We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suital Lodge--Fantastic!”
Review of Suital Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suital Lodge
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We traveled to Costa Rica at the end of May. After a night in San Jose we flew to Puerto Jiminez then took the bus to Suital. The bus ride was unexpectedly pleasant and dirt cheap. We used the bus again and were very pleased on another leg of the trip. We arrived to the complete serenity of the lodge mid-afternoon. Carlos greeted us with Osa, the lodge dog (we met her daughter Canela later) after Osa had noted our arrival. He introduced us to our cabin (blue--farthest from the dining/gathering area and great view into the jungle), told us when dinner was (always 6:30) and what we were having (fish, if that was OK with us as the other--just 3--had indicated that was fine). Within an hour we were out of our cabin and on the trails. Within minutes we'd seen things we'd never seen before--leaf cutter ants, pale billed woodpeckers, toucans, hummingbirds that are never seen on the US east coast, plants, flowers, just amazing! Dinner was absolutely fantastic--corvina in a light, slightly spicey tomato/onion sauce. Our time on the deck of our cabin before and after dinner was wonderful--just no other way to put it--both nights we were there. Breakfasts were great too--we didn't do lunch, just snacked until dinner and that was fine.

Our fellow guests--2 from Switzerland and one Swiss ex pat from San Jose--were great company and we enjoyed their company at dinner. I suspect in this environment you'd have a great time with just about anyone because it is all about what you did and what you saw. All of it is puncuated with Carlos' insights and experiences. He is a wonderful host, extremely nice, polite, interesting--all you could ask for!

We gave this 5 stars because it was precisely what we'd hoped for. We were wet, dirty and sweaty within minutes of our arrival and that is just what we'd hoped for! We watched bats fly in and out of our window, slept under mosquito netting and drank the warm beer/booze we brough from Puerto Jiminez. We were left alone but never ignored. We had a fantastic place to stay in the jungle. We would go back in a heartbeat!

The trails throughout the property are just unbelievable. We saw all kinds of birds and other wildlife. Pretty much every step of the trails there was something new. We also got our first glimpse of the howler monkeys here. If you don't have a great time here then it is simply not your kind of place. But if you like a great adventure with some great food and company (oh, and hot water shower!) then this is absolutely the right destination!

Room Tip: Blue cabin is at the end of the row of 3 cabins and farthest from the dining/gathering area. We enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were part of the group visiting with Abilene_Birder and also had a great time at Suital. Carlos has constructed the cabins with all comforts - you can even flush your toilet paper which CR veterans will understand is somewhat unique in the country. For those concerned with bugs while sleeping; though Carlos has designed open windows and a bar that opens to the patios, the upper walls of our lodging (in the duplex) were completely screened windows. So, if you want, you can close up and still have plenty of fresh air at night. This way, we didn't use the mosquito nets and had no problems whatsoever. He has also constructed lots of handy shelving.

One note that isn't made clear in the website is that the beach access is somewhat difficult. Be aware that it is a fairly good hike descending a well maintained jungle trail. The trail was a great jungle experience but you probably don't want to head out from your cabin in flip flops. For easier access, we opted to travel to Playa Blanca which is not too distant. There we found numerous Scarlet Macaws and other birds while we enjoyed the seashore.

There is a wonderful cabana for dining that we used as a central gathering place.

This was our third trip to CR and we consider Suital to have been a very unique and wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to share the duplex, be sure you know the neighbors well. Fortunately, we were rel...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank DenverDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Carlos has now constructed three bungalows and one duplex cabin, each of which offers a comfortably rustic place from which you can explore the northeastern Golfo Dulce region. We visited with a group consisting of five couples, and every member of the group rated the experience as a highlight of our trip. The trail system offers access to older second growth tropical lowland forest, and the birding at and near the lodge was quite stimulating. The trail system also affords access to a beach (allow about 45 minutes each way, at a leisurely pace). The members of our group who dined at the lodge praised Carlos' culinary skills.

Everyone raved about the innovative design of the bungalows and duplex cabin. One previous reviewer mentioned multitudes of nocturnal insects, but at least during February 2012 we slept with unscreened windows open without ever needing the provided mosquito net. We enjoyed relaxing during the day on the small porch of our bungalow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineywoodsBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Thanks Carlos for the wonderful time we spend in de Suital Lodge. We travelled with flexi voucher / ara tours and we where very happy Suital lodge was on the list. The place athmosphere is magnificent, Carlos a great en guest orientated man and excellent chef! Villas are very nice, beds are good and the small rainforrest, please take the time to stroll to the beach early in the morning for a swim! Also visited Drake Bay which was a bit dissappointing, Suital is def a place to go back to!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsWagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The brochure for this placed looked idyllic; and it did not disappoint when we showed up. Our teak cabana was beautiful and opened up to the rainforest. From our balcony, we could watch the birds, sloths and monkeys. While the guide books call the Osa "one of the most bio-dense places on earth", I did not quite understand what that meant until we showed up. Yes - there are a lot of animals. But the show doesn't really start until the sun goes down. You will be treated to a cloud of insects like I've never experienced. All shapes, sizes and noise making abilities wake up when the sun goes down. Our mosquito net covered bed was well suited to protect us, and we very much enjoyed our stay. But after a few nights, we opted to move down the road to find what else was around the bend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Fantastic place to stay - beautiful cabins, great rainforest, lovely beach. All this at a fraction of the price of the many unaffordable ecolodges in the area. Carlos is very helpful and the dogs friendly - go there, you won't regret it! Easily accessible by bus from Puerto Jimenez (1.5 hours).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ute C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Suital Lodge is a very nice and quiet accomodation if you´re planning to go to Corcovado Nationalparc. Owner Carlos can arrange everything araound Corcovado - and this is very important, because you can´t do money transfer to the park and Sirena Ranger Station, if you are planning to book accomodation inside the park.
Suital has his own rainforest and it is a nice experience to walk through! Also a nice calmful beach is available - you will be all alone! The dinner in the evening is delicious, Calos is a very good cooker! More informations you will find at our homepage, www.wehr-reinhold.com.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#9 of 12 in Golfito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
236 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suital Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suital Lodge

Address: | Ciudad Neily, 8250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: $48 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suital Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Suital Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suital Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing