We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ydillic place in the middle of the rain forrest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Breda
1 review
“An ydillic place in the middle of the rain forrest”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at Rio Tico Safari Lodge during a round trip in January. Besides the 9 tents, Rio Tico also has 3 rooms in the main building. We stayed in the room on the first floor overlooking the garden. A beautiful, spacious room with a large balcony. The room has a very good double bed and a built-in closet. A fan at the ceilling. The bathroom is also spacious. Everything is very clean. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of fresh fruit, eggs, toast, jam and a lot of delicious coffee. The owners, Miranda and Cees, can give you a lot of tips for trips in the neighbourhood and do there utmost to make your stay unforgetable. It is a place you must visit during a round trip through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Breda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
120
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stayed at the Rio Tico Safari lodge with my six month old daughter, my three year old son, wife, parents and in-laws; it was AWESOME! Cees and Miranda (the proprietors) are some of the most hospitable, accommodating people I have ever met. The facilities are impeccably maintained and very comfortable. There is a river with natural pools, waterfalls and waterfalls to swim in. There is tons to do in the area. Par excellence; I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warneraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We really enjoyed to stay in the middle of the nature with the comfort of a 'real' bed and a shower in the tented lodge. Not forget to mention the coffee of barrista Cees! It's a really relaxing experience to start the day with a swim in the river. We only stayed here for three nights, what turned out to be too short. What a special place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosVendrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I visited Rio Tico Safari Lodge on a roundtrip through Costa Rica with a group. It was one of the most special places of the tour! You sleep in a big safari tent, they have a few tents which are spread out in a lush garden. At night I fell asleep with the sounds of the jungle. And I did have a nice bed, my own toilet and hot shower! Luxury camping :-). The garden is next to a river, in which you can swim and sit below a waterfall, getting hydro massage. In the morning I made a very nice walk with somebody from the village, who explained a lot about the nature. We saw lots of monkeys! After the walk we ate "gallo pinto", the typical Costarican breakfast in his home. It was a very nice way to get to know the Tico's a little bit better. The place is being run by a friendly Dutch couple, who gave us lots of ideas about things to do in the surroundings. If you are coming by yourself you have to come with your own transport, as it is in the middle of nowhere. But that was what I really liked, you are in the middle of nature!

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank LindaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

What a lovely couple are Cees, Miranda and their sons! As hosts of the Rio Tico Safari lodge they make sure you feel at home. Perfect coffees and great hospitality!

We stayed with them during a round trip through Costa Rica and enjoyed it. Perfect place from where you can plan hiking trips in the neighbourhood, visit the beach and catch your own Tilapia fish at the nearby restaurant.

Also nearby is Corcovado national park which we also liked very much.

So if you need to relax, enjoy true hospitality and family warmth you really should stay at Cees and Miranda's Rio Tico Safari Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Paul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

When you look for something special en unique, visit the Rio Rico Safari Lodge. The rooms are tents on platforms with private bathroom. Every evening we went to bed with all the jungle sounds and woke up with monkeys. Looked like they were at our balcony ;-)

The service is great. Especially the fresh coffee from Cees. He makes on of the best Cappuccino’s in Costa Rica.

The location is also nice for kids. The river (with swim holes) is clean and save. They have, a bit downstream, a nice waterfall.

You need to come by car. It is in the jungle. So no bus or other public transport.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaartenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osa Peninsula
2.2 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
208 reviews
13.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
7.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Tico Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tico Safari Lodge

Property: Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Address: Vergel de Punta Mala | Canton de Osa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rio Tico Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica lies the Costa Ballena and our unique hotel, The Rio Tico Safari Lodge. Our ninge Safari Tents offer a direct experience with a Costa Rican tropical rainforest and will unite you with the natural bounty of Costa Rica. Here in the virgin rainforest, you will awaken every morning to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rio Tico Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Tico Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing