We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“3 Day hiking in Corcovado” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park
Book In Advance
$2,066.25*
and up
8-Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure Hike
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Carate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reusel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“3 Day hiking in Corcovado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just came back from a 3 day hike throught the incredible Corcovado Park in Costa Rica. We left from La Leona early morning. And although it's a hike of 19 km it's more than word every single step of it. Beautiful environment, loads of animals and hardly any signs of human activity here. It is great. We slept in La Sirena. This place is very basic but situated in the jungles and surrounded by animals. Our second day we were walking on several trails. Our guide Rodolfo Saenz really know the park and where are the best places to find the animals.

The guide showed us squirrel monkeys, capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, spider monkeys, collared pecari's, white lipped pecari's, crocodiles, loads of birds and he even knew to locate a puma. We were face to face with this puma for many minutes. It was just great.

On our hike back he provided us with fresh coconuts. He cooked us meals. He arranged the entrance fees and provided us with gears for the camping. Even other guides told us he is one of the best. Planning to go to Corcovado... take a hike with this guy. rodolfosaenz@hotmail.com

And of Corcovado? This is really a must see, a must do, a once in a life time experience. WOW!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick_Gijsbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    120
    35
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Go early in the morning. THe hike to the entrance during peak sun light is brutal! Worth it though when you get to Corcovado and start the hike!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Corcovada from Carate with Guide Eric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eric has lived in Carate his entire life, and is a generous, kind, and expert guide. I learned so much from him. When he saw our interest in wildlife, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience, even chasing down a crocodile for a photo op! We hiked from Finca Exotica into the park - 3.5 hours - and back. An amazing experience! Saw all four species of Costa Rica monkey!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wild and magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Shared a boat (from Drake Bay) and two guides with another family. Within 30 minutes of landing near Sirena station, we had excellent views of maccaws, monkeys, peccaries and tapirs! The rest of our day hike was naturally less intensive, but highly enjoyable. Our guides, Rebecca and Eddie, were a terrific team and Rebecca did an outstanding job of teaching our children.

Tips: start as early as possible, pack a lunch and plenty of water, and check for ticks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PADiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauneuf de Grasse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“la sirena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

animals and birds, history from our local guide, what's going on now with the park and its future, would have been cool to stay the night and do the crossing through the park. Can stay in the barracks and camp at the la Sirena hdqtrs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NiniStrawbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corcovado National Park also viewed

Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
Corcovado National Park, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Corcovado National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing