We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature and beauty at its best...”
Review of LagunaVista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LagunaVista Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

While the pictures on the website give a resort type feel to the place, this is not a resort, it's a lodge, but a fine one at that. We spent our last four nights here of our 11 day trip in Costa Rica and it was the highlight of our trip. We were met at Puerto Jiminez by Macho who drove us to the lodge in a Landrover, not the luxury kind but a real jeep; it was a 2 hour trip over rough roads, through creeks and we loved it. The lodge had 3 staff on hand during our stay who were very pleasant...they knew very little english and we know very little Spanish but we managed just fine and they accommodated all our needs.

There our several villas, ours was the one at the farthest west end with a plunge pool and large terrace that provided complete privacy and stunning views of the rainforest, the lagoon and the Pacific. The room was large, a little worn in places, but clean with simple furnishings and a bathroom that is open to the elements...don't be surprised if you are greeted by little creatures such as hummingbirds, crickets, and others, all harmless...you are after all in the middle of the rainforest. The dining room is on a large open veranda with stunning views all around. The meals were fresh, lots of fruit, and the last night they prepared a beautiful fresh fish for dinner.

The highlight...the wildlife...we watched families of white face and spider monkeys in the trees for hours on end right from our terrace. A group of them slept in the trees one night so we were able to have our morning coffee and watch them feeding the next morning..it was awesome. We also heard the howlers in the morning and at times during the day. Macaws were all around us and we saw a Toucan on our last morning. We will never forget it.

We also went on 20K hike through the park with Eric a local guide. He was excellent and I would highly recommend a guide since you will not see even a quarter of the wildlife out there without one. The hike is an early start and not strenuous...we just wore good sturdy walking sandals since you have to wade through a few shallow rivers at points.

So if you're looking for peace and quiet in a stunning setting surrounded by wildlife...this is your place...

Room Tip: The farthest villa to the west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, Owner at LagunaVista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you very much or your comments. We will let our staff and guide know how much you appreciated their efforts. Please come back and visit us again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband, three teenage children and I spent three nights at this very unique and special place. Getting there in our little 4x4 was half of the fun. It is way off the beaten track of the booming metropolis of Manapalo, and well worth the extra travel time. The "resort" is very simple and captures the incredible beauty of its location at every turn. We saw more wildlife at LVV than anywhere else in the country. Our guides, Gabriel and Freddy, were very knowledgeable and pleasant.

We were greeted by the most cheerful of staff. Throughout our stay, everyone was extremely accomodating. My kids were wary at first, as it was so very private and quiet.We practically had the place to ourselves. However, soon they were able to appreciate everything about it. The riding was especially fun, and the horses were superb.

Jacksom, the chef, was new on the job and did a fantastic job of cooking very delicious, simple meals, using the freshest ingredients. I was especially happy because he featured so many local fruits and vegetables in a variety of ways.

We were warned of dangerous currents, however, the waves were really good while we were there.

Do not miss this incredible spot!

Room Tip: ask for a villa with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreast1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg R, Owner at LagunaVista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at LagunaVista. Thank you for your generous comments about our staff and lodge, and please be sure to come back again. We would love to have you and your friends as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We love the villa's! A beautiful view over the laguna and we saw from our terrace more wildlife then we saw in hole Costa Rica! The meals are very good. Thanks to Freddy, Macho en their wives. We had a very good guide? Erik a local who lives his whole life in Carete. We visit Laguna Vista mid november. We were lucky with te weather because driving bij own car is is not always possible to cross te rivers! It is better during dry season to do it by own car.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josepha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A friend of our family who does business in Costa Rica heard we wanted to take our family there on a vacation. He had but one recommendation, Lagunavista Villas. He was absolutely right. From the moment we began planning our trip until the day we left Lagunavista the service was top notch. I tend to be one of those people that ask a lot of questions, leaving no stone unturned prior to a vacation in an effort to give my family the best vacation possible. Greg Robertson who is the owner of the property answered every one of my questions and believe me there were a lot, best of all he was happy to do it. Never did i feel as though I was a bother and there was no question however insignificant that wasn't addressed.

After several months of planning our vacation to Costa Rica we finally arrived at Lagunavista. After reading all the reviews and doing my own due diligence I was fairly certain that this was a special place. Special is putting it mildly! My first several moments on the property will be some that I never forget. Its almost as if the villas were dropped out of the sky, they look like they are supposed to be there. Not a thing was out of place. Flocks of Macaws flying constantly, monkeys, coatis, and many other animals were in constant view. We are a very well travelled family and we had never seen anything like this. Lagunavista is an absolute must for anyone that wants to see nature while living in it at the same time. The villas are well appointed with comfortable beds and plenty of space for your things. They are well protected from the elements, and all of the beds come with mosquito netting.

The beauty of Lagunavista is only surpassed by one thing, the service. We were taken care from the moment we got there until the minute we left. My wife is a Biology teacher and as such had a long list of plants and animals she wanted to see in the area. Knowing this in advance, the staff at Lagunavista had located several of these wild animals and were ready at a moments notice to take us into the jungle to find them. They went to great lengths to make sure we were taken care of. I am an avid fisherman and was looking forward to fishing in the lagoon that surrounds the hotel for several different species of fish. The Snook and Pargo were wide open the entire time we were there. Again, they knew I was a fisherman and they took care me the entire time. The meals are all home cooked and fabulous! Just sitting in the dining area and looking out at the view is a moment to behold, throw in some Costa Rican home cooking and its over the top. Not to worry if you or anyone else in your group are a bit picky with food, they will bend over backward to see that you get what you want.

Lagunavista was the first stop on our vacation to Costa Rica and we didn't want to leave. The caring and hardworking staff left an indelible mark on us, one that we won't soon forget. Special thanks to Macho, thank you for everything! Also many thanks to Lydia for the fantastic food, and to Freddy for all the local knowledge of the lagoons.

I could go on forever and string together complements one after the other but the bottom line is this. If you have ever considered traveling to the Osa peninsula for eco tourism or any other reason Lagunavista is a gem that shouldn't be missed. You won't be sorry!!





From the moment we got off the plane in Puerto Jimenez we were taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smg7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Our stay at LagunaVista was the highlight of our trip to the Osa Peninsula. This place is by far the best option in the Carate area...individual villas with terrific views isolated on a hilltop. They even have a great pool to cool off in. The compound is itself a nature reserve; we saw way more wildlife from the deck of our villa than we did on our "guided tour" in Corcovado Park. The park hike was a joke and and a waste of time and money; if you do go to the park you certainly don't need a guide.

The lagoon is really a great place to see wildlife and tour around in kayaks or the boat. You can paddle across the lagoon to an isolated beach. The other hotels run "kayak tours" to the lagoon; if you stay here you have the lagoon and beach to yourself. The staff was great; we enjoyed the meals and always had everything we needed. After visiting the other options in the area we were so greatful that we ended up at LagunaVista. This is by far the best place to stay - my only regret is that I didnt write the review sooner!

Room Tip: All the villas are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a very rare and unique place to stay. Absolutely gorgeous!
Lots of birds around, specially ara macaws. Had tons of picts of them.
The hotel is seated on a mountain surrounded by a lagoon which precedes the ocean...just a unique set (and picture!)
Very quiet and peaceful!
I totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the ones to the right of the restaurant, these have a much better view...although we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxCvMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at Laguna Vista for two nights during our honeymoon. It was idyllic - from the infinity pool to our villa with its breathtaking views, to the wonderful food and pleasant service. We ended up not taking any tours or activities and just relaxing at the villas - we didn't want to leave! However, a word of warning - this is very open to the wilderness, and the wilderness tends to like to visit. We had a lot of ants and even a cane toad in our room, and because the bathroom is open to the elements it can get a bit scary sitting on the toilet and not knowing if a monkey's about to leap through the open window behind you! It didn't bother us but if you're expecting to be at a sheltered resort then LV might not be for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.3 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
9.5 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LagunaVista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LagunaVista Villas

Address: | Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 60702, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range: $138 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LagunaVista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge comprises 8 Mediterranean style villas, a large swimming pool and restaurant. It sits on a small peninsula inside a fresh water lagoon bordering it on three sides and a Pacific Ocean beach 200m across the lagoon, accessible by our boats and kayaks. We run on solar power, our water is from a fresh mountain spring and we produce fresh food daily from our biological garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your LagunaVista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LagunaVista Villas Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing