We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place”
Review of LagunaVista Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LagunaVista Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a very rare and unique place to stay. Absolutely gorgeous!
Lots of birds around, specially ara macaws. Had tons of picts of them.
The hotel is seated on a mountain surrounded by a lagoon which precedes the ocean...just a unique set (and picture!)
Very quiet and peaceful!
I totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the ones to the right of the restaurant, these have a much better view...although we checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxCvMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at Laguna Vista for two nights during our honeymoon. It was idyllic - from the infinity pool to our villa with its breathtaking views, to the wonderful food and pleasant service. We ended up not taking any tours or activities and just relaxing at the villas - we didn't want to leave! However, a word of warning - this is very open to the wilderness, and the wilderness tends to like to visit. We had a lot of ants and even a cane toad in our room, and because the bathroom is open to the elements it can get a bit scary sitting on the toilet and not knowing if a monkey's about to leap through the open window behind you! It didn't bother us but if you're expecting to be at a sheltered resort then LV might not be for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I seek out places like Laguna Vista. During six years of travel we have stayed at numerous "eco lodges." This is probably the best value we found. We came for a week and stayed extra days. I did not want to leave this wonderful place. Our hosts, Amy and Bruno really helped make our stay great. We did not want for varied food, drink or advise. What sets Laguna Vista Villas apart is the setting combined with artistic architecture and natural landscaping. This is a place to savor. Your are surrounded by wildlife. We watched and heard macaws, toucans and three types of monkeys right off our deck while sitting in our private plunge pool. Every morning and evening at dusk I kayaked on the lagoon and observed amazing wildlife in a totally peaceful setting. The sunsets and sunrises were amazing. The infinity pool setting is remarkable. It reminded me of a Balinese setting. It is difficult to express how this lodge incorporates luxury while still maintaining a "wild" feel. Carate and Corcovado National Park are really at the end of the Costa Rican road. When comparing lodging it is important to note there is really nothing other than a very small store making up Carate. You do not need a car, becausethere is nowhere to go: you have arrived when you plop down on the deck. Getting to the park and hiking to nearby waterfalls, or just walking the wild beach is easy to arrange. Our guide for a day hike into the park was excellent. There are opportuities to take multiple day trips into the park, but there is really much to do and see right at the lodge. After traveling for days to reach this part of the world you will find a great place to unwind and see critters. There is really no need to leave the property for several days.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Absolutely worth taking the bumpy, long way to get there. Perfect place to relax and enjoy tranquility. Managed by an amazing couple, friendly and helpful. The place where you feel at home and treated like a king at the same time.
Incredible view over the laguna and the ocean, breathtaking sunset from the privat balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longjohnsilver71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We recently stayed at Laguna Vista for 6 nights. The new managers, Amy and Bruno made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The food was outstanding, and plentiful! Laguna Vista is in a very remote part of Costa Rica, so getting there is a little difficult, but well worth the long travel. It gets a little hot at night, as there is no air conditioning. There are ceiling fans in the room, but they don't move a lot of air, so be prepared to be warm at night. ( really, the only complaint) Also, Highly recommend hiring a guide to take you to Corcovado if you are going. You are more likely to see more wildlife if you do so. Laguna will arrange a guide for you. Everyone at Laguna Vista was super friendly! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kegrob, Owner at LagunaVista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you very much for your review, and your appreciative and constructive comments. This helps us a lot and encourages us in our efforts to provide the best facilities and service to our guests as possible. We have worked on the air cooling issue you mentioned and made improvements to our systems. We hope you can visit us again and enjoy cooler nights. Best regards from the owners and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I've just spent 6 nights at Laguna Vista Villas and had a wonderful experience. The managers Amy and Bruno were generous, convivial and professional, anticipating my needs by meticulously organising activites and also affording me as much privacy as I desired. 3 hearty meals a day plus food and tea/coffee are included in the rates and prices for wine and liquor are kept low. I enjoyed all the activities I partook in, such as a guided kayak tour of the lagoon below the villas, a walk to the local waterfall and the 7 hour guided trek through the Corcovado national park. The villas are clean, safe with good lighting. The bed overlooks a deck with direct views to the beach. I particularly enjoyed the indoor/outdoor bathroom and the mini plunge pool and hammock on the deck. There was wildlife in close proximity with monkeys, hawks, toucans and little lizards all visible. Luckily I got to meet Polly, the resident wild Scarlett macaw that drops by the villas every once in a while. All in all a magical experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkihall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kegrob, Owner at LagunaVista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for these encouraging words regarding our lodge and your experiences during your visit. Our staff described your visit and how nice it was for them, too, to look after you. We hope the rest of your travels went well and you will remember your stay at LagunaVista. Best regards from the owners and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at Laguna Vista Villas for four nights this February and had a great time - we would highly recommend it. We stayed in one of the villas which had a wonderful view of the lagoon and the Pacific and its own soaking pool on our private deck. Kenya and the rest of the staff (Freddy and Macho) were very welcoming and always cooked great food for our meals. A new infinity pool had just been built, which was very nice (see pics). We spent a lot of our time hanging out on our private deck, watching all the wildlife (scarlet macaws, so many different birds, and monkeys on several occasions) that was passing through the jungle right in front of us. The villa had a very open feel (no walls in the bathroom, including the shower, but still private) and caught a nice breeze . The bed was comfortable. The design of the villa also left it open for lizards and insects to be in the living space, but the mosquito net worked well, and overall it added to the experience of feeling like we were really living in the jungle (albeit with a nice bed and pool).

We spent two days in Corcovado Nat'l Park (they drove us as far as the road went - 10 minutes to Carate, and then there was a beautiful 30 minute hike along the beach to the park entrance) - would HIGHLY recommend a guide, and they helped us with these arrangements. We also kayaked in the lagoon (saw a lot of waterfowl, cayman, and monkeys) and walked down to the beach several times (15 minute walk down the road, or we could have asked for a ride).

LV Villas is a ~90 minute drive from Puerto Jimenez - they can arrange transportation (which we did) in a Land Rover, or I suppose you could hire a taxi if you were feeling more adventurous. The airstrip in Carate has recently been paved and commercial flights may start soon; that would only be a 10 or 15 minute drive to LV villas.

Overall, we had a great time and would highly recommend it - wonderful location and villa, great staff, and the Osa Peninsula and Corcovado were fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmmizzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kegrob, Owner at LagunaVista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you very much for your very positive message regarding our lodge. This helps us a lot and encourages us in our efforts to provide the best facilities and service to our guests as possible. We really appreciate your comments and hope that we will see you again at LagunaVista. Best regards from the owners and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
2.3 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
11.2 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
24 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LagunaVista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LagunaVista Villas

Address: | Playa Carate, Carate, Corcovado National Park 60702, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range: $139 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LagunaVista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge comprises 8 Mediterranean style villas, a large swimming pool and restaurant. It sits on a small peninsula inside a fresh water lagoon bordering it on three sides and a Pacific Ocean beach 200m across the lagoon, accessible by our boats and kayaks. We run on solar power, our water is from a fresh mountain spring and we produce fresh food daily from our biological garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your LagunaVista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LagunaVista Villas Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing