We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casitas Sollevante(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$60
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
100
20
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
20
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincredible stayhotel is spotlessjuice and coffeethe ownerlobby areacosta ricarooms are cleancouple of nightslow seasonbeautiful poolsteep hillpolloevery morningjuanlaurataxihosts
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 129 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This small and personally run hotel is a jewel that does not easily find equals in Costa Rica. The price-value relation is truly excellent! You get all comfort and service you can wish for, i.e. from personally and tastefully decorated rooms, healthy and delicious meals, to candlelight dinner at the pool, great service, etc. An additional highlight is the private balcony with hammock, rocking chairs and great view on the jungle. I absolutely love relaxing in the hammock, watching and listening to the many birds as well as the howler monkeys who are just a few feet away in the trees. In short, it is a tropical paradise! I have been coming back to this jewel on a regular basis for the past 10 years -- Don´t miss this hotel when you are in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and have great views!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineF_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Horizontes de Montezuma for five nights..
The hotel is located on a hill above the village of Montezuma and best reached by car - walking up and down the steep and dusty road would be unpleasant, I imagine. The German owner has tastefully decorated the hotel rooms and breakfast area and has created a beautiful green garden with water from a well on the grounds which really stands out in the dry and dusty surroundings. She gave us all kinds of good advice for our stay in Montezuma and information about the surrounding area and its attractions.
Our room had a balcony with a hammock looking onto some trees in which we saw monkeys and squirrels. We heard howler monkeys almost each morning, and heard and saw many different birds. The room was bright and airy, as was the whole house with a skylight in the central hall.
Breakfast is not cheap, but includes homemade German-style bread which is a rare convenience and was a very nice change after the toast most other hotels serve. Guests can use a fridge in the breakfast area.
The hotel has a small very inviting and clean swimming pool that one can dip into after a long day in the heat. In fact the hotel grounds were so nice that we spent a whole afternoon there instead of going down to the beach or to one of the nature reserves in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

While the room and hotel were clean, the service was terrible. They made us feel very unwelcome and were not willing to help us with travel recommendations (i.e. how to get to the beach that was a good 20 minutes away by taxi). I was sorry to be such an imposition to the management. There was no air conditioning, the advertised pool was not open while we were there, breakfast was not included and was overpriced. Did I mention it was nowhere near the town/beach of Montezuma?

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltopheaven, Owner at Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

It seems that you have been in another hotel. The Hotel Horizontes de Montezuma is only 3 min by car from the village and beaches of Montezuma and has never pretended to have A/C in the rooms. We serve delicious breakfast with e.g. homemade wholewheat bread and organic products of the area such as different jams, juices and "happy" eggs....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel had everything we were looking for. It was not directly in the city (a little too far for walking, best if you have your own vehicle), perfect for viewing wildlife (we saw lots of monkeys!), incredibly comfortable and clean rooms, and great staff! The owner, Birgit, is happy to help with anything she can, and a great cook! She is also great company.
The hotel is very clean and modern with all of the amenities (you can even flush the toilet paper!) I would say the only downside is the fact that it is fairly far out of town, on a rough road, and if you are paying for a taxi, it can get pretty expensive (they usually charge about 2000 colones (or about $4) each way, just to take you about a mile into town.)
I would definitely stay here again if I was given the chance to come back to town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Birgit, the owner, has not only designed this wonderful light-flooded and tastefully decorated little hotel (7 rooms), she also bakes fresh German bread for breakfast, gives you Spanish lessons ( officially certified spanish teacher) or good advice about what to do in the area. But while enjoying your food, the animals in the surrounding trees, or the view of the green garden you may decide you just want to spend the day in the hammock or by the pool, because paradise is right here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krizzzcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews