We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic Osa experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“An authentic Osa experience!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We traveled to the Osa and stayed at Finca as part of a yoga retreat and eco-tourism experience. Finca is nestled in the jungle, right on the pacific ocean, a 1-1.5 hour very bumpy ride from Puerto Jimenez. We were assigned a cabina that was perched high up on a steep hill above the main lodge but well worth the hike! It was equipped with a separate (yet private) toilet and outdoor shower. The view from our cabina as well as from our toilet and outdoor shower were absolutely breathtaking. Every morning we would wake at sunrise to the sounds of the waves crashing, the birds chirping and the monkeys howling. The accommodations were clean, homey and absolutely charming. I would caution that while we appreciated our stay, this place is not for everyone - the cabinas are basic, rustic and an open-concept design so wildlife and especially insects can and WILL get in, there was no electricity in our cabina (a good headlamp is a must!) and no hot water system which iwas tolerable given the hot and humid tropical temperature. Also, for the first couple of nights, it was hard to sleep given the humidity and the sounds of the jungle and the ocean but as is human nature, we easily adapted.

The food was fantastic and (despite what some other individuals on this site have commented regarding portion size), we felt that there was always plenty for everyone. True that sometimes the initial portion size was smaller, however, as soon as anybody asked for seconds or additional sides, the owners or staff were pleased to serve. As well, certain individuals in our group had dietary restrictions and Finca made sure to accommodate everyone. Yes, sometimes you needed to go voice your need or concern, but the staff is friendly, approachable and happy to help so don't be shy!

We also booked our yoga retreat in collaboration with StepOut Experience who provided the 'eco-tourism' portion of the trip. While the organized hikes and activities were fun; we felt that the challenge and level of difficulty was easy and very basic. As such, if you are looking for hikes or activities with a greater challenge and difficulty level, the basic StepOut hikes and activities may disappoint. However, the staff are all very knowledgable (especially Laura from Finca and Martine from StepOut), and they could probably recommend or arrange for more physically challenging activities if you so request in advance. I should note that the optional activities (i.e. water repelling, zip lining, etc.) are very pricey and payable only in cash with no ATM close by so make sure you bring enough. All in all we enjoyed our stay at Finca as well as our StepOut Experience and would recommend it to those individuals seeking a sustainable alternative to an all exclusive resort-type experience.

Room Tip: If you are in shape (or what to get into shape!) - ask for one of the hill top cabinas - the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Greetings from Finca Exotica! Thank you very much for reviewing your vacation here with us, we really appreciate it! We glad you enjoyed the food, the wildlife and the activities- please do feel free to recommend us to your friends and family if they will be visiting Costa Rica, we would be more than happy to cater to them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    53
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
100
242
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Finca Exotica is truly an adventure in the jungle of Costa Rica. We loved everything about Finca Exotica- from the staff, the exquisite food, the beautiful grounds that they have created and the wonderful environment of the area. Our experience was wonderful during our 7 days at Finca Exotica. My wife and I were part of a 15 person yoga retreat in Feb of 2013. Our group ranged from 12 to 75 years old. All of us were treated with genuine kindness and given very thoughtful attention. The extra care that the Finca Exotica staff extended to us ranged from a special trip to town- 2hrs one way for peanut butter-a neck and shoulder massage for my wife to help her headache, and extra attention to all the dietary requests our group had. All of these accommodations the staff made for our group were from a place of genuine caring, concern and kindness.
The lodging in the Tiki tents was great for us. The bedding was comfortable and clean sheets and towels were provided each day. The bathroom and showers were also kept clean and well supplied with the needed toiletries. The cool water showers were a welcome relief after a day at the beach.
Overall, our week long stay at Finca Exotica was truly an unforgettable experience for my wife and I. We enjoyed all the members of the staff and thank them for everything they did to insure our stay with them was extraordinary.

Room Tip: The tiki tents are a simple A-Frame tent with mattresses on a wood platform. Perfect for jungle camp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! You and the rest of your group were true pleasures to have here and we really hope to see you all again next year! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Truly splendid--scenery, staff, accomodations! We were treated like visiting royalty by the energetic, fun, and thoughtful staff. Yet we also were treated like family. We had a great time, saw wonderful things--beach, animals, birds, plants and flowers. The staff was always willing to stop their work and answer questions. They were concerned about all aspects of our visit, making arrangements for taxis and horse trips. It was nice to be almost totally "off the grid", away from cell phones, computer (Phoebe shares hers nicely), TV and radio. I would return in a heartbeat.

My only caveat is that, if you are sensitive to heat and humidity, you limit your stay to just a couple of nights. Finca Exotica is, after all, in the jungle with limited electricity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are really happy to read about how much you enjoyed everything- we hope to see you back next year for more yoga retreat fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay at La Finca Exotica. Traveling with two other 50 “something” women, we used La Finca as our home before hiking into Corcovado for a two night stay at the Serena Ranger Station. We arrived by car service arranged through La Finca – all the email communication was prompt and courteous – the driver was there to meet our Nature Air flight as promised. We were greeted warmly as we climbed out of the car at La Finca's “Beach House’ – we were given a tour of the grounds and shown our cabin by the visiting masseuse. The accommodations were very respectful of the environment and true to the Eco theme, but still very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful – and functional – all sorts of fruits/vegetables and edibles - they made up a part of each meal. I am a flat lander – so was happy that our cabin was on the lower part of the property, we walked 100 yards or so up an incline to the common area for meals. Some cabins involved a good uphill hike – however, the view and the breeze more than made up for the effort. The common meal/bar and gathering area was lovely and functional. We enjoyed speaking to other guests in the evening and having cocktails prior to dinner. Meals were delicious, fresh and the food was plentiful. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and accommodating.
We booked our guide for the Serena Ranger Station hike, Eric, through La Finca. The hike (adventure) was the highlight of the trip. Eric was the BEST! He was so knowledgeable of the animals and their habitats – he actively looked and listened and we saw everything – even a Tapir and Puma, we spent 15/20 minutes observing the Puma. This is a hike for seeing nature – and wanting to climb through tall grass to see a Tapir – to run up a steep slope to observe the Puma that Eric has spotted – we were totally into being regular 'crocodile hunters" – we even encountered two Fer de Lances! The trip is approximately 12 miles each way much of it on the black sand beach (hot in January)– and then some jungle trails – it is all dependent on the tides as to where you can hike. Eric met us at La Finca the night prior to departure to discuss and plan for the hike. Then was in the kitchen the next morning to make us coffee and breakfast at 4:30am so we could eat before we headed out – if you make the hike and stay at the Serena Ranger Station – ask for Eric – he is the best!

Room Tip: Email the lodge and ask about tent and cabin locations - some can be a steep walk to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluFL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to explain about your stay at Finca Exotica and of your Corcovado hike with Erick so thoroughly. I think this is really useful information for future guests- thank you very much for taking the time to do so! We hope to see you and your friends back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finca is perfect. Authentic, low impact, laid back yet totally accommodating, beautiful. The building and grounds blend effortlessly with the environment, you don't feel like an intruder in a stunning natural space. Plenty of hiking options and an amazing, empty beach. Surf can be strong at high tide, but the lodge very appropriately suggests swimming around the low tide. Tide charts and hiking maps are out for all to use. Found the staff to be warm and genuine, competent and conscious yet not over the top, just comfortable. Food was outstanding, simple and delicious; much grown/harvested onsite. Loved sitting on the deck in the evenings with others guests prior to dinner, enjoying a drink and sampling small plates delivered from the kitchen. Total joy and relaxation. Stayed in Ilang Ilang, perfect set up for a group of 3 or 4. Loved the layout of the space as well the outdoor, coconut head shower. From the moment I left I've been scheming to go back.

Room Tip: The landscape is hilly, some cabins/tents are more of a uphill trek than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTgirltravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
What lovely words, thank you very much for sharing your Finca Exotica experience with everyone- we appreciate it! We’ll get scheming too to think of a way for you to come back soon and let you know when we have come up with something!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

LOVED it - absolutely no complaints, the food, the company, the weather, the wildlife. I felt like I was in paradise. Just back and i miss every bit of it, dreaming about the beach, the hamocks, the food. I would definately recommend to anyone. Cant wait to come back, and maybe one day my kids will come to Finca to volunteer. Thanks Markus, Gabriella, Martine , Coco and everyone else for making a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself here in our little piece of jungle paradise. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, ON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at Finca for 3 nights prior to our hike into Corcavado Park. Upon arrival we were shown to our tent with a platform porch. We were pleased with the tent, however surprisingly, 2 teeth were missing from the zipper and the zipper kept spitting. I thought this should have been inspected prior to our arrival. My husband repaired the tent on the first night with duct tape. The next day, the staff thankfully replaced the tent entirely.
The 1st 4 meals were entirely disappointing with extremely small portions. I was actually shocked on morning one to receive a plate with small portion of scrambled eggs, 1 slice of tomato and small slice of avocado. There was no offer from staff forthcoming for seconds and no one dared to ask. The 8 people who sat together at dinner and quietly gossipped agreed that the staff were standoffish and distant.
On day 2, I stood at the bar for 5 minutes waiting for help while one of the staff had a personal conversation with a family member without acknowledging me. I found this very rude.
On our last day, the regular chef arrived back after 2 days off and there was a huge improvement in the food, portion size, quality etc. We were thrilled, however disappointed that for 2 days, we had been famished.
I would suggest that more torches be put up on the pathways, given that no hydro was available to the tents on the grounds and it was very dark by 6 PM. This would have made things a bit better.
The showers and toilets were very clean and the communal deck was beautiful.
Gratefully, after flying back from Corcavado, the owner transported our bags and ID to the Puerto Jimenez airstrip, 48 km's away.
I really think Finca could have done better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate feedback. We appreciate you commenting on the cleanliness of the showers and toilets, as well as the beauty of the deck area. We also appreciate you mentioning that we took your luggage back to Puerto Jimenez for you at no cost after the unfortunate accident you had in Corcovado. We hope you are well recovered!
With regards to the tikitent situation: the teeth were not missing before you arrived- all of the tikitents and cabinas are checked over before the arrival of guests and your tent, Higa, was absolutely fine. However, with one hard pull on the tikitent, like with any zipper, teeth can come away. We did not cover any damage costs to you and your husband for this. One of our staff members offered to move you to a diifferent tikitent but you didn’t want to move. We also sent another staff member over to your tent, once you had decided not move, to repair the tent- your husband wanted to fix it by himself. As soon as you came to breakfast the day after, we told you that the tikitent would be changed completely since you didn’t want to move. I am explaining all of this as I feel you have portrayed us in a bad light in a situation where we did everything possible for you.
With regards to the food: You and your husband asked for seconds at every single meal, even for deserts. There is always extras on the tables, and everyone else was satisfied with what we gave. Even after you both had seconds, we still gave more food. We are very sorry you still felt hungry. All of our chefs are well aware of serving sizes, not just the chef you mention who came back from his free days towards the end of your stay.
Our staff are very approachable. We actually received complaints from various staff members that you were extremely discourteous to them. Even our volunteers were upset with your attitude and how you spoke to them.
Thank you very much for your recommendation about lighting. Just to explain briefly, we do not have huge lights on the trails, just the small solar lamps, because we are very respectful of the nature here. We do not want to scare away wildlife by blinding path lights, that is not what we are about. All guests prior to arrival are told to bring one flashlight per person. The purpose of this is so that you can walk along the paths at night without the need of big path lamps. We are an eco lodge, we care about the environment and conserving energy. We have flashlights for sale in our shop but you chose not to buy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carate
1.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
12.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
12.3 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 40 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Exotica Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Exotica Ecolodge

Property: Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Address: Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park | Osa Peninsula, on Carate beach next to Corcovado National Park, Carate, Corcovado National Park 706, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park > Carate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Carate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Exotica Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Exotica eco lodge is a Wildlife Refuge property in this pristine area of Costa Rica, and the closest place to Corcovado National Park accessible by car.Our beach lodge is equipped to meet all of your needs – be it a romantic couple’s escape, a group retreat, a professional conference or a family vacation. Our facilities surround our central meeting place, Casa Grande, which hosts the organic food restaurant with a communal dining table and stretches out to an amphitheater suited for presentations and lectures by day and dance parties by night. Between them is the bar and together they all encompass the terrace where you can lounge under the open sky or swing in a hamock in the shades of almond trees, while Scarlett Macaws are feeding on them. Tents, cabins, rentals and other facilities stem out from this centerpiece to provide easy access near the beach, an isolated meditation ambiance and quaint trails that lead you through the labyrinth of exotic plant life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Finca Exotica Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Exotica Hotel Carate
Finca Exotica Ecolodge Costa Rica/Carate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing