We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at!”
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Tajalin
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked here for 4 nights and paid upfront! As soon as we saw the room we immediately changed our minds, it was expensive, dirty and the room stunk really bad! We demanded a refund which didn't go down well! Eventually we agreed on staying 1 nite and had the rest refunded! We decided 2 go out 4 dinner and wen we got back the bathroom door was locked?! Also the combination 4 the safe had been changed?! Not feeling very safe, some1 had definitely been in our room!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_El_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Karen,

I appreciate your review because if nothing else, it helps us evaluate how to deal with adverse situations and I feel I handled this badly when we spoke on your way out. I apologize for not just listening and understanding your point of view but to be honest, I felt insulted.

You eventually said you did not like the price you had agreed to, even though you chose a family room for just a couple. The price is higher than our standard rooms because it is much larger and has 2 additional beds (although still $20 less than all neighboring hotels with 3 bed family rooms and A/C). I agree that that was not the room for you. But when you said you didn't like the room because it smelled (which it does not) and we showed you another room of equal size and amenities, you then said that room was too dark (there are 4 ceiling lights, 2 lamps and 2 windows, so I don't believe that is the case either). At that point, it was obvious that you just wanted out. We gave you a refund for the final three nights to allow you to move to where you could be more comfortable. No worries.

Next time in this type of situation, it's best to just be honest and things will go more smoothly. But to insult and offend and now to continue slandering us because you reserved a room that wasn't right for you is unfair. I hope you can learn from this as well and treat your next adverse situation with better communication and sincerity. Best of luck to you and your traveling partner in all future endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Central location. We arrived late after 12 hours of traveling. It was cheap but the room we stayed in was very poor so we left again the next day and moved to a different hotel. Get what you pay for I guess !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The cleaners were lovely and so welcoming. They were so good at their job and had a wonderful way with towels!(the elephant sculpture out of the towel was the best!) the reception staff were lovely as well! Overall a very nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilidhElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel helped make the trip to Montezuma and was the favorite one I stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Centrally located and quiet, it had a/c, private baths and very reliable hot water. During the few moments we weren't hiking, surfing, or sitting on the beach - we enjoyed reading and napping in the hammocks on the huge top floor lounge. The kitchen was useful (and clean) when we took a break from eating at the great restaurants (all within a block or two). Mix that in with the fun and friendly people from La Escuela Del Sol and you can see why I'm coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PdxRyRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

People at the reception were very nice and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. Hotel overall feels like home. Breakfast is not offered but you have some options nearby. They offer yoga class but only if bought as a package for an entire week. No noise, locatef near the beach. Maybe it was also the great and exceptional atmosphere of Montezuma which made our stay soooo awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nammich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We recently stayed four nights at the El Tajalin. Our "superior room" was spacious and everything was in good order: a/c, fly screens, hot water, safety deposit box. Sadly the internet was a little slow, was OK to do e-mail, but too slow for e.g. YouTube.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the communal areas much, but we noticed that the kitchen was clean and there were spacious areas for everyone to use.

The location is good, too. Close to the beach and the village, with a small park out front.

We'd go back there any time.

Room Tip: If you spend the extra buck, you'll get a nicer room. Ours was towards the front with the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Tajalin. The location is ideal, as it is off the main street
up a driveway, located next to the public park. The park is very quiet and shields the hotel from the bustle of the village. Everything is within a one minute walk. I felt very safe, as there are
security people at night and the reception staff was very nice. The hotel is quiet and my room was very large, beautiful wood floors in the room and throughout the hotel. The large tiled shower does not have hot water.The room is comfortable and very clean. It is a hotel without amenities or lobby area . If you want to sleep there only, this is the hotel. For the price it was a very good value. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmpfeiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: $30 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Tajalin 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with a fully equipped kitchen for guests and cable-TV. VISA and MASTERC CARD accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing