We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Ranked #6 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Montezuma Gardens is located in a quiet area just outside of town. It is about a 15 min walk to the upper waterfall and you don't have to hike up the hill to go there since the trail starts at the Mariposario. I walked up and down the hill every day and never ended up taking a taxi. I hiked 10 km in Cabo Blanco one day and then back up the hill. The staff ordered delivery pizza for me that night! They are very good to book tours if you want. The rooms are all very nice and air conditioned with ensuite. The showers have North American style taps which was nice. The breakfast was very good every day and there was a good variety of food served. Ryan and the staff were very friendly and I felt at home there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The view from the breakfast area is great so I was okay with not having a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearlington, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the best place to stay in Costa Rica. People are very nice and very helpful.
One of the best thing in this place? THE BREAKFAST, they will give you one big bowl of all kind fruits which it's really good.
I wish we could go back again soon, it's just too expensive to go vacation.
Very close to the waterfall..
For sure we wanna go back one day..
Thanks a lot...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwetezlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for most of a week at at the Mariposaria, and loved it. Ryan was a very down-to-earth and helpful host, with detailed knowledge about the area, attractions, transportation. The B & B has four guest rooms, all comfortable, clean and private, each with a private bath. The first floor terrace where breakfast was served was a beautiful, breezy space overlooking their grounds, with a small glimpse of the ocean. Breakfasts were delicious, and for a nominal additional fee, and with notice the cook, lunch was available, and was some of the best food we ate while in the area. Ryan brews his own beer, with a limited supply available to guests-- and easily the best beer in the country.

They are located a short distance above and away from Montezuma's nightlife--a plus for us, but close enough for anyone to take part in town action, if they wish. We braved the hike up the hill to the lodge each day, but others will opt for a cheap cab rides from the town. A short hike from the B & B is the waterfall that everyone visiting the area hears about. We dove in the pool and swung from the rope swing, and hung out in the cool oasis.

If we visit Montezuma again the Mariposario will be our first choice for lodgings.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place; one or two of the four have a private balcony, but there's ample ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSherpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had such a great time with the guys and gals at the Mariposario last December. They were just the best. Ryan and his staff greeted us in the middle of the night and ordered us some Pizza. I would also check out their beers they brew there. After a few days of Imperial beer, the only beer in Costa Rica on the West side, it was refreshing to have a taste of there brew :) I will be taking some students in December for a photo trip and we shall be staying here for sure :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchbroadimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days and nights here and on our final morning did not want to leave.
The location was spectacular, away from the hustle and bustle of the town perched up on a hill overlooking a butterfly garden and a canopy of trees with monkeys and birds. This was the view from our room and from the eating area where delicious, nutritious breakfasts were served daily. We also had free use of the kitchen after 2 pm, although we usually ate out at local restaurants which were excellent, like Sano Banano. It is a short walk from the b+b to a beautiful waterfall.
We enjoyed it all! We even did the zip lining a short walk up the hill, as well as horseback riding along the beach.
The staff was extremely helpful in booking tours and suggesting restaurants. We hooked up with some of the other people staying at this b+b, and went to see the Superbowl game in a local town where a Costa Rican lady cooked us up an awesome dinner (casado). We enjoyed drinks and dinner and it felt like we were in someone's living room watching the game with fellow Canadians and Americans. Thanks to Ryan who runs Mariposeria, for including us in the Superbowl celebration. You sure don't receive this kind of personal service in a hotel setting!
Finally, the room was clean with fresh towels and linen, and a comfortable bed.
10/10! I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony ( worth the few extra dollars).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were very happy to find a clean and reasonably priced room in Montezuma and can highly recommend Mariposario. As raw foodists, we were especially happy to be able to store some fresh fruits and veggies in their fridge and even make our own salad at night with no problems. It is quiet and away from the traffic that you hear in the center of town but close enough to everything. The owner is very helpful and spent a lot of time giving us tips for what to explore in the area. Thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Walk up to the Anamaya next door and use their far infrared sauna for $10 pp - and enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience at Mariposario Montezuma Gardens. The staff was helpful and respectful. We were able to speak by email prior to arrival, which was reassuring. The best and most memorable part were breakfasts on the balcony. Hummingbirds and butterflies within your arms reach, funny white-faced monkey whom we liked to feed bananas, peaceful atmosphere and a nice breeze were a great compliment to the delicious meals and some great coffee we were served every morning. Our room was clean. We ended up using AC because it was somewhat hot and humid in our room on the second floor.
The hotel is located in a peaceful, quiet place away from the loud Montezuma night life. You do have to walk uphill for a while to get there, which was a factor we had to consider when we were making plans for the day. We would try to plan our day so that we wouldn't have to walk back to the hotel more then twice a day. The walk soon became a welcome exercise, however, as we were doing some serious overeating every day (we had some of the best seafood in Montezuma).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZ&M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Property: Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Address: Las Delicias de Cobano de Puntarenas, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens and Butterfly Brewing Co. A lovely B&B, micro-brewery, butterfly garden, bar and restaurant in the jungle. We are located 1.6 km from Montezuma center at the entrance to the upper waterfall trail. The location is not right in town but in a tranquil area surrounded by mountain jungle. The road to the Mariposario is very steep but you do not need a 4x4 car to arrive here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing