We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Luna Lodge(Carate)
$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$881
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Islas Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveler rating
494
54
21
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
54
21
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki tentbeach housegarden tourcorcovado national parkcosta ricafruit treesoutdoor showerother guestsscarlet macawsosa peninsulaylang ylangorganic fooddisco ballmusical instrumentsmangobig tableopen air
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 586 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay at La Finca Exotica. Traveling with two other 50 “something” women, we used La Finca as our home before hiking into Corcovado for a two night stay at the Serena Ranger Station. We arrived by car service arranged through La Finca – all the email communication was prompt and courteous – the driver was there to meet our Nature Air flight as promised. We were greeted warmly as we climbed out of the car at La Finca's “Beach House’ – we were given a tour of the grounds and shown our cabin by the visiting masseuse. The accommodations were very respectful of the environment and true to the Eco theme, but still very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful – and functional – all sorts of fruits/vegetables and edibles - they made up a part of each meal. I am a flat lander – so was happy that our cabin was on the lower part of the property, we walked 100 yards or so up an incline to the common area for meals. Some cabins involved a good uphill hike – however, the view and the breeze more than made up for the effort. The common meal/bar and gathering area was lovely and functional. We enjoyed speaking to other guests in the evening and having cocktails prior to dinner. Meals were delicious, fresh and the food was plentiful. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and accommodating.
We booked our guide for the Serena Ranger Station hike, Eric, through La Finca. The hike (adventure) was the highlight of the trip. Eric was the BEST! He was so knowledgeable of the animals and their habitats – he actively looked and listened and we saw everything – even a Tapir and Puma, we spent 15/20 minutes observing the Puma. This is a hike for seeing nature – and wanting to climb through tall grass to see a Tapir – to run up a steep slope to observe the Puma that Eric has spotted – we were totally into being regular 'crocodile hunters" – we even encountered two Fer de Lances! The trip is approximately 12 miles each way much of it on the black sand beach (hot in January)– and then some jungle trails – it is all dependent on the tides as to where you can hike. Eric met us at La Finca the night prior to departure to discuss and plan for the hike. Then was in the kitchen the next morning to make us coffee and breakfast at 4:30am so we could eat before we headed out – if you make the hike and stay at the Serena Ranger Station – ask for Eric – he is the best!

Room Tip: Email the lodge and ask about tent and cabin locations - some can be a steep walk to access
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuluFL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to explain about your stay at Finca Exotica and of your Corcovado hike with Erick so thoroughly. I think this is really useful information for future guests- thank you very much for taking the time to do so! We hope to see you and your friends back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finca is perfect. Authentic, low impact, laid back yet totally accommodating, beautiful. The building and grounds blend effortlessly with the environment, you don't feel like an intruder in a stunning natural space. Plenty of hiking options and an amazing, empty beach. Surf can be strong at high tide, but the lodge very appropriately suggests swimming around the low tide. Tide charts and hiking maps are out for all to use. Found the staff to be warm and genuine, competent and conscious yet not over the top, just comfortable. Food was outstanding, simple and delicious; much grown/harvested onsite. Loved sitting on the deck in the evenings with others guests prior to dinner, enjoying a drink and sampling small plates delivered from the kitchen. Total joy and relaxation. Stayed in Ilang Ilang, perfect set up for a group of 3 or 4. Loved the layout of the space as well the outdoor, coconut head shower. From the moment I left I've been scheming to go back.

Room Tip: The landscape is hilly, some cabins/tents are more of a uphill trek than others.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTgirltravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

What lovely words, thank you very much for sharing your Finca Exotica experience with everyone- we appreciate it! We’ll get scheming too to think of a way for you to come back soon and let you know when we have come up with something!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

LOVED it - absolutely no complaints, the food, the company, the weather, the wildlife. I felt like I was in paradise. Just back and i miss every bit of it, dreaming about the beach, the hamocks, the food. I would definately recommend to anyone. Cant wait to come back, and maybe one day my kids will come to Finca to volunteer. Thanks Markus, Gabriella, Martine , Coco and everyone else for making a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself here in our little piece of jungle paradise. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at Finca for 3 nights prior to our hike into Corcavado Park. Upon arrival we were shown to our tent with a platform porch. We were pleased with the tent, however surprisingly, 2 teeth were missing from the zipper and the zipper kept spitting. I thought this should have been inspected prior to our arrival. My husband repaired the tent on the first night with duct tape. The next day, the staff thankfully replaced the tent entirely.
The 1st 4 meals were entirely disappointing with extremely small portions. I was actually shocked on morning one to receive a plate with small portion of scrambled eggs, 1 slice of tomato and small slice of avocado. There was no offer from staff forthcoming for seconds and no one dared to ask. The 8 people who sat together at dinner and quietly gossipped agreed that the staff were standoffish and distant.
On day 2, I stood at the bar for 5 minutes waiting for help while one of the staff had a personal conversation with a family member without acknowledging me. I found this very rude.
On our last day, the regular chef arrived back after 2 days off and there was a huge improvement in the food, portion size, quality etc. We were thrilled, however disappointed that for 2 days, we had been famished.
I would suggest that more torches be put up on the pathways, given that no hydro was available to the tents on the grounds and it was very dark by 6 PM. This would have made things a bit better.
The showers and toilets were very clean and the communal deck was beautiful.
Gratefully, after flying back from Corcavado, the owner transported our bags and ID to the Puerto Jimenez airstrip, 48 km's away.
I really think Finca could have done better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, we do appreciate feedback. We appreciate you commenting on the cleanliness of the showers and toilets, as well as the beauty of the deck area. We also appreciate you mentioning that we took your luggage back to Puerto Jimenez for you at no cost after the unfortunate accident you had in Corcovado. We hope you are well recovered!
With regards to the tikitent situation: the teeth were not missing before you arrived- all of the tikitents and cabinas are checked over before the arrival of guests and your tent, Higa, was absolutely fine. However, with one hard pull on the tikitent, like with any zipper, teeth can come away. We did not cover any damage costs to you and your husband for this. One of our staff members offered to move you to a diifferent tikitent but you didn’t want to move. We also sent another staff member over to your tent, once you had decided not move, to repair the tent- your husband wanted to fix it by himself. As soon as you came to breakfast the day after, we told you that the tikitent would be changed completely since you didn’t want to move. I am explaining all of this as I feel you have portrayed us in a bad light in a situation where we did everything possible for you.
With regards to the food: You and your husband asked for seconds at every single meal, even for deserts. There is always extras on the tables, and everyone else was satisfied with what we gave. Even after you both had seconds, we still gave more food. We are very sorry you still felt hungry. All of our chefs are well aware of serving sizes, not just the chef you mention who came back from his free days towards the end of your stay.
Our staff are very approachable. We actually received complaints from various staff members that you were extremely discourteous to them. Even our volunteers were upset with your attitude and how you spoke to them.
Thank you very much for your recommendation about lighting. Just to explain briefly, we do not have huge lights on the trails, just the small solar lamps, because we are very respectful of the nature here. We do not want to scare away wildlife by blinding path lights, that is not what we are about. All guests prior to arrival are told to bring one flashlight per person. The purpose of this is so that you can walk along the paths at night without the need of big path lamps. We are an eco lodge, we care about the environment and conserving energy. We have flashlights for sale in our shop but you chose not to buy one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we just returned from finca exotica where we stayed during winter break - we were 2 families, parents and 5 teenagers between us. this spot is literally paradise. staying in the jungle, living in lovely thatched roof cabins, listening to the monkeys and birds, eating the most delicious food, meeting interesting people, relaxing on the most exquisite, pristine beach, swimming in the warm water, watching the dramatic sunsets...i could go on...rainforest hike to the waterfall...did i mention the delicious, best meals? in the beginning, the teenagers grumbled big time about the lack of electricity and internet. by the time we left, they were bragging about how easy (and cool) it was to do without. if you're looking for a true escape from the noise and glare of western culture, then this is your place. if you're looking for air-conditioning, infinity pools, flat screens and turn down service, go elsewhere. i feel happy just knowing this place exists in the universe. everyone there was lovely and accommodating, helpful and gracious. we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finca_Exotica, Owner at Finca Exotica Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

And we can’t wait to have you back! Thank you very much for writing a review of your time here at Finca Exotica, we really do appreciate it, especially so that future guests can see what others have to say about their time here. Thank you again and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews