We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Time, Very Enjoyable and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Super Time, Very Enjoyable and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited in August 2013 and stayed for four nights. While our stay was on the short side, we immediately felt totally relaxed here, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Phoebe and Coco looked after us very well, providing excellent meals (and on two occasions an extra meal of our family of four as we missed lunch on the day we arrived and felt we needed an extra one on the day we took a 20km hike). We swam, kayaked, hiked, read, saw an immense variety of wildlife--thanks to our excellent guide Eric--and ate and drank to our hearts' content. Six stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Your family is fantastic!! You were true delights to have here, you brought so much joy to our lives. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you and hope to see you back again soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    53
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
98
239
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is probably one of these once-in-a-lifetime places I will never forget.

Warm welcoming staff. Exquisite home grown food. Beautiful lodge, with breathtaking views over the hills and the ocean, completely integrated in the nature, very eco friendly in a luxurious way. Cabins are very romantic specially at night when you light the candles. There is not one single thing I could complain about even when "timings" weren't great. We went for 10 days at the end of August (green season) and it rained everyday but this didn't ruin at all our trip to Corcovado.

Thank you Markus and Phoebe for making this part of the trip a 10!

Room Tip: The Cabins, although expensive, are simply stunning, with a walk in closet, and integrated bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel_DorStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words! We do our best to render our guests a true jungle experience in style and we are glad to hear that we achieved it with you! Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the future… pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had greally great time in Finca Exotica. It was our last stop when travelling around CostaRica and would wish to have more time and stay there longer (we stayed just for 3 nights). Even my 15 years daughter was excited and had no problem with wifi unavailable :)....Really special place, very nice people, extraordinary cook (dont forget to write cooking book!!!! one day :)) I do hope to be able to come back once again and spend more time - just do restart and delete all ugly staff of civilization we live in now...... I can confirm that you need 4X4 when you are driving to Finca Exotica and even confirm that it is fun to drive there.

Room Tip: We have rented a suite for 3 people - it was up the hill, with great view of the nature and nation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vendulka2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It was really great seeing you and your family embrace this wonderful area as much as you did- we hope to see you back for longer than 3 days too 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the most wonderful time here. The sounds of the rainforest mixed with that of the waves is magical. The food was amazing and all the staff very friendly and helpful. We were at Finca Exotica for 3 days and looking back, it seems much longer because we saw so much. Get a 4x4 if you decide to go by car (good fun).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QubusEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review- it is really great to know that you enjoyed your time here so much! We hope to see you again soon here in our jungle paradise 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Finca Exotica has many attributes, but its greatest is the staff. The resident guide, Erick, not only led us safely through Corcovado and to gasp-worthy waterfalls, but also managed to spot a puma with our neighboring guests and still found time to teach us a couple of card tricks. Phoebe is such a gracious hostess that everyone wants to be near her, including a local tapir and the giant turtles she volunteers to protect. Chef Coco seasons his plentiful dishes with enthusiasm and even allowed a 13-year-old fan to help in the kitchen and learn recipes. Manager Martina thinks of everything and helps make evening meals feel like worldly dinner parties among all guests. All this stems from Owner/Architect Marcus' practical passion for living sustainably. By the time we left, I felt like we'd be missing family.
This was our second visit to Finca Exotica. We were attracted by the opportunity to volunteer with sea turtles, but we learned that by living outside for a week -- taking cold outdoor showers during afternoon rains, sleeping with the sound of the crashing surf, and waking to busy Capuchin monkeys tossing bananas or mangos down on our roof -- we became united with our environment; more able to feel and see how interconnected we all are.
There are a few comforts some might miss: like a dry bed during a heavy rainstorm, or a steaming hot shower after a long hike; but these things are part of the experience of becoming one with this extraordinary, remote and unspoiled place. Becoming unburdened by things like hairdryers, impractical clothes and wi-fi, and instead experiencing gardens full of exotic fruits and forests teeming with nature's miracles, can redefined the word "vacation."

Room Tip: No rooms have electricity. Consider your stay a technology detox. Generally, larger rooms require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It was so lovely to have you and your son back with us again for the second year running- you are true delights! Please make it three, we miss you lots!  If your son would like a chef apprenticeship position, please send him here, his spring rolls are the best! Much love to you both and hope to see you again soon, the turtles need you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is beautiful and the rooms are truly amazing. Food was also 1st class. The only complaint I had was the cost which, for the area, seemed quite high.

Strongly recommend the walk into the park and Sirena.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32GeoffreyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, rooms and location. Our prices reflect the quality of the services that we offer as well as the remoteness of the location. We hope to see you again in the future! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London. UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was really lucky to have stayed for an extended time there in March. Some previous comments have left me astounded....I think that some people must have stayed in a completely different place.
Finca Exotica and the cabinas and tiki tents- I was fortunate to stay in both-, the food and ALL the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I felt very safe there and was made so welcome by everyone. The food was delicious at every meal and there was extra on the table and more if you ask so I really do not understand previous comments of small portions.I am not someone who has small portions and I never went hungry. People only just have to ask. It is freshly prepared by Coco the chef, who uses only the freshest ingredients (usually from Finca) and the tastes he produces are amazing. He caters for all eaters what else can I say, which is not an easy task in itself, but does an excellent job whether someone is vegetarian, gluten intolerant or has some other food intolerance.
Finca Exotica's Casa Grande is an amazing feat of architecture and a place to relax and unwind whether in the day or at night and is the hub of the place.Indescribable to see the moon and stars on the deck - you have to be there to see them. It's open air structure has the most wonderful views and just seamlessly flows like it belongs to its surroundings which it does. The sound everywhere at Finca is that of the wildlife and the ocean which I miss! The Howler monkeys and Macaws in the mornings to the different insect sounds of the day and the night are a lasting memory. This is an eco lodge where you really feel at one with nature as you should.
Marcus and Gaby are the ultimate hosts. The team they lead there are a credit to them. They ALL go out of their way to help. They always had time day or night to explain things, show things or arrange things with a smile. I had a bad knee and was unable to walk up to Casa Grande for some meals for a couple of days....that wasn't a problem....they arranged for me to take my food at the beach house. No one made it a problem. I have to say that I never saw an unhappy or agitated face on any of the staff the whole time I was there and as I have said before nothing was too much trouble. I was there when a family arrived very late at night- not a wise thing to do as Carate is a really isolated place and not a great journey in the dark to get to. The staff went out of their way to help (I heard them) and if it is them that have written a previous comment on here saying how unhelpful the staff were I would totally dispute this as I was there and know how they tried to help them.
The accommodations are again blended into the surrounds of the rain forest seamlessly and are always clean thanks to Chris who is such a hard worker. Each cabina is different and special to it's location as are the tikki tents. Both are real experiences - with both being so comfortable, unique and special to the location of the rainforest. Marcus who has designed all of Finca Exotica has such a special eye to detail as to their location. The open air showers were amazing.....yes it's fresh spring water but who would want hot water in hot humid and high temperature conditions?....The toilets were always clean too and well designed for their location.
Finca Exotica is as one with nature. Anyone who wants to get away and see nature at it's most special should come to Finca Exotica. I found it the most special place anyone could imagine- yes you see photos but they cannot convey the magic of the place-the rainforest and the beach. I will be back next year!
If people want bright lights and entertainment I would suggest they go to Vegas.

Room Tip: All cabinas are amazingly comfortable and different.They complement their location Those lower down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time here and we really do hope you come back next year- good or bad knee! Please feel free to post your favourite potos on our Tripadvisor page if you like, the more the merrier! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
12.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
23.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Property: Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Address: Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing