We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hike with guidance through Osatravel.com”

Corcovado National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,066.25*
and up
8-Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure Hike
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hike with guidance through Osatravel.com”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I hiked in Corcovado on a 9-day vacation from San Francisco with my girlfriend. Her uncle owns a house in Uvita, so we picked Corcovado as a good destination in southern Costa Rica for a side trip, to make it a memorable experience.

Our uncle recommended we contact Osa Travel to book a guide. When I tried to book a hike, Western Union caused difficulty sending payment. So we arrived in Puerto Jimenez without a plan and we were only going to relax.

Felix Menocal was our contact. Felix had already paid for our park passes. We met just so I could repay him. With generosity, he agreed to arrange our hike the next day, even without previous booking.

Felix took myself and my girlfriend from Carate to Sirena in Corcovado park. His guidance gave us an amazing hike. With his over ten years of experience, I was very impressed by his skill to hear monkeys and other animals from far away, that I would never have seen without his help. Our hike included close up sightings of anteaters, tapirs, 3 species of monkeys, coatimundis, snakes, lizards, and all kinds of history and nature of the area. This is a really special experience you won’t find anywhere else.

Patrick - San Francisco CA

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    136
    43
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit overrated!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Based on other reviews we expected to be blown away by this park, but we were a bit disappointed. We hiked in from Carate with a guide and saw only a few monkeys, a single coati, and a crocodile during the entire 20k hike! We did see 3 tapirs, and some peccaries, a sloth and a few snakes around Sirena station. There was a puma around, but we did not see it. We saw no animals around the station on the primary rainforest trails, and our guide said this was typical. Would definitely go with an accredited guide vs alone, as the trail into Sirena is not well marked. It took us just over 6.5 hrs from Carate with a stop at La Leona station. It was our first few days in Costa Rica and it was exciting to see the animals for the first time and the rainforest was beautiful - we enjoyed it, but in retrospect I don't think it is necessary to go into Corcovado to experience the Osa Peninsula. We spent the next 4 nights at a lodge on Cabo Matopalo and saw much more abundant wildlife during day hikes by ourselves around our lodge and surrounding properties. True, we did not see a tapir outside the park, but we did see fresh footprints on the Titi Trail at Bosque del Cabo so they are around!! This was the only animal we did not see outside the park. We never did see an anteater! Sirena Station is very dirty - only 3 toilets of 4 were working for about 50 people. They were never cleaned and the toilet paper ran out on the second day. The food is good though, and plentiful. If you have your heart set on seeing a tapir, you will likely see one in the park. If you can live without seeing one, would skip the park and hike around Cabo Matopalo instead!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LisaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay here for ever”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The setting and atmosphere here are incredible. I wanted to experience rainforest wildlife and have fun. This did it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MArk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FELIX FROM OSA TRAVEL AGENCY”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

we have met felix on our way to la sirena thinking we do not need a guide in this amazing place where nature is all around you/ felix proved us wrong while asked us to join him and another travler took his service. we found out that with felix we can see a lot more of the animals in the park and understood more of them as well as the nature surounding us. felix was very much profesional and you can see that he absoulotely loves his job. he showed us many things and took us deep in the jungle to look for things we wanted to see. he explanes really good and his english is nice. he made all the aforts for us to get what we asked, all that with a big smile and one of a kind nicent we haven't seen all of our 2 month trip in cental america.we highly recomend on this guide. we can not be more happy we ran out in to felix. if we will have another chance we definatelly will take his service again- take him to be our guide in this amazing place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is the pure jungle along with a beautiful beach nearby.
You can see really an infinite number of different animals and vegetation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing