We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem in the Osa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buena Esperanza

Buena Esperanza
Ranked #29 of 55 Restaurants in Osa Peninsula
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little gem in the Osa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Buena Esperanza is a small bar/restaurant on the road to Matapalo with good food and friendly staff. We ate lunch there and at the fancy hotel up the road on consecutive days, and would keep going back to Buena Esperanza. They host a local artisans market on Friday nights which we enjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Funky, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had 2 good meals at Buena Esperanza. It has a very laid back and friendly vibe. The location is remote, so the menu changes nightly (one night is burger night, one night pizza night, etc...) There is a local artisan fair every Friday night that is relatively small but fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Living_outdoors_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal Touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was a quiet night and the owner came over to talk for a while, which was just so comfortable and pleasant. Her cook whipped up a great vegan salad for my picky teen, not a menu item.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GiantSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

great atmosphere, good food, pleasant bartenders, and it's the only bar out in the Matapalo area! Loved the open air concept and the Friday night market.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddzwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

for a good local dinner we walked here in the evening (remember to bring your flashlights!!) from our house casa pina (near casa bambu) there were a few offers for dinner (one chicken dish one fish dish and one beef dish) and full bar the food was fabulous and the open air setting, lovely (and still warm, this being dry season)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwdnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Esperanza also viewed

 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Puerto Jimenez, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Buena Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing