We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it so much after a one night stay we came back for 6 more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Ranked #5 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We liked it so much after a one night stay we came back for 6 more!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Every once in a while we come upon a place we can't seem to get enough of. This is what happened to us during a recent visit to Costa Rica. Mariposario B&B was recommended to us by some friends in Canada and when we arrived in Montezuma one evening we went to see is there was a room available. Being low season we were offered any one of the the three rooms they had available and we opted for the blue room, quite adequate for our needs. Small balcony overlooking the butterfly gardens, aircon, wifi, clean and quiet. Josh and Pauline are American with excellent command of Spanish and made us feel right at home. Pauline is passionate about the butterflies and couldn't wait to tour us around their butterfly gardens on the property. We had a very pleasant stay and a delicious breakfast served up by volunteers, Kenzie and Carlos but had to leave for Santa Teresa that day. After a few days there decided we wanted to explore more of the Montezuma area and booked 3 nights at the Mariposario which turned into 6. We just could not get enough of the area and the folks at the B&B were so accommodating we found it hard to leave. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It began with me asking Josh what would be the best way for getting from Monteverde to Montezuma with only using public transportation. On the same day he replied with a detailed description of the route. With that we were able to get to Montezuma without any problems and also save some good money compared to the shuttle.
Throughout our stay the whole staff was always very helpful. They had a whole load of tips that helped us visit the best spots in Montezuma and see a lot of wildlife. The wildlife begins in front of the balcony, where sometimes a group of monkeys visits the nearby trees.
The breakfast was the best I had in Costa Rica. The dishes were changing everyday and were always really really good.
The rooms were very clean, in excellent condition and tastefully decorated. The air conditioning made for a pleasent climate inside the room.
The only negative point I have about the Mariposario is the location as it is quite high up the hill and it is quite tiring to get there from the central part of Montezuma. Taxis are available, but if you go there multiple times per day the costs sum up. On the other hand the location guarantees for some great nature just outside of the door.
The best stay we had in Costa Rica was in Montezuma and the Mariposario B&B really helped making it so good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergej1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stopped in to check out the butterfly garden. This is located right uphill from town, which is great for those looking to get lost in paradise away from shops etc yet still be close enough to the amenities. The butterfly garden a peacefully beautiful place, filled with native plants and an abundance of winged creatures. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Gorgeous handmade necklaces are available for purchase and created by one of the owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our stay at the Mariposario Montezuma Gardens was wonderful. This is a lovely family run BnB. I was traveling with my young adult son who is 27 and we both felt more than comfortable there. We were welcomed by warm and friendly staff members such as Ivan. We were given a lovely room with a hot shower, great advice, books to borrow and the best breakfasts we had in Costa Rica. We saw a howler monkey family up close right near the BnB and Paulina came to find us when she saw the white faced monkeys nearby because she knew we were interested in the wildlife.We were given the tour of the Mariposario ( butterfly garden ). Paulina is so excited about her project. We learned a lot about raising butterflies. We also were helped so much with reserving our next hotel and advice about Costa Rica in general. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: The rooms look nice in person. There are lovely details everywhere. We had the green room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Mariposario Gardens in Montezuma is a wonderful place to stay. We felt so welcome that we didn't want to leave. The people here are kind, enthusiastic and so very helpful. The B&B offers a work-exchange program, so you will find lovely young people working here. If you are looking for a genuine eco-friendly hostel with all the amenities, look no further. There are private rooms beautifully decorated, with A/C, digital TV, and comfortable bathrooms. Breakfast is included every morning, and it's SO delicious. Try the french toast! The coffee is actually excellent, unlike most typical hotels in Costa Rica. Josh and Pauline are wonderful people who run this place with love. There is a huge butterfly garden here where you can see lots of butterflys. The price per night is really much lower than they could charge. There is craft micro-brewed beer available, which is delicious. Laundry can also be done here for a small fee.

The B&B is up on a huge hill, so be prepared to walk up and down to get to town. But you will be glad to be staying above the town. Howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys typically frequent the patio area. Our stay here was magical, and I would recommend it to anyone for genuine, kind-hearted people with lots of advice about the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxShores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent five nights here, and wish it could have been twice that long: The very efficient and extremely hospitable staff made us feel like we were at home in a family atmosphere; the room was nice, with a comfortable bed, air conditioning, and balcony; the jungle and wildlife was at our fingertips; the nearby village was quaint and relaxing, with good restaurants shops, and a pastoral beach; the butterfly garden that's owned by the B&B was beautiful; the breakfasts were very tasty. Saw Howler and Whiteface monkeys, myriad birds, and multiple other species. Nothing about our stay was anything but exemplary. Cannot recommend Montezuma Gardens highly enough, and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We began our 3 month trip to the area with a one month stay at Mariposario. We were in the purple room with the huge balcony. After a few days I remarked to Michael that we really had not seen much wildlife. I looked to my left, and right next to us, a howler was stretched full length, eating leaves off of a tree. The rest of the troop was in the tree and the male way down, guarding his females. From then on, howlers and white faced monkeys were always around to charm. Also incredible birds that Ryan and Josh knew all the names of. As well as the trees, the spiders, the lizards. The staff, Alice and Adrianna were dreams. The food that Perla and Melba cooked, incredibly prepared and enough to feed an army. All Costa Rican treats like tamarindo juice and pancakes made from Yuccas, special syrups. And some of the best people stayed there. I have three dazzling friends on fb-- one from Sweden, one from Long Island and one from Philadelphia. Terrific people ==we yacked for hours--interesting and just wonderful.. They gravitate here. The butterfly garden to keep species going...As far as a B&B, great!!!! And as far as activities I absolutely recommend the Tortuga Island snorkeling. If the water is clear, and it is not windy, worth every cent. The staff helped me get my card back that had been eaten by the ATM, they called taxis, they recommended beaches and restaurants. Josh is so calm, so knowledgeable...ask him about anything. Also the sunrises are incredible...not to be missed because the howler monkeys begin with their howling at sunrise. But, heck, you're in the jungle. What could be better?

Room Tip: The purple room with the huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontwantprofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#3 of 27 in Montezuma
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Property: Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Address: Las Delicias de Cobano de Puntarenas, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens and Butterfly Brewing Co. A lovely B&B, micro-brewery, butterfly garden, bar and restaurant in the jungle. We are located 1.6 km from Montezuma center at the entrance to the upper waterfall trail. The location is not right in town but in a tranquil area surrounded by mountain jungle. The road to the Mariposario is very steep but you do not need a 4x4 car to arrive here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing