We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming of going back”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albany, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreaming of going back”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed there in July 2013 and it was heaven! We were there 5 nights with our 8 year old daughter and 13 year old son. The staff is amazing. The site is beautiful. La Vainilla was so great. I can't think of anything I would change. The naturalist and guides were knowledgable and competent. We went on night hikes, waterfall rappelling, horseback riding, dolphin watching, bird watching-everything was great. Also, we hiked down to the beach, the lagoon, the bay on our own. My daughter keeps asking when we can go back and cries when we tell her we can't go back this summer. The hostess made her feel like she was family. We were also glad this was our last stop because nothing could beat this paradise. Thank you to everyone at El Remanso! We miss you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
171
336
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We returned a few days ago from El Remanso and it was so different and amazing it seems like a dream. My husband and I went for 7 nights with our 13 year old daughter and 11 year old son. This is a perfect trip for a family looking for an adventure and a place to be "off the grid". We stayed in the La Vainilla cabin and it was our own tree house in the rain forest. The upstairs was completely open and we loved hanging out in two hammocks in the afternoons. The downstairs was completely screened in and we had no problem with bugs. It was very hot last week, so the nights were a little warm, but we were all able to sleep once the ocean breeze kicked in. In the morning, we awoke to the howler monkeys and on several afternoons the squirrel monkeys ate in the trees above our deck. We had a lovely view of the Pacific and the valley with macaws, toucans and dozens of other birds flying overhead.

We took advantage of all the activities, with Gera being our able guide on a long hike, waterfall repelling and the night hike. We all learned so much from him about the plants and animals in the rainforest and how they are all dependent on one another. His enthusiasm was contagious. He could not wait to show my kids all the cool stuff in the rain forest. He literally ran down the path to catch a beetle that he wanted my kids to see. During the night hike he used his blue light to find scorpions, snakes and spiders. We also went horseback riding, surfing and dolphin watching. During our dolphin watching tour we were surrounded by dozens of dolphins. The ocean is too rough to swim by the lodge, but we enjoyed the tide pools, the lagoon and the big waves from the shore.

The staff is amazing. By the end of the week, we were on a first name basis with them all. In the restaurant/bar we were well cared for by Sergio, Jairo, Carlos, Rolbin and Josie. Silvia, Julie and Marco were great at managing our stay. The owners, Adriana and Daniel were warm and welcoming.

Again as others have said, this is not a trip for people looking for the typical beach resort experience. This is a place for people that want an authentic experience in the rain forest - people willing to hike up a ravine, repel down a waterfall and deal with some bats or bugs flying around. It was awesome and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the cabins closest to the ocean for the best breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonam318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

It had been a dream of my husband and I to travel to Costa Rica and when we finally were able to travel, we decided on El Remanso, in Osa. We were so pleased, we will definitely go back as soon as possible! The variety of wildlife - plant and animal - was amazing! We enjoyed two birding tours and a dolphin watch... along with a number of guided hikes including one at night. The guides were expert and personable. We also hiked on our own, with many trails through rain forest, to waterfalls, and to the always perfect Pacific ocean complete with rock tide pools. Sun touch on the canopy as we watched the insects and birds awaken was indescribable! Full moon as the jungle settled into it's night rhythms... I have no words. 4 species of monkeys visited us daily... toucan, hummingbirds... so many wonders of nature. That doesn't even begin to touch the people side of el remanso. The staff are so helpful and want to make sure everything is perfect. The food is among the best we've eaten... three wonderful meals a day. No need for mosquito repellent in February. The weather was picture perfect. The owners gave a presentation on how el remanso operates in a "green" way - from making their own electricity from hydro-power to drying laundry in a drying tent. We highly encourage anyone to consider this eco-resort. We were traveling as a couple, but saw many families and they were having a great time. If you do go, I wish you well. You will not regret your decision.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms! You feel as if you have the jungle all to yourself. Ceiling fans provide c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our last port of call in Costa Rica after having stayed at San Jose, Arenal and Monteverde. We enjoyed all our destinations - they all exceeded our expectations but El Remanso was our 'cherry on the cake' to savour at the end of our holiday and boy did it do that!!!
This was a new experience for us, staying so close to nature, but after a little apprehension and doubt we absolutely loved it. The freedom and peace we felt was so uplifting, we couldn't believe we were in such a fabulous place.
What has been said in other reviews about the accommodation, food and staff, I can verify - all were outstanding, taking care on the detail to make everyone's holiday special.
You feel as though you are 'as one' with nature but having the luxury of a really comfortable bed, three great meals,a lovely swimming pool with comfy loungers, no chores or mosquitoes to content with - pure paradise.
The guided walks are exceptional, the guides very knowledgeable on all aspects of fauna and flora but to be able to walk out yourselves into the rainforest and view all the splendour is mind blowing. I enjoyed the walks we had on the beach also, with the crashing waves, rock pools, creeks and lagoon. Two disadvantages here though; one the sea is too dangerous to swim in and two the walk back to the lodges - I need to get fit!
This has been our first trip to Costa Rica, we will return to see more of this wonderful country but most definitely we will be back to our little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights with our two teenage kids. El Remanso is set on a ridge in a primary growth rain forest. Cell phones don't work there and you don't want to check your email because why mess up paradise. If you are into nature this is the place for you. We went on several guided and self guided hikes and saw amazing jungle critters and plant life. The guides are fantastic. Food was amazing. Staff was friendly, knowledgable and eager to please. I got the best massage ever and it was in an open air hut on the edge of the forest. Was a bit hot, but we went during the warmest time.
Previous posts had negative comments about the Eco talk from the owner, but we really liked it. They make their own power and leave a tiny Eco footprint on the world. Pretty cool in our opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

It's a good sign when my only remotely negative comment is that the dessert selection was a little odd (more chocolate please!). The location is incredible, the animals and plants are all around you, the guides are friendly and knowledgeable, the staff is first-rate, and the meals were exquisite (not just given the remote location, but comparable to any good restaurant). We purchased the full activity package, which seems like the right answer for most people. The guided hikes give you the necessary context and appreciation for what you are seeing, and the waterfall and tree rappelling are just plain fun. We stayed 4 days/5 nights which was a good length of time given other places to see in the country.

El Remanso has a similar feel to Camp Denali in Alaska in terms of combining immersion in the wilderness with a comfortable base of operations. If you're considering this--just do it. You'll be glad for it.

Room Tip: Cabins are screened on all sides, with ceiling fans and mosquito netting for the bed (which we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyJoe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I created a trip to the Osa Peninsula and to El Remanso Lodge in particular as a gift for my husband in early March. I had zero interest in what I thought would be a place full of mosquitoes, too-basic lodging, and plenty of birds/animals that I didn't think I wanted to be near. I didn't know how wrong I could be! We have travelled extensively, yet this place and our experience at El Remanso may have been the best ever - for more reasons than I can even fit in this review. You need to go here - it doesn't matter where else you may want to visit in CR - this will be the highlight.

We were greeted at the Puerto Jimenez airstrip by Julia and Marco after a great Sansa flight from San Jose. Their enthusiasm was contagious on the ride to El Remanso, and they felt like old friends by the time we arrived. Our first look at the lodge/restaurant was the next great surprise - it was so lovely - all open air and wood. Over the next hour, while Silvia described all aspects of this amazing place and we had a refreshing drink, a Toucan landed in plain view about 25 yards away - and we were already falling in love with El Remanso! Then we were accompanied to our cabin - Caramba. It was simple, but so tasteful with a great deck looking to the ocean and surrounded by "controlled jungle/forest". I was so happy! After 4 days - NO mosquitoes - just as they say! Unforgettable - sitting on our private deck in the morning, looking out to the ocean, watching a pair of Scarlet Macaws flying toward us, turning into the sun and absolutely blazing into full color!

I cannot say enough about the guided hikes by Gerardo (he speaks the birds' language)! I took two of these day hikes and then one night hike; we walked down to the ocean and hiked the beach a couple of times; my husband also did some self-guided hikes and the canopy breakfast. We both did Yoga one afternoon. It was just the right amount of activity and relaxation. Of course, you could choose to do nothing at all!

Last, but by far not the least, were the staff here. I know they have been mentioned many times in other reviews, but I have to comment again. Nowhere, in any of our travels, have we experienced such caring, conscious, concerned and friendly service! These are primarily local young people hired & trained by Silvia and Adriana. Their team is so well-coordinated and create such a lovely personal experience (with the best food ever and wonderful menu choices at every meal)! This place is really another world - one in which I'd love to be a part for a long, long time. Don't miss it. We have been missing it since we left!

Donna & Larry

Room Tip: We stayed in Caramba, one of three "classic" cabins, and loved, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
514 reviews
10.3 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Property: El Remanso Lodge
Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing