We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Mineros Guesthouse
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The cabin we stayed in was not in the best shape, but we loved it all the same.

If you want to get away from the touristy bits and have a taste of the local life in a really quiet and remote area this is your best bet!

The owners were lovely, and we went on one of the tours offered to the farm in the jungle and the waterfalls for a dip. We saw some sloths on the way and loads of little adorable monkeys that came as close as their curiosity got. Which was close!!

We found a large spider in our room one night but they bravely got rid of it immediately! Mosquito nets provided and WIFI!

Recommend it if you want to relax from the sun of the beach and have a breather on your trip.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cabins if you are afraid of spiders or frogs (they will climb through the sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angusano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Los Mineros Guesthouse is located in Dos Brazos, next door to the Corcovado National Park in the Osa Peninsula.

Situated amidst wild jungle Dos Brazos is a rapidly depopulating gold-miners town due to continuous efforts for nature preservation.

We learned quite a bit about local history and way of life from Suzanna and Channi who run the Los Mineros. Suzanna told us that the Guesthouse is an historical landmark- in the hay days of gold mining it used to be the Bar, the Brothel and the Jail in one. Channi gave us a fascinating tour of the surrounding area- we got to feed the crocodile and the horses, collect dry seeds, pet butterflies and wonder around the jungle forest! We did not have enough time to hike all the way to the waterfall and went for a refreshing dip in the nearby swimming hall/river .

The communal area is a wonderful place for evening hangout in the hammock and the sleeping arrangements are simple yet comfortable. Notable to mention the fast wifi- helpful for those needing to be connected while traveling.

Visiting this town and staying in Los Mineros was a definite highlight of my Costa Rica trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mpekurov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanna P, Owner at Los Mineros Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for your review,we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We arrived in that place in the end of the world, it was incredible.
We did a 5 hours hike in the Rio Tigre, in the mountains, we saw a old goldmine and real goldsearchers in the river, but the most impressive is the nature,we were speachless, and we had a great guide Channi the knew all about nature.We'll definitely come back to sleep in the pure mountain. It's a place for nature lover, simple and basic but you'll find everything what you need, fresh water et great food!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mnatalieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank phil-gex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son rústicas pero cumplen su cometido.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexeloso80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank savokanabonette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bolita Hostel
Bolita Hostel
#1 of 24 in Puerto Jimenez
131 reviews
21 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
195 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
41.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Mineros Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Mineros Guesthouse

Address: Dos Brazos del Rio Tigre | Puerto Jimenez, 60703, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range: $34 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Los Mineros Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mineros Guesthouse Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing