We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon with monkeys!”
Review of Casa Dos Rios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osa Peninsula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Dos Rios
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Honeymoon with monkeys!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Of all the 5 trips to CR this was by far the best! If it wasn't for Kim and Mell I wouldn't wright this review, I wouldn't want anyone else to know about this gem in the jungle! But the owners are the kindest and most helpful people we have ever met, so here I go.
First off this is in the osa, if you aren't familiar with this then your gunna need to be prepared. You will have animals and bugs in the house. This is more like a luxury tree house. You will also have monkeys, toucans, and scarlet macaws in the tree by the shower in the morning! If you have the money rent a 4x4 and drive it from puerto jimenez. There are many rivers you have to ford, there aren't bridges down there so you will get used to it and it was one of our funest parts of the trip. If you don't there is a collective taxi that runs twice a day for a couple bucks. Make sure you bring more food, beer, and ice than you think you need. You will be eating and drinking more than you think. There is a good bar within walking distance but it is expensive. One week was not long enough, we felt like we were just getting comfortable when we left on the seventh day. Don't bring to much, your gunna be in your bathing suit the hole time any way. Bring more sunscreen and bug repellent than you think you need. Go sailing with Kim and Mell! This was the highlight of our honeymoon! It was so much fun, and if your lucky you might see some whales, dolphins, or a double rainbow!
The owners.
If you are a fun social group, than you will want to hang out with Kim and Mell. They are a lot of fun and very helpful. We wouldn't have driven to carate if it wasn't for there "if you don't go, you won't know" attitude! And just getting to carate was a great adventure. Make sure you have enough time to do nothing for a couple days, if your lucky you mite see Kim's wicked ping pong skills! All in all the house and the new friends made our honeymoon perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We spent a week at Casa Dos Rios with two of our grandchildren, aged 5 and 11. The house was clean and roomy and right on a beautiful black sand beach. Lots of activities close by, including a day sail on Kim and Melanies sail boat. I surfed right in front of the house and two more surf spots were within walking distance. Trees full scarlet McCaws right in the front yard. Quiet, relaxing and all around easy. Kids were in awe the whole week. Already planning a trip back next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevik03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Casa Dos Rios was even better in person than the pictures made it look on-line. The house was a work of art located in one of the most scenic places on the planet. We watched monkeys cross the yard in front of the house and Macaws roosted in the palm tree out by the beach. We loved hiking to waterfalls, swimming in the lagoon, and spending time at Martina's. Perhaps the greatest treat was getting to know Melanie, Juan, and Maru. They were wonderful people who made us feel at home. We still miss Melanie's cooking. Its the first trip I've taken where I have close up pictures of food in my photo album. It was that good! We are planning our next visit.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Dos Rios in June 2010. The house is amazing and the hammocks are a great place to relax and stare at the Pacific, read a book, or sip a bottle of rum. The monkeys, macaws, toucans, etc. were also great company. I will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gino108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This house is a great place to stay if you are looking for a private and scenic area. We saw many wildlife, location was convenient, and had many interesting trails to explore. Great hospitality, Melanie and Kim are there to help with anything. It had a very "at home" feeling. Having the beach as your front yard was one of my favorites.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkd521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osa Peninsula hotels
0.0 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland Golfito
0.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dos Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dos Rios

Property: Casa Dos Rios
Address: Matapalo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly hand-crafted by the owner, this house shines of local area hardwoods. Standing over 28 feet tall, this Costa Rica beach rental house provides awe-inspiring views of the beautiful Golfo Dulce and the local community of parrots and monkeys. This stunning beach rental house offers four bedrooms equipped with queen size beds and mosquito nets, a full kitchen, two luxurious bathrooms, and two large living areas that allow you to comfortably enjoy the wide open views.You will treasure the experience of living at this beach house in Costa Rica with solar power, well water and fruit from the front yard. Casa Dos Rios truly offers you a chance to appreciate what the earth provides.The beautiful grassy lawn is safe and inviting, leading you directly to the sandy beach and awaiting waves. The lush grounds display many native tropical plants and fruit trees growing out of the rich volcanic soil that Costa Rica is known for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Dos Rios Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing