We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vista Drake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$99
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$585
$567
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
$415
$392
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Luna Lodge(Carate)
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Jimenez(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
100
29
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
29
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis brotherdelicious breakfast every morningplace to staysea viewreception arearooms are cleannight touremiliobaybungalowhammockssierpeboattourslodgedrakenets
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 139 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed here for 7 nights. Emilio the owner takes care of you like a charm. Food is good and the view from the huts on the hill is amazing.

On the other hand if you are afraid of insects, you should look for a different acomedetion.

PS: The Termite infestation described in other posts, has been taken care of.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank greenbird133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here during 4 days in a nice room at a top of small hill with great view on the bay. Very recommended. It is possible to walk around in different directions to see the nature, not spoiled (yet) by people.
One day and night we spent in Paraiso Verde, far inside of Osa Peninsula. It's a great opportunity to nature lovers to see animals and plants.
Thanks a lot to Emilio (the owner of Vista Drake), Elbert (guide) and Alfredo (the owner of Paraiso Verde)!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex-Al-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we arrived to Drake Bay, with my sister we checked the offering of almost all the tourist agencies there. At the end we decided to book the next three days with Vista Drake and we can highly recommend them.
We made a daily trip to Corcovado. The trip started at 5am, an hour earlier than all the other agencies...sounds early but is the best time to see animals and we saw a lot. I am still amazed how well Elbert, our guide, knows the flora and the fauna in the area and he is so passionate about his job....respect!!! Without him we were not going to be able to see so many things.

We also made an overnight tour to Paradiso Verde... A place in the middle of the rainforest with the best host ever, Alfredo. You will not find it in any guide book and it is for sure something different. I liked it a lot and if one day I go back to Costa Rica I would like to go there again!!!

On day 3 we made snorkeling... for the first time. Nice place to do it!!! Just don't forget to put sun cream with higher UV factor ;-))))

Thanks guys for the great time we had there!!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Vihra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked a room with a balcony, but unfortunately, following an invasion of termites we were given a room above the main reception area. It was clean, but rather lacking in privacy as the sound insulation was not good. However, our host, Emilio, was wonderful and had organised an early morning trip into Corcovado with an excellent guide, Elbert, who was passionate about "his" forest and extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and vegetation. He also had a great sense of humour. Drake Bay itself is absolutely beautiful and as yet unspoilt. It is worth staying in the village rather than at one of the more expensive eco lodges, as after dark they are rather cut off. Emilio arranged our transfers to and from the Drake Bay airstrip and recommended an excellent trail around the Bay on the afternoon of our arrival. All in all, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the cabins rather than a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have to state here at the start that we took a bus from San Jose down to Palmar, but accidentally traveled past Palmar and got of at a town of Golfito. We had our room booked for the night at drake bay already and diving for the next morning so we were in trouble. We went straight to nearest bar were the bartender spoke english, since we don't speak spanish, and asked to call to Vista Drake Lodge. He did and we spoke with the owner Emilio who arranged us an alternative route to Drake Bay. Instead of going via Sierpe as originally planned we took a speed boat from Golfito to Puerto Jimenez from where Emilio had arranged a taxi for us to a town of La Palma. From there we took a bus to Drake Bay and arrived shortly after the sun went down. But we made it.

Emilio, and the rest of the staff, was very kind and helpful the whole of our 4 night stay. He took care of booking diving, snorkeling, kayaking, trekking and horseback riding trips as well as pointers to where to eat and such. The room was on top of the yard and kitchen and the walls were very thin so we missed no sounds. For us though this was no problem because we basically just slept there. In the room was 1 double bed wiht a mosquito net, 2 fans, 2 chairs and a bathroom with hot shower. Basically all necessities. Emilio also let me charge my camera from his computer and borrowed us an adapter for our Scandinavian electric plug.

Breakfast was included every day with coffee, juice, water, fruits, rice+beans, and pancakes or fried eggs and toast.

We really enjoyed our stay and I recommend this for everyone who travel with backpacks and don't care about champagne and room service. Location is also quite nice. It is not on the beach but only a minute walk from there. As some other cheaper accommodations were a bit farther inland.

Regards: Matti

Room Tip: Ours was in the main house, but in the pictures you can see some balconies and views. Ask for one of those separately.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diqpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews