We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Ranked #5 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just awesome”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had such a great time with the guys and gals at the Mariposario last December. They were just the best. Ryan and his staff greeted us in the middle of the night and ordered us some Pizza. I would also check out their beers they brew there. After a few days of Imperial beer, the only beer in Costa Rica on the West side, it was refreshing to have a taste of there brew :) I will be taking some students in December for a photo trip and we shall be staying here for sure :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchbroadimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beeton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days and nights here and on our final morning did not want to leave.
The location was spectacular, away from the hustle and bustle of the town perched up on a hill overlooking a butterfly garden and a canopy of trees with monkeys and birds. This was the view from our room and from the eating area where delicious, nutritious breakfasts were served daily. We also had free use of the kitchen after 2 pm, although we usually ate out at local restaurants which were excellent, like Sano Banano. It is a short walk from the b+b to a beautiful waterfall.
We enjoyed it all! We even did the zip lining a short walk up the hill, as well as horseback riding along the beach.
The staff was extremely helpful in booking tours and suggesting restaurants. We hooked up with some of the other people staying at this b+b, and went to see the Superbowl game in a local town where a Costa Rican lady cooked us up an awesome dinner (casado). We enjoyed drinks and dinner and it felt like we were in someone's living room watching the game with fellow Canadians and Americans. Thanks to Ryan who runs Mariposeria, for including us in the Superbowl celebration. You sure don't receive this kind of personal service in a hotel setting!
Finally, the room was clean with fresh towels and linen, and a comfortable bed.
10/10! I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony ( worth the few extra dollars).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were very happy to find a clean and reasonably priced room in Montezuma and can highly recommend Mariposario. As raw foodists, we were especially happy to be able to store some fresh fruits and veggies in their fridge and even make our own salad at night with no problems. It is quiet and away from the traffic that you hear in the center of town but close enough to everything. The owner is very helpful and spent a lot of time giving us tips for what to explore in the area. Thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Walk up to the Anamaya next door and use their far infrared sauna for $10 pp - and enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience at Mariposario Montezuma Gardens. The staff was helpful and respectful. We were able to speak by email prior to arrival, which was reassuring. The best and most memorable part were breakfasts on the balcony. Hummingbirds and butterflies within your arms reach, funny white-faced monkey whom we liked to feed bananas, peaceful atmosphere and a nice breeze were a great compliment to the delicious meals and some great coffee we were served every morning. Our room was clean. We ended up using AC because it was somewhat hot and humid in our room on the second floor.
The hotel is located in a peaceful, quiet place away from the loud Montezuma night life. You do have to walk uphill for a while to get there, which was a factor we had to consider when we were making plans for the day. We would try to plan our day so that we wouldn't have to walk back to the hotel more then twice a day. The walk soon became a welcome exercise, however, as we were doing some serious overeating every day (we had some of the best seafood in Montezuma).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZ&M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our time at the Mariposario Montezuma Gardens. The rooms are fine - very simple - and you likely won't want to spend much time there just because there's so much to do around you. The common areas, delicious breakfasts on the balcony, and accessibility and friendliness of the staff makes this location feel more like hanging out with a bunch of friends rather than staying in a hotel. We actually spent New Year's Eve with some of the people we met either staying in or working for Montezuma Gardens. It's in a great location - right by the gorgeous waterfalls and swimming holes and close to town (although you have to walk up/down a very, very steep hill to get there).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days at the Mariposario and we really enjoyed our stay. The B&B is very homey and has a super happy and peaceful vibe. Ryan is a great host and answers any question about the town and what to do. Our stay was super relaxing, and the best part was the path to the waterfall nearby. Man, what a perk. To enjoy the waterfall for no cost was really a pleasure (especially after getting used to paying $50+ a day to enjoy the local scenery/attractions). At the waterfall theres a 40 foot jump, one which i would have never done had I not seen Ryan do it prior to ensure I would still be alive after!

To my title, the breakfast was so incredible. Every morning you are blessed with the fine dining of the Mariposario staff. Seriously the best most delicious breakfast. The meal always starts off with a medley of fresh fruits and followed by a delicious selection of pancakes and eggs, omeletes, or traditional tica style breakfast (eggs, rice/beans, plantains). MMmmMmMMmmmmMM thinking about it is making me hungry!

The one drawback to this place was the hill. The Mariposario is about 2km away from the center of the quaint town of Montezuma, and the hill down is no joke. Its very steep and is about a 15-20 min walk to the center of town. You can get a taxi for 2,000 colones a trip ($4 USD) but they tend to add up. We usually walked down and taxi'ed back up, so not too bad. All in all, wonderful place, great hosts, happy people, and super relaxed vibes. Definitely a great place to check out if you are looking to stay in wonderful Montezuma!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the "Morpho" Room for 4 nights during our 2 week stay in Costa Rica. Mariposario was an absolute "come-to-rest" stay for us!
Quick note before I go on: It has a laid-back B&B feel. No shoes, no shirt, no problem is the attitude. Some may not like this, but for most people visiting Montezuma i'm sure this is Pura Vida. For us, it certainly added to it.

We booked 2 surf and 2 yoga classes prior to arrival and booked the Tortuga Island tour the day on arrival. Everything went excellent! Our surf instructor was great, and Yoga was a great experience, done right on the B&B property! The boat tour was a full day and I highly recommend accommodating one day to this. Ryan the owner/operator can help you set everything up!

The room we stayed at (Morpho - blue room) was comfortable and the air condition was perfect. Sleeping without the A/C would have been a pain. The shower was hot and roomy and we really enjoyed having satelite TV. This sounds funny as you are on vacation but after having had an active first half of our vacation, we really enjoyed surfing in the morning, watching a movie in the cool room in the afternoon, reading a little and finishing the day with Yoga. It really relaxed us!

Breakfast was included and fantastic! Ryan starts off with a bowl or fruits and you will have a variation of eggs (or fantastic pancakes!) every morning. It is a quick drive into town (walking is a pain due to the steep hill it is on) where you will find a cozy laid-back village with excellent restaurants. Dont leave town without trying the authentic Gelato.

If its available when you are planning your trip - book it! You'll enjoy it.

Pura Vida.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony, you can dry your stuff and is very nice to sit & read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raytje01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 18 in Montezuma
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens

Property: Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens
Address: Las Delicias de Cobano de Puntarenas, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mariposario Montezuma Gardens and Butterfly Brewing Co. A lovely B&B, micro-brewery, butterfly garden, bar and restaurant in the jungle. We are located 1.6 km from Montezuma center at the entrance to the upper waterfall trail. The location is not right in town but in a tranquil area surrounded by mountain jungle. The road to the Mariposario is very steep but you do not need a 4x4 car to arrive here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing