We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Closest to jungle immersion we could find in...”
Costa Rica Tree House at Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Costa Rica Tree House at Night
Return at the end of a beach day, have your meals cooked by Gilberto. Scarlet Macaw nest close by. Wildlife galore.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Costa Rica Tree House at Night
Return at the end of a beach day, have your meals cooked by Gilberto.
Scarlet Macaw nest close by. Wildlife galore.
Great treehouse living room and nap spot.
Great Open Air Living Room, floor fans keep you cool and comfy through out the day.
Breakfast Bar Overlooking Corcovado National Park
Treehouse kitchen with all amenities
Costa Rica Vacation  Rental Bird Watching Gang!
Costa Rica Vacation Rental Tree House Monkey Room
Surf room - Queen and screened in.
Looking into the tree tops from the King bed at tipsy top
Costa Rica Rental Home First Level Tree House Bath
Comfy Seating at Studio Area
Costa Rica Vacation Rentals- Mermaid Sink.
Sofa all made up for night time sleeping
4 Bedroom Luxury Treehouse, stands 60 feet in the air.
Meet Leonardo, our Resident Scarlet Macaw.
Tree house swimming pool in jungle, spring fed
tree house organic gardens below
600 + Titi Monkeys. Reserve in March - June and see 100's of baby Titi Monkeys, Congos and Howlers.
3 Resident sloths hangin around occasionally.
Baby sloth born Christmas 2011
Bairds and Slaty tailed trogons
Exotic Birds, Toucans  and parrots each day.
Spotted Tropical Dolphins in gulf.
Great eco tours for all ages
Great Eco Tours Close By- Does this outrigger look fun or what!
Costa Rica Whale Shark in Golfo Dulce January -April & August
Primary Rainforest Estate
Great Hiking on 4 KM. of trails with our reserve.
Baby Titi Monkey Season is Feb- June. 100's babies are born each year.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gngc1
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OVERSTATED!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

What a mind-boggling feat of engineering. This is a massive structure, soundly attached in/to a magnificent Guanacaste tree, 50-60 ft. in the air. The remote setting is surrounded by rainforest & wildlife. Excluding the curious monkeys, your privacy is guaranteed. Guests share the tree w/it's other creepy, crawling, slithering, hopping, scurrying occupants. Neat!
It's a treehouse! If unrestricted exposure to nature is not your thing, then book accommodations elsewhere.
Only 3 of the 4 bedrms are screened and the 4th bedrm is actually "screened" w/a flimsy, torn, Pier 1 decorative hanging mosquito net. FYI: the 4th bedrm is actually, a platform, w/mattress & pillows, in the main living area of the treehouse. It serves as sitting area as well as sleeping space.
All this being said, and taking into account that this treehouse is the real deal, the owners claim to provide "4 star accommodations and 5 star service" is a gross misrepresentation! Especially when paying $350 per night! "24 hr on call maintenance" is also exaggerated.
The maintenance guy was AOL the first 3 days of our 7 night visit. We had some plumbing & electrical issues, but when we approached the owners we were told, quite emphatically, that we were NOT to bother them or approach their private residence. The plumbing was leaking in multiple locations, dripping through the floors, onto the mattresses below. This is the rainforest folks. Nothing dries, including moldy mattresses! When the main plumbing line blew apart, spewing everywhere, we discovered the previous "repair(s)" was done w/string and rotted shoe laces! The "famous glass bottom shower" leaked like a sieve, flooding rooms below. So much for "around the clock maintenance"!
Electrical wiring consists of extension cords, plugged into extension cords, plugged into more extension cords w/plug-in on/off switches hidden in remote locations. Consiquently, electricity was unreliable, as some cords worked and many didn't. With leaking plumbing and extension cords strung everywhere, prepare to be zapped when around the stove or refridge!
Kitchen: There's a nice 6 burner stove/oven, full sz. refridg. & plenty of counter space. Microwave missing. Dishes & stem wear - filthy. Floors & counters - filthy. Refridge - filthy. Kitchen is cluttered w/misc rusty, broken bits & pieces of old kitchen gadgets. Shelves were full of mysterious, moldy, gooey, buggy spice containers. Cabinets? - Well, let's just say, use a flashlight before reaching inside, and be sure to avoid the pile of rat traps under the sink!
Bedside fans consist of tiny 6", clip on fans. inefficient!
Grill - missing.
Dumb waiter - missing & no plans for replacement. Be sure to pack light, it's a long way up!
Don't put too much faith into the claim of providing a DVD, TV, or wifi. They didn't work. The movie/video library is a joke. It consists of scratched, chipped & stained movies & videos.
Rain Shields - Heavy, poly-vinyl shields are lifted into place by a pully system. Neat idea! However, some are torn & missing. So, during one of the many heavy downpours, expect your bed & belongings to get wet.
Hiking - Sadly, Wilbert is no longer employed by the owners. There is a gringo to take his place. He has fair knowledge of the trail system and reptiles. As for the remaining flora & fauna, he has much to learn. He will take guests into the forest for a 1/2 day @ $75. Same fee as the professional guides. Costa Rica has a wonderful naturalist training program for their
guides. Hire a professional. They can be found in Puerto Jimenez.
BOTTOM LINE: 2-3 nights is probably the best choice.
The pics on the web site show a newly constructed treehouse. Sadly that is no longer the case. Unfortunately, over the yrs, very little has been put back into the structure, allowing it to become rundown, cluttered and dirty.
Soap is cheap! Shutting the place down, clearing out the clutter and a thorough cleaning, top to bottom, would do wonders.
The owners need to spiff up their hospitality skills as well as their professionalism. After all "THERE'S NO SUBSTITUTE FOR GOOD SERVICE", especially when paying $350 per night!
Great concept, but we would not recommend this facility while in it's current
condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The concept of living in a treehouse in the rainforest.
Liked least: the misrepresentation and condition of the treehouse
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2013
We are surprised by the review of these guests. They were obviously out of their comfort zone, on a mission to check things off of a “bucket list” and were offered more conventional lodging in one of our other homes which was available for the week they were with us. They did not reply to the offer. They were 2 later middle age couples. We do understand that people live busy lives and don’t always have time to read everything thoroughly before arrival. Feel free to read through my response to address things they specified in their review or just understand that there are some people who when they get out of their comfort zone or have expectations for a third world country, nothing will make them happy. Luckily most guests love staying with us and we love having you! Our previous guests realized that they were renting a tree house home and not a resort with concierge service. It happens when people don’t read the info in listings and what is sent to them. If you want to continue reading below, I address their complaints from the review. Otherwise, just skip and read the reviews by others who have loved staying with us. It happens sometimes, when a guest is not where they should be, based on their own choices and nothing will make them happy.
These guests arrived with HUGE bags and asked who was there to carry their bags! Note: this is a rental home and while we do try to accommodate guests, there is a short walk to the tree house and it has stairs. We can’t always carry bags for guests. Not sure why they expected a dumb waiter? We surely don’t advertise one! There have been times in the past when we did have a basket on a pulley but we don’t advertise that- perhaps they read some of the reviews which mentioned it. There are times when we remove it because some cute local/furry critters used it for easy entrance in and love your fruits for breakfast!! We clearly suggest to guests to pack lightly as you won’t use most and the local airlines have a 35 lb limit- they were driving so I guess they decided packing lightly was not important. We also clearly explain in ALL the info sent to guests before reservations are made and after, many times, that there are 4 sleeping areas- and one doubles by day as a queen size sofa on the main level. There were only 4 guests (2 couples) who each had a bedroom, screened in, so we are not sure why this was an issue for them. They had the choice of the other bedrooms. Also the main level (kitchen, one of the baths, living room) is the only room not screened in but there is a mosquito net for those who opt to use it for sleeping at night- most guests don’t use it. That is CLEARLY explained in all the info which guests get BEFORE reservations are made. There are 2 nets, they used the older one- there was a brand new one sitting right next to it. Internet works fine but there are times when it is out- country or area wide- we cannot control this- some Apple laptops have a harder time connecting to the network as well but rarely. We don’t advertise reliable internet either but do say that when it works it is great but not to count on it. We mention right in all our listings so guests are prepared. It actually does work most of the time! There is a clear sign sitting with the movies that we have HUNDREDS of other movies available but need to ask our caretaker for them. For exactly the reason they said- they get scratched, dinged, broken and sometimes accidentally taken, so we have them under cover so they don’t get ruined. There are a few nature movies always available but MANY more available. All they had to do is ask. When they informed us that there was a leaky pipe- our caretaker was there within 5 minutes and it was repaired on the spot. We had never had a pipe leak before so not sure what they are referring to as far as previous repairs.. It was quickly fixed and done. The person they used for a guide is a reptile/amphibian expert. They had the option of hiking with guides who specialize in horticulture, birds, etc and they opted to use the reptile/amphibian specialist. We certainly don’t force guests to use any particular guides and in fact, will help arrange any guide wanted. Or you can do it yourself right in town. There are no guides who charge $75 for a group of 4 but rather this is a per person rate. Our guide charged $75 for all four of them. The info sent shows other guides too. So not sure why there is mention of their choice to use the guy who is an amphibian/reptile expert-he is president of the Florida reptile and amphibian society, the largest reptile distributor and rescuer of abandoned reptiles and amphibians in Florida. Some other titles he holds I cannot remember. Very knowledgeable! We take advantage of when we have specialists staying with us either doing studies or working on The Osa in conservation. We were lucky to have had him when we did. We offer to guests many options for guides. Our Tico guides are also excellent especially with jungle survival and medicinal plants! They opted for this guide. Some people, though rarely, are very uncomfortable mixing with the local culture and prefer that all their interactions occur with “Gringos”. We do not cater to this type of guest so be prepared for fun immersion. Most guests have a blast mixing with the nationals and playing with the language. Very few don’t and then complain about it. Thankfully this rarely happens.
Yes, there are a few power strips for guests to more easily charge electronics. They were added to make it easier for guests. There are 2 fanst in each room plus 2 large floor fans for guests to use if they desire more. . We have never had a complaint. ALL light switches are in plain sight, labeled and are reviewed with guests upon check in. All are special weatherproof switches with safety rubber covers. Yes, if there are winds, you will find things get damp. If the blinds are put up, you will rarely find anything damp. But it IS a rainforest and no matter where you stay, there will be some element of moisture in your clothes, sheets and the air in general, without a breeze. Some people confuse the moist climate for “mold”. We do suggest you put up the blinds which work perfectly when you go out- they are very easy to maneuver on the pulleys- kids can do most of them! There is one larger which we advise only adults open and close for safety reasons. The soap is all organic, homemade by a local and is the exact same soap used by the high end lodges where the rates are $600 a night PER PERSON! It has no artificial thickeners. Most reasonable people understand that all the additives are not necessary and are carcinogenic. No one has ever complained about the soap! Most want to know where to buy some to take home (you can get it right in town- it is $50 a gallon, less for bars and smaller containers- far from cheap!)
Some guests forget that while they are on vacation, we are not. When these guests came to our home, they never once mentioned any plumbing issues and we knew that the caretaker had already been told and the leak was quickly repaired. The first time these guests wandered onto our home site (which is CLEARLY also marked with private signs & map shows areas of private homes), we were very hospitable to them. Second time we were polite but asked them to please respect our privacy. By the third time, it was apparent that these guests preferred not to use our caretaker (who DOES respond immediately and is on site at all times- when one is off, the other is there). They came by to ask questions regarding tours and hiking trails- there is a map in the guest book for self guided or you can take whoever we have on site working (but not us!). I tell all guests that I will reserve whatever you want prior to arrival but once you arrive, there is a guest info book with all contact info for tours. There are also tour offices in town (beware, they sometimes double rates though). I offer the service free of charge prior to arrival. We have caretakers who can advise you and help you if needed for any tours. The reserve is over 120 acres and each home has LOTS of space for hiking and walking. Occasionally though, we do get guests who don’t respect our privacy. This rarely occurs. However, we do try to meet each of our guests at some point in your stay, we do not barge in on you and we definitely respect your privacy and we guard that for all our guests. It is one of the reasons people like to stay with us- there are no other guests to walk by and interrupt you. At any of the 3 vacation homes spread out on over 120 acres. And we are surrounded by THOUSANDS of undeveloped and pristine rainforest with the Gulfo Dulce and Pacific as the front yard. There are far more interesting places to roam than our front door!! (except we don’t have a front door at our house!!)
It was obvious to us after we met with these guests a few times, that they did not read the rather extensive info which was sent to them both before their reservations (which were over a year by the time they arrived) and after. Some guests are better suited for the homogenous, all inclusive places where “Gringo” expectations are met. We generally attract those who want to really experience the local traditions, meet the wonderful people who call themselves Tico’s, and leave behind expectations of fast paced lives and immerse themselves in nature. Even older folks (we have had guests in their late 80’s) have loved staying with us. The tree house is a place to have a wonderful vacation and that is evident by the many reviews we have had from past guests. Most guests don’t write reviews because they get back to their world and dive right into life. We constantly have maintenance on the tree house and are ALWAYS upgrading and replacing furnishings. So their assessment of no maintenance is very far from the truth. The sofa covers were new when they were there in May, bed linens had been replaced just weeks before their arrival. We have constant vigilance. We have to- it’s a TREE HOUSE and requires much more than a regular home! Perhaps these guests should have looked closer and paid better attention. The tree house is not at all attached to the tree. That is one of the coolest things about it! It does not in any way infringe on the tree and is not attached in any place to the tree! Had they listened when they were checked in and were shown some of these amazing details, or read it in the guest info book, they would know this- there was so much they missed by not paying attention and being sensitive to “all natural” which is the advertising campaign of Costa Rica. Blaming the hosts for an accommodation outside of your comfort zone and expecting 5 star service (not sure where they got that from. I combed our advertising looking for that and found it nowhere) in a TREE HOUSE seems a bit ridiculous!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francesca...
Ramah, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just like Tarzan and Jane”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

There's only one way to describe this experience: it is the ultimate rainforest lifestyle one may dream to do at least once in a lifetime. I got hooked.
Getting up, high in the canopy, with a howler monkey being your alarm-clock with his powerful solo, and the scarlet macaws being the choir right after, you start your day greeted by some squirrel monkeys (Titis), coming right next where you're having coffee, downstairs, in the open-air kitchen, with the lush vegetation of the forest being your IMAX.
Then, as you lazily walk over to the bathroom #1, to wash up and do your other things, you look out over the wonderfully painted Mermaid in the sink: butterflies (huge Morphos among them) flying around all over, and the many different birds (Manakins, Motmots, Tanagers, Orioles, Honeycreepers, Toucans, Aracaris and Parakeets to name just a few) serenading you silly.
Shower-time awaits, with its tremendous impact as you step onto a glass-bottom enclave that gives you the vision... all the way down to the roots of "the Tree" (as I call our jungle-home in the Osa). If you're not awake by then, you will while getting a nice, hot shower suspended in the air, as it seems.
Wilbert (Wilbur for friends), the property caretaker, is ready to guide you on memorable hikes, river-walking to waterfalls, or through canyons and ridges of primary and secondary forests, showing you the wonders of nature, telling you of edible and medicinal plants, and having you taste some in the process.
Then, there are other activities offered in the area, from horseback riding to water sports, Chocolate Farm touring and Guaymi Indigenous People to meet, visit their territory, and learn about their culture, language and traditions.
As you return to Lapa's Nest (Scarlet Macaws Nest), as it is called "the Tree", you'll find waiting and greeting you, iguanas and lizards on trail, leaf-frogs, geckos and toads up the tree-trunk, and also a beautiful (harmless) golden tarantula couple, making itself visible here and there, so you'll gain enough awareness not to harm them, while they are hunting for insects.
While you were gone, a fully equipped army-ant battalion had gone through the tree-house, level after level, cleaning up every little crumb and insect at hand. When those ants come to your floors it looks better than Spic and Spam!
If you happen to go to the kitchen in the "stillness of the night", you may be lucky to meet "Gigi" (as I named it), the Kinkajou. Of the weasel family, but with big red eyes (night-vision), the kinkajous love to visit and see if, by a chance, you left some food unattended on the counters or range... If none, they'll leave.
In periods around full moon, it's magic all over again, while laying in bed and looking through the port-hole above you, the canopy shades and lights move to the breeze.
Oh! The private, spring-fed tub in the forest: what a treat! We got down there as soon as we arrived, after dark, poured on by a typical rainforest shower...
Puerto Jemenez is a jewel on its own right, with the calm, warm Golfo Dulce in front, and the colorful, laid back way of life all around, year round.
We wouldn't have it any different than we had it. We, actually, want more, much more.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being able to live directly, face to face, with nature in all its forms
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 25, 2012
O Francesca- we miss you! What a gem of a person you and Umberto are. We hope to see you here again one day (soon please)! You came as a guest, you left as a friend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wisconsin
Reviewed March 27, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing