We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Ranked #5 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not for everyone”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We visited Costa Rica for nine days in July, three of which we spent in Montezuma. After checking Trip Advisor we booked three nights at Montezuma Gardens. The B&B is owned by a couple of brothers who seem to be in their mid-20s. It is run by them and a woman of similar age. A one- or two-year old toddler is also in residence. Our hosts were very friendly and hospitable. Nonetheless, we cut our stay short and changed hotels for the remainder of our time in Montezuma.

The rooms were small, basic and extremely spartan. The common area was decorated and maintained in a way that you would expect from recent college grads. I will add that the breakfasts were quite good!

While Montezuma Gardens wasn't what we were looking for, I do recommend it for visitors to Montezuma with ages and tastes similar to the hosts. I think guests with appropriate expectations will find their stay quite enjoyable.

  • Liked — The breakfasts and the staff - everyone was very nice.
  • Disliked — Not quite as clean as we're used to, didn't quite look like the pictures on the hotel website.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
86
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We planned on staying at Montezuma Gardens for two nights and ended up staying for six, and we missed it as soon as we left! This was by far the nicest place we stayed on our trip, and the best deal. Montezuma Gardens took the prize for most hospitable people, the nicest rooms, best breakfast. Everything was super clean and comfortable, and the common area and kitchen provided great opportunities to hang out and chat with other guests and the guys who own the place. The owners are very personable, we felt as though we were staying with friends. They are also endlessly knowledgeable and put up with a ton of questions about everything from the plants to the best pizza in town. While it is a bit of a hike up the hill, it is totally doable and well worth it to be out of the fray. The butterfly garden is gorgeous, the grounds well maintained, the path to the waterfalls is super convenient, I think we went every day. I have recommended this place to everyone I know, and can not wait to get back myself!

  • Liked — Awesome people, beautiful location
  • Disliked — Eventually had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank a-rizzle926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I recently stayed at Montezuma Gardens with a three other friends, and we all had a fantastic time. The rooms are bright, clean, and have all the comforts of home, including air conditioning, and satellite tv. What makes the B&B particularly charming, however, is the family that owns and runs it.

The B&B is normally run by two brothers from the States (west coast), but while we were there, their mother was also in town. They were all extremely friendly, and helpful. The younger of the two brothers (who has an adorable daughter you may be lucky enough to see) took us to a waterfall nearby that was great for swimming and lounging around. He gave us a very informed tour of their butterfly garden, and even helped whack open our coconuts with his machete. The older brother invited us all downtown to dinner and a movie.

The house (and it is an actual house) is nestled in thick trees and flowers, and has a wrap around porch where we took breakfast. (Breakfast was also amazing, including fresh fruit, eggs, gallo pinto, toast and fresh juices.) Nature was omnipresent, and yet there was not a single insect in our rooms.
On our last day, seven white faced monkeys came up to the deck and ate the bananas we put out for them-- pretty darn cool!

Be warned that the B&B is up a very steep hill, but the walk is pleasant (downhill), and its easy enough to catch a cab back up.

Overall, I would highly recommend Montezuma Gardens to any one interested in a unique and engaging stay. If you are into resorts and impersonal staff, stay at Ylang Ylang. But for comfort and access to a more 'custom' experience, Montezuma Gardens is the way to go.

Note: Also interesting is their work/stay program, whereby for $200 a month and a 20 hr/wk work commitment, one person can stay at the B&B to help take care of the butterflies.

  • Liked — Super friendly owners
  • Disliked — Uphill walk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bankingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stumbled on Montezuma Gardens when I waited too long to make high season reservations at the places in town that I had recommendations for. Found it here on TripAdvisor. A lovely place run by the two brothers Josh and Ryan. Their mom Mary is also a partner in the business and happened to be down at the same time we stayed there. 4 very nice bright clean rooms - ours had a balcony with rocking chairs and an ocean view. Hot showers, good bathrooms. WiFi. Great main floor balcony where breakfast was served, top notch local coffee. We could sit there reading for hours.

We stayed 5 nights and it was great fun to wander into the butterfly garden some time each day. Lovely landscaping. There is a trail directly from the property off to the famous Montezuma waterfalls, and you can get to the 15 ft and the 40 footers without the standard hassle of the trail from town. Waterfall jumping was one the highlights of my sons' Costa Rica experience.

Josh and Ryan were a font of local information, from local trails to restaurants to driving routes out of town. They and their staff were helpful in all kinds of ways, from laundry, to internet connections, and tape to fix a camera problem. In a happy accident, another dad and two sons were staying there, and he was an enthusiastic cook, so by the time we left everyone, guests and staff together, was making and sharing big group dinners on the balcony, surrounded by Costa Rican night jungle sounds. (Obviously, something you can't advertise in a brochure but it sure added to our trip)

One thing to note, it's not far from town, but quite a bit up the hill. A reasonable walk down and a stout walk back up. We pretty much drove it all the time and it wasn't an issue.

  • Liked — Small with great attention from the owners
  • Disliked — Up the hill from town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank COTallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Montezuma Butterfly Gardens is a very special guesthouse in the hills above Montezuma, Costa Rica. Two young American brothers have created a great place which includes a beautiful butterfly garden right on the property! The rooms are very nice with flat screen cable TVs, very nice bathrooms with hot water and two offer nice balconies overlooking the rainforest. All rooms have A/C. An excellent breakfast is included in the moderate price and is served outside on the lower balcony. One morning, a white-faced monkey jumped right on the deck rail to grab a banana. The Gardens are up a VERY steep hill above Montezuma and the Pacific Ocean. We are big time hikers and walked down most days and back up a few, but more often, grabbed a taxi back from town. You can also hike all thru the hills the other way from the Gardens. One of the best things about the Gardens is the "secret" path down the mountain to the awesome waterfalls and pool areas just below. Ask one of the guys to show you the way down your first time. This is not just your average hotel experience - but rather a really memorable stay!

  • Liked — Serenity and management
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Original Big Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow,ID
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

It's up the hill with a gorgeous view of the sea. It's bright, comfortable and very well run by two brothers who obviously love their work. A nights stay includes a terrific breakfast and a personal, knowledgeable tour of the butterfly garden.

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Idatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#10 of 18 in Montezuma
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Property: Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Address: Las Delicias de Cobano de Puntarenas, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens and Butterfly Brewing Co. A lovely B&B, micro-brewery, butterfly garden, bar and restaurant in the jungle. We are located 1.6 km from Montezuma center at the entrance to the upper waterfall trail. The location is not right in town but in a tranquil area surrounded by mountain jungle. The road to the Mariposario is very steep but you do not need a 4x4 car to arrive here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing