We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Osa Clandestina Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osa Clandestina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Osa Clandestina
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Osa Clandestina Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I´ve been in Clandestina in several opportunities and each time gets better. The natural scene in which the lodge is located is just wonderful. There is so much to do around that your days will be gone with many things yet to discover. Beach, waterfalls, all kinds of wildlife, adventure, fishing...
The meals are delicious and the river that goes by the lodge is the best soundtrack to them.
Clandestina is a must when you´re down in Osa!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Osa Clandestina is a hidden gem tucked away in the coastal rain forest of the Southern Pacific region of Costa Rica. The area provides some of the best eco-tourism in the country and is one of the most bio-diverse regions not only in Costa Rica, but the world. Within just a short walk around the grounds, surrounding beaches and rainforest, you'll experience an amazing variety of flora and fauna. Many coastal areas of Costa Rica such as the Northwest and Central Pacific have overdeveloped and lost some of it's natural charm -- not Osa.

If you're looking for your standard resort vacation content sitting on a lounge chair sipping an umbrella drink, while you can do this in Osa, you'd be missing out on the good stuff. If your interest is unbridled nature in a setting that is largely uninterrupted with thoughtful development meshed seamlessly with the areas natural beauty, four types of Costa Rican monkeys and amazingly beautiful exotic birds perched outside of your cabin, Osa Clandestina is for you. Within walking distance there are three beaches, if surfing is your thing, seriously look no further. The three beaches accommodate the full spectrum of skill levels, beginner (my wife never surfed before and had a blast) to seriously advanced jaw dropping swells.

The lodge manager, M.A. (aka Mary Alice) is a super cool and accommodating American from the Philly area who fell so in love with Osa 16 years ago she never left. She'll do everything to make your stay pleasant, provide advice and assist with booking activities you might be interested in such as fishing, horse back riding, surf lessons, or just a simple tip such as a good hike or walk in the area. I'd definitely recommend tapping into her knowledge of the area.

Because the lodge includes all meals during your stay, M.A. and her staff will prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner to fit your tastes and preferences. If you fish, they'll even prepare your catch of the day to your specifications. We prefer healthful foods so there is no better area for the freshest of seafood and an awesome variety of the best Costa Rican fruits and vegetables.

The cabins are clean and private and have very comfortable high quality beds and pillows to make your trip restful as well. If you need a daytime siesta, each cabin has a private deck with a hammock, good for a quick snooze or to get a reading rhythm going with the sound of waves crashing from the distance. While the area is remote, if you need to be connected (as I do), there is wifi internet connectivity and dish TV in the lodge to keep you in touch with the rest of the world while you enjoy this amazing getaway.

My wife is Costa Rican so we have been visiting Costa Rica three to four times a year for more than 10 years, I've seen most of the country and Osa Clandestina provides a positively unique experience. I highly recommend this place if you're interested in any of the above qualities in your vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crussello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Osa Clandestina over the Christmas Break and we had a wonderful time at the lodge. We had a chance encounter will a troop of white faced monkeys one of which will forever be known as "Snaggletooth"! The cabin was very comfortable and we slept on the best mattresses ever in our lives. The staff that made our stay so pleasant and comfortable were Ana, Adriana, and Marcela. They were always smiling and friendly. In addition, the behind the scenes men---Antonio, Carlos and Wilbur were always ensuring we had the best hot showers and nice gardens to enjoy. Finally, Mary Alice is a very generous host and she's an excellent cook. She helped us prepare our fresh caught tuna and and create a sashimi and sushi party that was sublime.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

My two teenage children and I stayed at Osa Clandestina in the last week of December. As mentioned in other reviews, this is a lovely hideaway which feels like a home away from home. The staff, led by the lodge manager Mary Alice, is friendly and extremely helpful. The lodge itself is 5 minutes from the beach by walking. Mary Alice prepared most of the meals for us and they were delicious. She also arranged all sorts of activities for me and my children, including surfing lessons, tree climbing, a boat tour of the gulf with a visit to a sanctuary as well as horseback riding. We also saw different species of monkeys, macaws, pelicans, hawks and other birds I did not recognize, all within walking distance of the lodge.

Overall, this is the best family trip we have ever had and Osa Clandestina is a gem. The best compliment I can give is that my children were already talking about returning while we were on the way home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stelligent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

My wife and I have stayed twice at OSA CLANDESTINA. We are artists working with nature through photography, video, and sound recording. The staff are wonderful, the location relative to the beach and jungle superb. The food is all local and perfect. With just a few cabins everyone is treated like family. And the wildlife viewing is as good if not better than anywhere on the planet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlietravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Osa Peninsula is a special place for its people, waves, nature, and food. Osa Clandestina gave us a chance to enjoy all of these things in an utterly relaxed and welcoming environment. Hihghlights: M.A., Ana, Orion, the staff, the food, the animals, right hand point breaks, relaxed vibe, monkeys, butteflies, leafcutter ants, hummingbirds, Jesus lizards, pisotes, monkeys, toucans, more monkeys, great food, coffee, boards on hand to use, cookies on a rainy afternoon, the park right there... We'll be back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris32761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

This place is incredible, by far the best beach & surf vacation I've ever been on. Didn't know much about the Osa Peninsula before booking the trip, but was blown away as soon as we arrived.

There are lush rainforests filled with wildlife, insane surf spots, isolated beaches, and all of it is relatively easy to get to. Maybe just as awesome is that Osa is far less populated than trendy touristy destinations like Tamarindo and Tulum. No Fanny-Pack packing sightseers with A-hole sunburns anywhere in sight here...

The rooms at Clandestina are choice. Big, super clean bungalows--with WiFi for the dudes and a mosquito canopy over the bed for the ladies. Huge deck overlooking the cape with a hammock to hang amongst the monkeys and macaws. Not kidding, there are beautiful pals overheard at all times, from the howler monkeys commuting through the Matapalo trees at sundown to the squawking parrots at sunup. Like sleeping in a tropical animal preserve.

Only the food here is much, much better. Very chill expat cook who goes by M.A. can get her feast on: we had some muy rico tuna steaks, obscenely fresh fruits and salads (don't forget the coconut water!), and some great Malbecs de Argentina. A couple shots of Guaro--the Tico's moonshine--is also a must.

I want to go back. Seriously. Right now.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Clandestina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Clandestina

Property: Osa Clandestina
Address: Cabo Matapalo | Playa Pan Dulce, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge sits on a verdant hillside, only a five minute walk from the beach. This region is the epicenter of biodiversity on the planet, with more than 2% of the world's species in our backyard.We offer comfortable cabins with a casual elegance surrounded by lush gardens and a hundred acres of our private rainforest reserve. Easily explore uncrowded tropical beaches and winding forest trails, or simply relax in your cabin and wait for the monkeys and macaws to parade through the network of mango and other native fruit trees that front the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osa Clandestina Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing