We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Life in Paradise”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This place is amázing! Wish I could have stayed longer...

Spend 5 days in tropical paradise. A mix of clear water streams, rainforrest, Colibris humming around, threetoed Sloths, relaxation and discovery, all combined with luxury in a back to basic style. Just loved it.

The owners are very friendly and helpful too. They helped me arrange some nice trips and also did a waterfall repelling tour. Great stuff. Not to be forgotten, they serve some very good meals.

As far as the housing is concerned... They call it a tent, but it might as well have been a fancy bungalow. The set-up is unique. Enough privacy as far as views and sounds (can) go, no problems with insects and still enjoying nights among jungle life. If you appreciate nature, what more could you ask for... Oh, I know. A return back there some day ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
120
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The accommodation is 5 kms from the noisy main road so really quiet. The only noise is made by the birds, the monkeys and the rapids in front. Really in the middle of nature. The owner gives you a warm welcom and is very helpfull in planning and arranging your trips. He arraged a whale and dolphin trip which was excellent and the price was substantally lower then booked directly by the "nominated" touroperators. We got a nice tip for lunch after the tour (restaurant Leonard at Tortuga Beach).
The whole accommodation is limited to a number of villa-like tents with a fully equipped bathroom and three room in the entrance building.
We especcially booked a room instead of a tent. The room was not too spacey, but very clean with a nice (and spacey) bathroom and porch. We had a beautiful view over the valley.
The breakfast was very good. Enough and very tasty. Also the snacks which were served were very good and the price is not an issue!
It is a pity that you have to go elsewhere for your diner, but also in this respect the owner was very helpfull. It also gives opportunities you would't like to miss!! In Ojochal we have found a few more than excellent restaurants. We visited the Citrus restaurant and we beleive we had here among the best food in four weeks Costa Rica. The whole entourage and quality is so top you won't expect here.
Close to Rio Tico you will find your natural spa: rapids and a watterfall were you can cool off.
In brief: we have had a very relaxed and comfortable stay in the Rio Tico Safari Logde. We really were guests. Therefore thanks to Cees, Miranda and their staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schellinkhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

First of all, Rio Tico is a lodge where you stay in tents instead of cabins, but they feel more spacious then the average cabin. The shower outside the tent was very nice and the view from the terrace really lovely.

The owners succeeded in creating a little gem which brings you close to nature. They are really friendly, helpful and the lodge's value for money is really, really perfect. The owners also booked us a trip to Corcovado even though their preferred company wasn't available the next day.

The lodge doesn't have a pool, but the natural pools in the small river really make up for that (see the movie on their website). If you're in for a really good meal, try Exotica in the neighbouring village Ojochal.

Room Tip: Any tent in the lower area is really perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaVaGeNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I’ve been out and about a bit in the world, but I believe Rio Tico Safari Lodge is definitely a gem among its peers! It’s located beautifully and secluded about 4 km from the main road that runs along the south-west Pacific Ocean coast, and is half hidden in the jungle. One has the option to sleep either in a luxurious African tent or in the hotel itself. Don’t let you fool by the tents: These are all luxurious with ample space inside, where you can stand-up straight normally, each has its own bathroom facilities and a private balcony/terrace, where you can enjoy the beautiful natural surroundings, including listening to the water of the river and the small waterfalls below you. The owners really have succeeded in creating a very personal and relaxed atmosphere in this little paradise. They are multi-lingual in at least three languages, which is quite handy. To me, it was a perfect place to relax e.g. sitting in one of the waterfalls, reading or sleeping a bit in my hammock, or lessen my thirst with a refreshing and home-made smoothie that includes bananas from the property. When I wanted to be more active, I went for a hike through the jungle where I saw various animals, did some tree-top canopying in the area, or went on a boat trip from Sierpe along the winding river with mangrove shores (I saw some crocs and a snake too) to the Cano island for some snorkelling (or scuba diving if you like). I was pleasantly surprised to see some very great restaurants in the area, some of them I tried: suburb food in great locations and atmosphere!I found Rio Tico is not only the perfect hideaway if you want to be alone, it’s a great place for a romantic get-away too and even for a family with small children it’s a great place to be. Needless to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the very kind hospitality of the owners Cees and Miranda and their staff, and was sadden that I had to leave to go back home.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKlein020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Did you ever dream to sleep like Maryl Streep and Robert Redford? Come to Rio Tico Lodge! Here you will find very nice and comfortable safari tents, with very comfortable kingsize beds. The dutch owners take care of your stay. There is a nice breakfast with fruit and eggs available. Many hummingbirds are ins the garden and also you can watch tucans near by. There is a waterfall near by and you can have a fresh bath inside a natural pool. The lodge is quite new and you can´t find it in any guide book. That´s why there is so much silence and peace - you will find a really nice place! There are some more informations at our home page, search "Wehr-Reinhold & Costa Rica". You´re invited to have a look.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfram W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is truly paradise in the jungle, near the Pacific coast, just south of Uvita. If you want to escape the crowds, sleep among the sounds of the jungle in a comfortable and luxurious safari tent, wake up under the onsite waterfall, gaze at toucans, monkeys, giant morpho butterflies from your balcony, and experience some amazing and sincere hospitality, this is your place. You get all this for a very affordable price. Without doubt our highlight of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at Rio Tico for the Christmas days and it was perfect. The tents are very luxurious and you really feel part of the jungle. Cees and Miranda will do everything to help you to make the most of your stay. We were only here for 3 days and we were sad to leave.From here you can visit Corcovado, Cano Island etc and of course the nearby NP Marina Ballena. At Rio Tico, you'll get everything you expect and more! Miranda makes very good hummus sandwiches! (and other nice things to eat/ drink)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasmarijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osa Peninsula
2.2 mi away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 4 in Ojochal
208 reviews
13.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
7.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ojochal
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Gaia
Hotel Villas Gaia
#1 of 1 in Playa Tortuga
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Tico Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tico Safari Lodge

Property: Rio Tico Safari Lodge
Address: Vergel de Punta Mala | Canton de Osa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Osa Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rio Tico Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica lies the Costa Ballena and our unique hotel, The Rio Tico Safari Lodge. Our ninge Safari Tents offer a direct experience with a Costa Rican tropical rainforest and will unite you with the natural bounty of Costa Rica. Here in the virgin rainforest, you will awaken every morning to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rio Tico Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Tico Safari Lodge Costa Rica/Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing