkey alarm clocks. We were in bungalow #5 which is great if you don't want to walk far or uphill. The higher up bungalows seemed to have a better view/more of a breeze, but our was fine (and we had toucans right outside!)

We really enjoyed the Corcovado hike, and heard that the hike in La Serena (via plane) was even better. The staff is fantastic and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenlmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I recently came across our pictures from a family vacation to Luna lodge--about 10 years ago. Our son wanted to see the rain forest "before it was all gone". I'm so glad to see that Lanna and the forest are alive and well on the Osa Peninsula. when we visited there were three cabins. the transportation was a fifteen year old truck with a rickety wood bench in the back--we did have to push a few times going up from the beach! There were bugs and toads and lizards and monkeys threw fruit on us and we went fishing with strings. We had a difficulty timing our return trip from the forest because alligators were gaurding the river. No phones, TV, Video games for a whole week with a 13 y.r old boy-hell? Hardly, the best trip we've ever taken. It sounds like things haven't changed too much except for the pool and the land rover. This trip is not for everyone but go with a light wardrobe, bring bug spray and have a trip of a life time. Looking back at our pictures makes me want to return! Thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Come for the abundant wildlife. Come for the primary virgin rainforest, or for the hundreds of rare and beautiful tropical birds, the thundering waterfalls, the black sand beach, or a hike in the famous 42,000 acre Corcovado National Park. Just come. It is the trip of a lifetime; one you will never forget. Book your stay in one of the 5 tents that are tucked into the forested hillside and you will literally be in the middle of the rainforest - one of the few "wild" places left on this planet. This is a very small establishment - only 25 to 30 guests at any given time - so the personal attention from the staff is outstanding. The guides are knowledgeable and experienced. The meals rival any fine restaurant - dinner is family style and lots of fun. You get to know the other guests - you eat with them, hike with them, swim with them - I made many wonderful friends from all over the world. Our favorite activities were the Night Hike with Gary and the Waterfall hikes with Osa (the resident dog). The spa treatments and the morning Yoga are not to be missed! I swam in the pool every morning - many times I had it all to myself! My words of advise - bring WATER SHOES. Also, the trip in and out is LONG - so leave plenty of time for travel. Our vacation was 6 days, but we really only had 4 days on the OSA because one day on each end was travel. I wish we had booked a couple more days! There is an airstrip at the bottom of the hill from Luna Lodge - use the air taxi to get in and out - it will save you hours of slow ground travel on bumpy roads. But any way you get there it is worth it!!

Room Tip: If you are going to visit the rainforest, go all the way and stay in one of the tents - the wildlife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHoosiers002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were lucky to travel to Luna Lodge at the same time as "60PercentTravel" and his family and second his accolades for this incredible experience. Our kids (aged 9 and 10) flourished in the freedom that the lodge environment offered -- no room keys; come and go in total comfort and security because of the wonderful and welcoming staff and the gorgeous place. Having other families with children there was a total plus and made the very long hikes great fun. After the long hike down the beach to Corcovado National Park (7 miles round trip), the kids enjoyed playing in the water (no sharks or crocs there that day!) and were building little coconut shell boats for the thousands of hermit crabs to take across the river. They were enjoying nature while we hunted for hawks and other wildlife in the vicinity. We also took the small plane into the park - Sirena, the ranger station - and wholly recommend it. Alvaro the pilot is like a cross between Indiana Jones and Porco Rosso (Miyazaki character) and Gary was a patient, knowledgeable and keen guide. We did not take advantage of the yoga or the massages but I heard they were phenomenal! We did find our own treasure trove of parrots each early evening around 5 in a tree near the yoga deck. There are a few great hikes right from the lodge including a waterfall hike guided by Osa, the amazing "responsible" and smart dog who my daughter fell in love with! Osa tolerated well all the tight hugs and close attention even though you could tell they made her a little uneasy! The bungalows are so well designed that I found myself thinking about the process that Lana must have gone through to design this resort. Having no key (there is a safe available in the main lodge) was incredibly freeing and absolutely no reception for anything electronic was beyond wonderful. The pool was refreshing and set well near views and beautiful birds (hummingbirds too were everywhere!). It took about a day to get our right lenses on to be able to see and hear all the wildlife right around us. The lodge is set about 1/2 mile up in mountain and up a river (and a very fun AWD ride through river and tent camps of the gold miners!) from the beach which is not swimmable due to current, rocks, riptides. We very much enjoyed the people who are also attracted to such an outoftheway place (only about 40 guests maximum) and learned about avocado farming in Mexico City from an Australian! Lana and her staff tried hard to make New Year's Eve very fun and the pinata and attention to the kids was much appreciated. I'm not sure when the last time I've seen adults play musical chairs but great fun and laughter was had by all! Our daughter turned 9 while were there and Lana had a special cake made and everyone sang to her as she blew out the candles. Not enough can be said about Lana and her wish for the preservation of the rainforest and her role in exposing the world to this incredible place. Lana, her mom Willie, Gary and all of the staff went far out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and having a wonderful experience -- everything from meals to excursions. Each time you arrive back to "campus" from an excursion, you would be met by Lana or another friendly face with refreshing cold drinks and an inquiry about the experience. We have been to Costa Rica several times before but this was our visit to the Osa and we can't recommend Luna Lodge more highly for a beautiful and meaningful get away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
22.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
21.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.5 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 5 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
21.3 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge

Property: Luna Lodge
Address: Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the tropical rain forest bordering Corcovado National Park, Luna Lodge is a unique resort described by many as "...a piece of true paradise". Its appeal is, not only, its natural beauty and environment, where the heliconia hang three feet long, and the howler monkeys wake you in the morning, but also, its ambiance. The owners' passion for the preservation of the forest is ever present, and the attentive courtesy, friendly staff always serve "con mucho gusto... with pleasure". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Carate
Luna Lodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing