We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but...”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had booked this online and from seeing their website, we were so excited to check it out. The location was great, walking distance to town, amazing views and tons of wildlife to keep you entertained. Great atmosphere in the communal areas and the place was spotless but....then it was time to call it a night and go to sleep. We had room # 3 and unfortunetly we didn't get much sleep. Because we were so close to the road (which is a massive incline), all night long all we heard was the reving of engines. This wouldn't normally bug us, but it was so quiet and peaceful and then...vvvrooom, there goes another bus or car or motorcycle, and they really need to gun it to get up that hill. And it went on all night! We could hear the person snoring in the room next to us and because we were getting no sleep,we couldn't get comfortable in the bed. It squeaked nonstop evertime one of us moved. It's really too bad because I had wanted to stay for a few days, but after that one sleepless night, we checked out in the morning and found a place in town. This place is absolutely beautiful and if your planning on staying, get a room over the main building or somewhere on the upper level. It is worthwhile seeing. The vibe is amazing.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars and get a private room. The walls are way too thin to get a comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JYoung848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 275 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location was awesome - right up the hill from town, no more than a 3 minute walk. The balconys, common areas, and overall vibe of the hostel is fantastic. The staff is wonderful. My only downfall of this beautiful place was the bug problem. Now, I understand that we are in the jungle, but we had to sleep with the lights on every night that we were there because if we didn't, hundreds (and I mean hundreds) of termites would crawl around on the walls (and on the beds). We had to push all of our beds away from the walls every night as well. As I mentioned, I do understand that we are in the jungle, but perhaps some screens on the windows would be useful.

Room Tip: Ours seemed to be one of the only rooms with this problem, we were in the middle upper room on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraheliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here, stayed a week and didn't want to leave! We saw more wildlife in our first hour here than we had on the rest of our trip.... The daily visits from the monkeys were always something to look forward to. The pics online really don't do any justice, this place is full of atmosphere, lots of beautiful views and lush jungle! Thanks to all the friendly staff for a fabulous experience:-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This had good communal areas, views over the sea and plenty of howler monkeys to entertain us over breakfast. We had a room on the top floor of the main building. The room itself was a good size, although the walls were thin and the beds weren't very comfortable. Also there was only one toilet, which isn't enough for the people staying in that block. For the money i had expected more.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robotwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This little place is gorgeous! It sits on a hill engulfed in trees and is jam packed with wildlife! The rooms are cute and simple and the beds are comfy. The community area is beautiful with plenty of seating and a public kitchen. Hot showers and clean toilets. Even though the community area closes at 11:00 we stayed out and played cards and other drinking games until much later with no interruption. The hike up the hill to the hotel can be a drag if your buzzed or tired, but its easy to overlook when you're in paradise :-) Great rates for such a beautiful place. Met lots of cool travelers here too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sweet, but some have private balconies and entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRich818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Pros:
- Amazing location. Close enough to town that you can pop home easily during the day, but far enough away that you don't hear the noise.
- The ridiculously awesome view! It's a little obscured by trees, but it's breathtaking if you can find a good spot to peer out from.
- Lots of common space to hang out, and a big shared kitchen. It was fun and relaxing to make and eat breakfast before heading out for the day.
- Big rooms with safes provided.

Cons:
- The service varied--some staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, some didn't want to be bothered to answer questions.
- We stayed in one of the rooms in the main building, and it was not completely screened in--if we wanted air (there is no A/C--we definitely wanted air!), we got bugs too. Luna Llena is in the jungle, so I would have loved a screened-in room. The room was also somewhat dark and could have been a bit cleaner.
- The shared bathrooms, sinks, and showers are all essentially outside, and you walk though common space to get to them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Two words describe Luna Llena Hotel, its owner, the owner's family and staff ---- ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights with our daughters, ages 13 and 15. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel for many reasons.
First, the staff was incredibly accommodating providing suggestions, making phone calls & reservations, and providing us with extra blankets & directions. The staff was enthusiastic and truly cared about the patrons. Second we enjoyed our time with the other hotel guests. WE met two scientists, an educator a few videographers, students, business owner... all from around the world. Relationships quickly developed through conversations and eating meals together.
There were plenty of activities to do in the surrounding area- waterfalls, horseback riding, snorkeling, swimming, walking on the beach, etc. Very safe area. Delicious restaurants. Fantastic family vacation! This was due to all the support of the Luna Llena Hotel's staff's support.

Room Tip: Cabins are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Sano Banano Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: $30 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luna Llena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing