We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, beautiful, impeccable, & quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This place is gorgeous! Simon & Patricia are kind and welcoming owners. The only down-side to our stay was that we didn't have longer to enjoy it! See their website http://www.playamontezuma.net/solyluna.htm for more pictures and details.

I have never stayed in a place that was better than the pictures suggested, but now I have. For as beautiful as their website makes it, it just can't capture the amazing sights and sounds. Our first morning we sat on the patio and ate breakfast while rain poured down and howler monkeys growled their welcome.

A word about planning--if we had it to do over again, we would start out from the Puntarenas ferry early in the day. While the roads aren't too bad, they're not much fun in the dark. Also give yourself time to pick up food, as it is 10-15 min drive to the nearest restaurants & groceries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sitzmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

There are two cottages on the grounds, both beautifully situated in a forest not far from the beach. We booked one for a three night stay and were very pleasantly surprised. Due to relatively low price we weren't expecting much but actually the quality of the cottages is very high. Comfy beds, bathroom, kitching, everything is thought through and as you would need it. Even a blender to make fresh fruit smoothies. The owners are particularly helpful and friendly as well. Underneath the trees surrounded by animals you truly feel in paradise. Lying in the hammock on the porch is just the best. highly recommended.

The drive to town is about 10 mins - personally think you need a car to get around and skip the local bus that apparently stops near the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

What a magical spot! Sol Y Luna is an amazing place to visit. The owners are thoughtful and kind- they are there if you need them with excellent suggestions, but give you space to be alone otherwise. The cottages are clean, beautiful, designed with an artist's hand, and private. Wildlife comes right up to your door- monkeys, lizards, etc... The hammoks on your porch are the best. Half way between busy/fun Montezuma and laid back/beautiful Cabuya. Helpful to rent ATVs or truck to get to around... The price is a total bargan ! Go visit them...

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobeltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

the owners are wonderful, the place is exotic and romantic perfect getaway,,

Stayed: July 2006
Thank osinbombin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

These cottages are in a small private garden.

If you sit on the varanda and read a book, the wildlife comes to you! - All of it.

we saw monkeys racoons butterflies frogs acouti - it just went on - all on the doorstep.

The owners Simon and Patricia are wonderful. They are helpful and knowledgeable of the area.

VERY clean, beautifully furnished and well equiped cottages. Two minutes walk to the beach

Cannot recommend enough - if you want to get away from it all this IS the place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catwoozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Miriam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Owner at Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros., responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
814 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#5 of 28 in Montezuma
100 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel bungalows SolyLuna los Almendros.

Address: Between Montezuma y Cabuya | Los Almendros, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SolyLuna are two cosy bungalows in a tropical garden with private bathroom and kitchen.We are 3 km from the town of Montezuma and 5km from the authentic reserve of Cabo Blanco. 3 minutes walk from the beach Los Cedros.Bungalows for lovers of quietness,naturaless and animals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing