We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Tajalin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Tajalin
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

Very: clean, friendly, safe, quiet, close to the beach. If that weren't enough, the balcony is huge and lined with hammocks and has coffee ready to go right away in the morning. The hardwood floors are beautiful, too.

If you are looking for a resort, this (really Montezuma at all) is not the place for you... it's not a place with frills. But if you are looking for a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay in Montezuma, definitely check it out.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfeHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

This hotel has a great location, downtown and close to the beach. The rooms are clean, the staff are extremely friendly and most nights there is a security guard on duty.

At 8 a.m. fresh coffee on a balcony with hammocks and lunge chairs is provided.

Good for couples, families, and groups.

Best place to stay if you are looking for a moderately priced, clean hotel, with a prime location!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, and the great location.
  • Disliked — The balcony is only open until 10 p.m.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColoRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

I had just left a 10 day tour with 44 people @ 4-5 star hotels and decided to stay extra days alone in Montezuma. I contacted them by email after finding them in a tour book. I paid $55 cash colones for a 5% discount over credit card prices during high season (Feb.) . It had been recommended to get a second floor room but they were more expensive but I had a big room, very sparse, looking at the park out my window that had many iguanas in the trees. It didn't seem to have hot water but since it was so hot I didn't feel the need for it. I loved the location, which I was originally worried about since it was only a few yards from the busy downtown (small 3 block area). But I found it very quiet at night and convenient to a beautiful beach, rest., stores, tour companies, all 5 minute walking distance. Since I'm a senior, I noticed other seniors also staying in this hotel. The staff was very helpful with helping make other reservations for me. The balcony was lovely and breezy. When at the hotel I spent my time there instead of my room when not out and about. Free coffee in the morning on the balcony was very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

We booked our stay in Costa Rica very late and during the highest season..... So all the beautiful hotels were already fully booked. So we came to El Tajalin. This hotel has got a nice and helpful staff. The rooms are clean but we had an room in the groundfloor with a window pointing to a wall, so it was only good to leave our bags in, to sleep and have a shower. The room was quite spacious, but very dark. In the 2nd floor are much nicer, brighter rooms available. There is no breakfast included, but on the top of the builing is a nice terrace for all the guests with hammocks, vans and free coffee. As we paied only 60 US Dollars per night, we were not expecting to much.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simserl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Property: Hotel El Tajalin
Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing