We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A PIECE OF HEAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
Ranked #2 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A PIECE OF HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A place of peace and tranquility just away from the hustle of the main resort.Very high standard and very clean.The slightly elevated location meant a little cooler and much more comfortable.The owner was exceptionally helpful.We were pleased we stayed here rather than the very dusty and sometimes noisy resort front.Lovely open air breakfast area with wonderful views.

Room Tip: All were wonderful with balcony and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaz4caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Hotel of exceptional high standards.Away from the noise and heat of the centre of the resort.A place to relax either on your personal balcony or by the pool.Much cooler on this hilltop,making the stay much more comfortable.There is a temptation to book a hotel near the beach but please accept our personal experience of staying here that you will enjoy a stay to remember for a very long time.The owner was the most helpful and caring person,it usually takes both sides to have a warm relationship,and we certainly found it to be so.Open air breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: All are wonderful with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz4caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great place to stay outside Montezuma on a hilltop. We stayed on the 2nd floor with a corner balcony and nice view of the surrounding area in January. The inner atrium with a large skylight makes the entire place bright and cheery. Birgit and Miriam were always attentive and Miriam provided great advice on things to do in the area, places to see, and restaurant recommendations. The morning breakfast is a la carte with the fresh fruit and yogurt our personal favorite. A fridge is provided in the sitting/breakfast area for all to use while you’re there. Pool area is large with comfortable lawn chairs surrounding the pool. If you drive there which we’d recommend since it’s a bit far to walk to town, you’ll need a 4WD to make it up the steep driveway to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svnyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Thanks to Birgit and Mirjam we had a great time. Birgit needs two minutes to get to know you after that she is very friendly and answers all your questions! You can keep your own food / drinks in a central fridge. Have your own breakfast and drinks and / or enjoy the breakfast with the ladies! The rooms are very comfortable, nice and clean, good balcony with hammock and chair. Wifi everywhere, all was good. Only thing is the road that your can hear every now and than. Otherwise 5 stars!

Room Tip: When making reservation ask for a room on the other side than the road side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsWagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dorset, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

When we first arrived we did not feel welcomed at all. The owner was smoking cigarettes as she was checking us in. We would not have stayed if it wasn't so late at night. It seemed like she just didn't care, and did not like people. Breakfast was not included which was strange. We have traveled all over the world and breakfast is usually included at Bed and Breakfasts. She also told us that she did not accept credit cards. The play was very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacek-Jadwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in late December in room number six (large, clean, awesome balcony) and would have stayed longer if there had been space for us. The property sprawls across a lush hilltop and offers solitude and excellent star gazing at night. The pool area was beautiful and cleverly designed to offer privacy from the hotel. Guests have the option to purchase healthy homemade breakfasts to enjoy in the open guest/dining area. Birgit and her friend from Germany were gracious, welcoming, helpful, and organized hosts.

The only thing to keep in mind is that the hotel is around 3 km from town, and taxis are not always easy to come by in Montezuma, at least in peak season. We were fine walking, but the return trip involves very steep hills (challenging with a drink or two under the belt). Of course a car makes everything easy and it's a quick drive between the hotel and town.

If we ever make it back to Costa Rica, we will make it a priority to stay at Horizontes again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKH2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were on the excellent Flexi-voucher scheme so we got a standard room which had a great view of trees and garden from the balcony and we saw an agouti and her babies several times as well as lots of birds and monkeys. The hotel is on a breezy hilly site, and unlike so many lodges is bright and light with tastefully positioned flowers and plants and decorations, inside and out. It's cozy, guests and the owner all talk together at breakfast in the dining room, fully open on two sides, with a sofa, hammocks and a little library. Many travellers, like us are in rented 4x4s and used to the bumpy roads in the area, and thus the short trip to the busy town was fun, and the hotel was above and away from the noise and revels of the many who cluster around the sea front and its little main street, night and day. Lots of restaurants, sandy beach, internet cafe, and a jeweller who has his own shop selling beautiful sea shells set in silver, Piedra Colorada.
I would have liked a coffee machine in the bedroom, or acess to one in the hall, and a lockable safe in our room for cameras and passports etc, but to be fair many hotels still do not regard these as essential. Big fridge for guests in the dining room. We only really realised how very pretty it was when the next night was in a noisy place nears San Jose airport painted a hideous combination of dark yellow and blue, and with the jaded atmosphere of a half forgotten pub that would have even looked ugly when it was new in the 50's!

The town is fun and full or friendly people of all age groups and attitudes, who can be from Italy or Colombia, Peru or America, and even from Montezuma!

We came to Horizontes for one day but stayed 4! Fully recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the excellent Flexi-voucher scheme so we got a standard room at short notice, which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.1 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
0.7 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma

Property: Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
Address: 1.8 km north of Playa Montezuma, Montezuma 6011, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and quiet uphill retreat hotel with 8 comfortable rooms with A/C, ceiling fans, complete bath, safe deposit box and private balcony from where you can watch the incredible wildlife in the private jungle and botanical gardens or just relax in the hammock. Salt water oversized Swimming pool with a great chill-out deck around it. High-quality breakfast with fresh organic products is included. Best personal attention by the Owners and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing