We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Trip To the Jungle”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical Trip To the Jungle”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Our week at El Remanso was utterly magical! My husband and I, and another couple, hiked, swam, rappelled, tree climbed, surfed, birdwatched, and nature walked among gorgeous vegetation trails, the Pacific ocean and tide pools, and waterfalls with pristine streams. The eco lodge was simple but elegant, set in a very natural, lightly landscaped garden over looking the Pacific. The staff and owners took wonderful care of us, helping to plan activities, educating us about the rainforest, feeding us delicious and healthy food and beverages, and generally making our life heaven on earth. We are a fifty-ish, very active and health-oriented group, and we loved every minute of the challenges and wellness lifestyle afforded us here. It was one of the most relaxing vacations ever, due to the laid-back environment (very, very casual dress) coupled with warm, sophisticated hospitality. There are only 25 guests at a time, so you'll feel special and pampered! Families with children aged 8 and up would have an utter blast here, too!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout9857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
172
341
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at El Remanso. We were surprised and delighted by the food and rooms. The staff was there for every need. We took advantage of the tours led by the resident naturalist Gerardo. He was informative and truly excited by his work. We did the early morning bird watching tour and was amazed at the wildlife, and surprised by a family of howlers crossing the road through the trees above. The hikes are moderately difficult, down into ravines, then back up to the ridges. Good light waterproof boots are a must. The food is wonderful and fresh. We looked forward to the fresh seafood almost every night. The local food was best for breadfast and lunch. Evenings around the bar before dinner was a great time to meet fellow travelers and chat about the events of the day. We also did the whale and dolphin tour which was a beautiful day on the Golfo Dolce, no humpbacks were around that day but lot's of dolphins and a great trip to the wildlife sanctuary across the bay. We had a lovely 5 days and look forward to returning. This is a wonderful place that not only takes care of guests, but makes good friends as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapaRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at this beautiful lodge in the middle of the wilderness.
What can I say, we had a wonderful time.
The cabin was simply decorated, but was beautiful and comfortable. This lodge has sustainable energy. Don't expect TV's or hairdryers or air conditioning. It's not that kind of place. However, they are supposed to add some ceiling fans to the rooms in a few weeks. Also, the hot water in the rooms is heated by propane. If you're at the bottom of the tank, yes, you might have to end your shower with cold water (it happened to me), but the management was very quick to have the tank changed. When you go to this kind of lodge, you have to agree with this kind of tourism. This is what we were looking for and we appreciate the owners' efforts to be earth-friendly.

If you like nature, you will be spoiled! You wake up to the sound of howler monkeys and birds. If you take some tours with Gerardo, the lodge's guide, you will be sure to encounter some very interesting creatures. He's a wealth of knowledge, he's very passionate and his passion is contagious.

The food was simply delicious and the portions were generous. Nice blend of modern and local cuisine. Always very fresh produce. Nice variety for breakfast. Always 2 choices for lunch and dinner. The staff is super friendly and always willing to please.

Yes the lodge is remote. If you don't come with your own car, transport can get pricey if you want to go to town. But unless you do the dolphin watch tour, you don't really need to go to town until you leave unless you want to.

All in all, we are very, very happy with our stay at El Remanso. We would return in a heartbeat. It really is a great place to get away from the city's craziness.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxiccrayola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We flew in from San Jose for a quick mid-Winter trip from Philadelphia. We only had 5 nights and had never taken this type of vacation before. We came through Miami and made a connection on Sansa--if I had known the type of airplane--a single prop --I would have never done it. But , I didn't , and we flew with two handsome young Tico pilots--seated behind them were two young Costa Rican women who cried and laughed so hard throughout the flight that any anxiety that I had was so out emoted that I was able to enjoy the incredible scenery and beauty of the land below.
We were greeted by El Remanso staff and began our stay in paradise. The rooms are beautiful-- spacious and open to the outdoors--you are in you personal tree house. No mosquitoes, you can sit outside at night and not be bitten. No air conditioning and it gets hot but cools off at night with the warm tropical breeze. You can lay in your bed , see the moon and listen to cicadas. You wake in the morning to the booming calls of the howler monkeys.
The walks were incredible, led by a enthusiastic naturalist, who points out the life cycle from the microscopic to the primate level. The staff seemed sweet, relaxed and happy. The food was scrumptious-- especially the Costa Rican specialties.
You have to work to get around-- it is hot and sweaty in the middle of the day-- then you jump into the little spring fed pool and enjoy a Margarita at the bar.
I would highly recommend this type of experience to those who have just a little time and want a total immersion in nature.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Yes, good lodges on the Osa Penn are expensive. But some are worth the price more than others. We looked around and were very glad to choose El Remanso. A few reviews on this site made us wonder what we had signed up for, but we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accomodations, the food and the staff. Perhaps some guests just didn't understand where they were going. Simply put, it's the jungle. So if you freak out being near unfamiliar animals and insects - don't go! And although El Remanso offers a refined jungle experience, don't expect four-star resort pampering. No lodge on this pennisula is that posh despite the prices.

We chose an open air cabin that looked out over the jungle and had a view of the ocean. It was stunning - made of beautiful woods and nicely, although simply, furnished. My only complaints are that it needed better bathroom lighting and a ceiling fan over the bed, but I heard those improvements may be coming shortly. The main lodge is also beautiful and we appreciated having our own dining table versus being forced to share every meal with strangers as some lodges do. The chef aims for impressive dishes and sometimes misses the mark, but the food was always enjoyable. The staff were friendly and accessible without being intrusive.

They offer a wide variety of reasonably priced activities and our 2+ hour jungle hike with a very talented guide was a highlight of our trip. We also heard that the waterfall repelling is amazing but didn't have time to try. The beaches in this area are empty and we had the place to ourselves often. The nearby tide pools allowed us to paddle around safely as ocean swimming in this area is not recommended due to strong currents.

We hiked up to the only other lodge nearby (Bosque del Cabo) and immediately realized we picked the right place for us. It reminded us of Hawaii circa 1985. Nice, but too much open lawn versus jungle, not enough privacy and the resident tour guide we met briefly was oddly less than friendly. The only advantage we could spot was that some of the cabins are close to the ocean, while El Remanso's are more set back in the jungle. I think Bosque would be a good place for families with younger kids, while El Remanso is more for couples. Best cabins at El Remanso: La Guinda, La Vainilla & Azul de Mar.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Adriana and Daniel were our most gracious hosts of this spectacular eco lodge. Its a beautiful place and ALL of the staff were the most friendly and helpful of any I have experienced. Most special to our experience was Gerado who is responsible for most of the activities. He is a wealth of knowledge about the wildlife and eco system of his native land. His enthusiasm for both is infectious. If you are thinking of staying in the southern Osa you must stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I traveled here in January for a winter time getaway with my wife and we had a great time being in the rain forest and enjoying nature. This place is ideal if you enjoy outdoor, active activities, want to learn about the rain forest ecosystem and crave the solitude of being far away from civilization. The staff at El Remanso was very attentive and made us feel as though our needs were being met. The food was excellent. Each meal included a choice of a local favorite with a more American style dish. This is not a typical all-inclusive resort as El Remanso maxes out at 28 people and being an eco-resort, they emphasize minimizing one's impact on the rain forest from the amount of light and electricity consumed to the caring and maintaining of their land. The acres of land owned by El Remanso are teeming with wildlife from monkeys and pumas to a variety of exotic birds and vegetation. Most key to our stay was our cabin. Although a bit pricey, selecting one of the more upscale cabins greatly enhanced our trip as the cabin had a wonderful front deck affording us unobstructed views of the forest and was screened in so that we had no problems with bugs. The cabin was comfortable and ideal for sleeping...at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmosk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 4 in Cabo Matapalo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Property: El Remanso Lodge
Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing