We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous & Awesome”
Review of El Remanso Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Remanso Lodge
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Osa Peninsula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous & Awesome”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed with a group of photographers. The open air rooms are unique and ours was facing the pool, the jungle and the ocean ~ a small slice of heaven! the food was outstanding. The service was impeccable. I cant say enough good about this wonderful eco- lodge. The staff were very accommodating and made sure we were happy with everything. They made it a point to know us by name. They arranged birding and other eco- tours for us as well as zip lining. Meals were ordered in advance so there was no waiting. I'm vegetarian, and each vegetarian meal outdid the last. The only thing I didnt like were the cakes for dessert. The wildlife is within view of the dining area and the rooms. The howler monkeys woke us up in the mornings. It's a short walk down to the beach, but a real hike getting back uphill to the lodge.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave sleep quality a very good instead of excellent was because of the humidity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaKayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
171
336
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The service from start to finish is some of the best we have experienced. The staff know you by name and you are treated like royalty. The location is amazing. It is on the Pacific side of the Osa peninsula at the very bottom. It is not in Corcovado but is part of a protected corridor that links to the National Park. The wildlife was unbelievable with scarlet macaws, coatis, toucans, capuchins, howlers and spider monkeys all on the doorstep. Often you would be in the pool or restaurant and the wildlife would be right there. A 10 min walk gets you to a pristine deserted beach. The sea is too rough for swimming but there are natural tidepools a short walk away which can be used for a dip. The food was awesome and plentiful with a good choice daily. We stayed in Casa Poniente (Rayo Verde) which is upstairs with a private terrace so you get a great view of the sea and sunset. Various guided walks and activities are available and the guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We didn't do anything outside of the lodge as there was so much to do in house. The owners have a great ethic of sustainable tourism keeping the lodge footprint small (30 guests max), generating all it's own electricity itself and minimising waste. There are no TVs and no internet access but who needs it with nature's TV on your doorstep. If you want to escape from it all in a beautiful location and be treated like a member of the family then look no further.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieyaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

El Remanso is situated within a large tract of primary forest bordering the Pacific ocean. It is about as remote as you would normally expect to get (no wi-fi, no TV, no newspapers...) and the electricity is generated locally by hydro.

The accommodation is in delightful individual bungalows each in their own garden within the lush rainforest. There is no air-conditioning (partly due to energy limitations) but a fan is sufficient to be able to fall asleep listening only to the noises of the rainforest.

Food is included and is all cooked to order (you tell the staff at breakfast what you would like for lunch and dinner) and it is prepared for you.

There are various activities, including birdwatching and other guided hikes as well as zip-lining above the forest canopy to look for animals.

There is a trail which leads down to the beach (about 15 minutes walk) and, although not safe for swimming, it is regarded as one of the most unspoilt and attractive beaches anywhere. Excellent for walking and viewing wildlife.

There may be an evening presentation offered while you are there, explaining the history of El Remanso and, especially, how it all operates on a sustainable basis. Try not to miss this, as it is really interesting to see how the whole establishment runs on such little energy and with minimal impact on the local environment.

Just could not fault this place...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave-sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

From start it finish our visit to El Remanso was first rate. Gabby even checked in with us before we left the US as there was a blizzard and she eased every part of our travel logistics. Can't say enough about the thoughtful environment of this luxurious Eco lodge. Pristine beach where we walked and swam in the tidal pools, Gerardo was a great nature guide, owners Adriana and Daniel treated us like VIP friends and the cabina was romantic and beautifully constructed. Pictures don't do justice to the beauty of El Remanso. The monkeys and birds were great company and by the end of our four day visit we were seeing things we didn't know we're there on day one. It was a great adventure but also a sweetly relaxing time as well. Because you are off the grid, 4 days felt like 2 weeks. And the owners were happy to drive you a short ways to get a cell call out. Don't miss the horseback riding on the most beautiful beach ever... We were so lucky they had a cancellation as it was a highlight of our week in CR.
Grace
New York City

Room Tip: The cabinas are terrific. El Lucero was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If i start by saying this is only my 3rd 5 star excellent rating in over 60 reviews you will realise how good El Remanso . From reservations to all Lodge staff and Guides and the ever present owners the service is of the highest order . If you want luxury with TVs etc this is not for you ,if you want a comfortable eco lodge with brilliant customer service , good food in a stunning setting then please go .The bedrooms are comfortable with excellent beds and good showers. The tours are all of the highest order . I cannot recommend this Lodge highly enough . It was the highlight of a fabulous trip in a really interesting country.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second trip to El Remanso, and it was everything we remembered and more. The staff recognized us, and seemed genuinely pleased to have us back. The lodging was as beautiful as ever, and the food as tasty. Even better than the last time, there were only two river crossings to get here from Puerto Jimenez, making it much easier, albeit not much faster. The road is still as bumpy, but it was nice to have more of it!

We took another guided tour with Gera, and were once again amazed by all the things he was able to show us. His enthusiasm is still infectious. Silvia and Sergio not only tolerated our bad-but-slowly-improving Spanish, but graciously and kindly helped us improve it, making it so much easier to try.

The atmosphere here also makes it easy to make new friends, and we did this time, as we did on our last trip. Something about sharing paradise with people, I suppose!

If you are looking for an incredible experience in the rain forest, at a place that "sits lightly" on the land, provides stellar customer service, and will stun you with the surrounding beauty, don't hesitate to book your trip to El Remanso. You can even fly into Puerto Jimenez and have them pick you up, if you don't want to rent a car.

We look forward to many additional visits to this beautiful, special, place and the wonderful people who make us feel more than welcome - they make us feel like old friends.

Room Tip: We requested the same room as last year - Caramba. It has a lovely view of the ocean, and is seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mortirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We, my wife Kim and I, have been to the Osa several times over the past years staying at some really terrific eco-resorts. This year we waited to long to book our usual places so we started looking at other options. We found that El Remanso had one open unit. We had heard good things so we decided to give it try. Best travel decision we have ever made!! This place is terrific. Great hiking trails all different from one another. The Ocean Trail is easy and leads to tidal pools and a terrific waterfall right on the beach. The River Trail is an adventure with Howlers, snakes, lizards, frogs anteaters, very exciting hike. All the other hikes are unique and worth exploring.

The lodge and associated grounds are perfect. Wonderful staff that will assist with anything you need. They seem to be a very close and caring group that truly reflect the personalities of the owners, Daniel and Adriana both are completely involved in every detail of the daily operations of the Lodge and are engaging with all the guests.

The dining area overlooks the jungle with various birds and monkeys usually nearby. The meals were always terrific with varied menu choices. A side note, there are several small decks strategically placed with two chairs. PERFECT for morning coffee watching the jungle “wake-up”.

We will definitely book another trip to El Remanso.

Room Tip: Kim had the Yoga studio all to herself everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
1.0 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.2 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
514 reviews
10.3 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Remanso Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Remanso Lodge

Property: El Remanso Lodge
Address: Near Corcovado National Park, 8203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Remanso Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your El Remanso Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Remanso Hotel Osa Peninsula
El Remanso Osa
El Remanso Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing