We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Rio Tico is a safari lodge.... this means they have safaritents in the middle of the forrest. The tents are terriffic!!! They are very clean, spacious, with private toilet and (hot) shower. We didn't find bugs at all in the tents due to the well closing "windows and doors". So go to bed or waking up with the sounds of nature.... really terriffic! In front of the tents there is a river you can swim in.... the river ends up in a pretty waterfall.
The owners Cees and Miranda are very kind an willing to give you information. Breakfast is perfect! Our plan was to stay one night... we stayed three nights!
We had a great time being here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janneman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
121
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was the best night of our trip! We didn't want to fall asleep since the nature sounds surrounding us were so amazing. You are perched in a lovely "tent" (more like an open air classy hotel room--they are very well made, almost brand new, and covered by TWO extra rain flaps) on a sturdy deck above a mountain stream surrounded by the rain forest, and you will never feel closer to the natural world than this. And the bugs were NOT A PROBLEM, even in the rainy season when we were there, so don't worry about that. We went swimming in the sparkling stream on the property that even has nice little cemented lounging spots, and were pleasantly surprised by a bunch of white faced monkeys crossing in the trees over head. It was so much fun watching them leap from tree to tree. The best part was that evening we took a pleasant stroll a few hundred meters down the road and had a wonderful dinner at the local "Tilapias" restaurant (they grow their own tilapia fish). Breakfast was also incredible, the highlight being a beautiful fruit creation that looked like a jungle flower made from fresh papaya, banana, pineapple, and watermelon. The owners are a wonderful young Dutch couple who have created a unique experience and take a personal pride in their endeavour. Don't let the low rates fool you, I would pay triple to relive this experience. YOU ARE NOT "ROUGHING IT" HERE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkpirate21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We returned from a 9 trip to Costa Rica last weekend and without a doubt our time at Rio Tico was the highlight! We orginally planned on staying 2 nights but ended up changing our schedule and staying for four nights because we loved it so much.
Upon arrival we immediately felt relaxed and that feeling continued throughout our stay. After entering the main building Cees showed us to our tent on the river. The tents have a king bed and full bathrooms attached, plus a great deck that we spent many hours on. The river that runs in front of the tents was amazing and we spent a lot of our time laying on the boulders and playing in the swimming holes that Cees has made so easily accessible.
Each morning Cees and his wife would make us a huge breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, jam, eggs or pancakes plus their great coffee. It was just what we needed to start our day of exploring the area. While we did visit some of the beaches in the area we spent most of our time exploring the property and the waterfall right up the road.
In the end, even 4 nights with Cees and his family felt too short and we look forward to being able to return. I can't count the times throughout our stay that one of said "Now THIS is what a vacation should be".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynsieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st-sauveur
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We spend 2 nights in these Safari tents, it was the most relaxing night we had. The owner is very helpfull and we love the restaurant Tilapia right next to the hotel.
france and normand from Quebec

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aloxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent three nights at Rio Tico at the end of our trip in Costa Rica and it was an amazing place - so unique and special. It is a safari lodge in the middle of the jungle, so you stay in tents next to a river. But these are really boutique style tents - incredibly comfortable and very stylish.

Because they are tents there's obviously no airconditioning, but you really feel like you're getting closer to nature. In the morning you can hear the animals in the jungle, and there's always the soothing sound of flowing water.

It can get hot in the jungle, so the owners have used the rocks in the river to create pools and waterfalls that you can sit in and swim in. Just a few minutes down the road is a spectacular waterfall with a crystal-clear pool for swimming. And there are some surprisingly good restaurants in the area too, as well as the most perfect beaches you could imagine.

The owners were incredibly helpful and friendly, really making our stay special and relaxing from start to finish. We'd have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Rio Tico to other travellers!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I just got back from Costa Rica and we can honestly say that staying at Rio Tico was the highlight of our trip. A true diamond in the rough. The safari tents were very clever and comfortable. We enjoyed spending time by the river reading and relaxing in the cool, refreshing waterfalls; and on our deck doing yoga, and just taking in the forest and the sound of the river below. Truly spectacular. The owners, Miranda and Case, couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. If you visit Costa Rica you should definitely make it a point to stay at Rio Tico. While you're at it treat yourselves to one of the fantastic French-Canadian restaurants just around the corner in Ojochal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at Rio Tico Safari Lodge during a round trip in January. Besides the 9 tents, Rio Tico also has 3 rooms in the main building. We stayed in the room on the first floor overlooking the garden. A beautiful, spacious room with a large balcony. The room has a very good double bed and a built-in closet. A fan at the ceilling. The bathroom is also spacious. Everything is very clean. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of fresh fruit, eggs, toast, jam and a lot of delicious coffee. The owners, Miranda and Cees, can give you a lot of tips for trips in the neighbourhood and do there utmost to make your stay unforgetable. It is a place you must visit during a round trip through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osa Peninsula
2.2 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
244 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
10.6 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Tico Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tico Safari Lodge

Property: Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Address: Vergel de Punta Mala | Canton de Osa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rio Tico Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica lies the Costa Ballena and our unique hotel, The Rio Tico Safari Lodge. Our ninge Safari Tents offer a direct experience with a Costa Rican tropical rainforest and will unite you with the natural bounty of Costa Rica. Here in the virgin rainforest, you will awaken every morning to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Tico Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Tico Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing