We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ambiance, and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel El Tajalin to your Saves list
Hotel El Tajalin
Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, ambiance, and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here with a group of about 10 friends during a study abroad trip and we all had a great experience here. We booked three different rooms, and while 2 of the rooms had a ceiling fan and felt great, my room did not and we were melting. They say they have A/C but it was cooler to keep the windows open. If we had a fan it would have been perfect because it was a large room, great value for the $

The location is great- by a park and a 1 minute walk to a secluded part of the beach and a jungle walking trail. It's right on the main strip with all of the restaurants. Has a nice lounge area on the top with hammocks and was good for meeting people and hanging out as a group. Has a jungle/treehouse vibe too which was cool! They also take credit cards which is often rare in the country, and gave good restaurant recommendations too. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

First of all I would recommend to go to and stay in Santa Teresa (approx. 30 Minutes away from Montezuma). Montezuma is really small and maybe okay for a one day trip but I really do not understand the hype around this village (maybe it was "in" 20 years ago but I think that's over). The beaches are so much nicer in and around Santa Teresa, long white-sanded beaches as in a catalogue. Food and accomocation in Montezuma are over priced, Hotel Santana was okay but pretty old furniture, airconditioning was too loud and our private bathroom was in a separate room (at least on the same level). I just regret that we didn't stay in Santa Teresa instead of Montezuma (change of booking was unfortunately not possible anymore because of Easter week - everything was full).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We just left Montezuma after two weeks at El Tajalin. I am normally a bit of a hotel snob but for the price that we paid Hotel El Tajalin exceed our expectations. The hotel staff, Gabriel, Jeremy, Dennis, Gina, and the rest were awesome. Very helpful, courteous and really enhanced our Montezuma experience. The upstairs common space is great. A couple of nits... The kitchen could use some updating, silverware, new pots and pans, etc to make cooking and eating in easier. Fixing the fans upstairs would also be great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked in for 4 days at this place they call a hotel should be a hostel and for the money you pay you can get a cleaner and nicer room and a swimming pool just round the corner.! We spent the evening out having a meal and when we got back to the hotel there safe number had been changed and the bathroom door was locked from the inside so someone must or been in the room.! As well as the bedbugs in the dirty bed (booked out the next morning)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redeye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked here for 4 nights and paid upfront! As soon as we saw the room we immediately changed our minds, it was expensive, dirty and the room stunk really bad! We demanded a refund which didn't go down well! Eventually we agreed on staying 1 nite and had the rest refunded! We decided 2 go out 4 dinner and wen we got back the bathroom door was locked?! Also the combination 4 the safe had been changed?! Not feeling very safe, some1 had definitely been in our room!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_El_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Karen,

I appreciate your review because if nothing else, it helps us evaluate how to deal with adverse situations and I feel I handled this badly when we spoke on your way out. I apologize for not just listening and understanding your point of view but to be honest, I felt insulted.

You eventually said you did not like the price you had agreed to, even though you chose a family room for just a couple. The price is higher than our standard rooms because it is much larger and has 2 additional beds (although still $20 less than all neighboring hotels with 3 bed family rooms and A/C). I agree that that was not the room for you. But when you said you didn't like the room because it smelled (which it does not) and we showed you another room of equal size and amenities, you then said that room was too dark (there are 4 ceiling lights, 2 lamps and 2 windows, so I don't believe that is the case either). At that point, it was obvious that you just wanted out. We gave you a refund for the final three nights to allow you to move to where you could be more comfortable. No worries.

Next time in this type of situation, it's best to just be honest and things will go more smoothly. But to insult and offend and now to continue slandering us because you reserved a room that wasn't right for you is unfair. I hope you can learn from this as well and treat your next adverse situation with better communication and sincerity. Best of luck to you and your traveling partner in all future endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Central location. We arrived late after 12 hours of traveling. It was cheap but the room we stayed in was very poor so we left again the next day and moved to a different hotel. Get what you pay for I guess !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bouile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The cleaners were lovely and so welcoming. They were so good at their job and had a wonderful way with towels!(the elephant sculpture out of the towel was the best!) the reception staff were lovely as well! Overall a very nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EilidhElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Property: Hotel El Tajalin
Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing