We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint private bungalows with a great view!”
Review of Luna Llena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Llena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The proprietor at the front desk was a very friendly woman who could accomodate both English and Spanish speakers!

The private bungalows were really nice for the price with a private deck overlooking the ocean and forest. in the room we had a clean bed and bathroom with a sturdy safe for our valuables as well as a huge trunk for storage space.

We could see birds and monkies hanging about all around the property which was a really unique experience for us. We paid $50 for the two of us and had a great time hanging out with the other tenants and cooking in the kitchen.

Room Tip: We did not see the dormitories but the private bungalows were clean and very worth the price (consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The please is clean, they are well located, the shared bathrooms are decent but I hated the staff. The fact that the Argentinian guy in the counter sells drugs ( extasis ) ruined my vacation. Mercedes, however, was extremely nice and helpful. The night guard kept bragging about all the women he had and as a woman I never felt comfortable there.
I wouldn't go back, not because of the place, but because I never felt safe there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraPortocarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly A, Owner at Luna Llena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

The disadvantage of a site like this is that everyone can say whatever they want, even if it is not true.
We thank all our guests who appreciate our efforts to make of Luna Llenal a safe place, very pleasant and where drugs are not allowed.

Peace and Love,

Milly and Luna Llena staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I didn't particularly care for this place but I can't knock it because it's really good for what it is. It's set up on a hill with a view of the ocean in the distance and there's a nice ambiance. The thin walls and lack of privacy bothered me. I'm also not a fan of having to go outside and down stairs to take a cold shower at night. I gave it a good rating because for a budget place in Montezuma it's pretty good and much better than a couple of the others we checked out in the same price range.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the dorm room at Luna Llena. Everything was great, the staff was wonderful, the common area was great too. Everyone was very friendly too. A couple of nit-picks include that the towel was a little small, espeycially to be walking through the common area to get to the showers.

Also, leave your food in the kitchen not the room, the Jungle will get into your room otherwise!

Room Tip: The Dorm room is very nice, but this is a hotel, so it gets quiet at 11 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnybrav038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This carefully maintained hostel located in the forest is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of high-season Montezuma! The lounge and kitchen areas are inviting for cooking, reading, and meeting people. The hostel offers everything you need from hot showers to WiFi. Our double room was small but clean. The friendly owner was helpful with any of our queries and made us feel at home immediately.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel offered a wonderful balance of time to myself (in a single room) and time to meet others in the kitchen/lounging area. It offers a serviceable room at an excellent rate and a kitchen for those who want to cook most meals for themselves. The staff are WONDERFUL! Every Thursday they host a barbeque (vegie and non-vegie) which creates a perfect opportunity to meet other travellers and have some delectable food (dressed with a secret Argentinian marinade). Though this trip was as a solo traveller (taking advantage of the terrific yoga classes at nearby Ylang Ylang resort), this hotel is also excellent for travelling couples and friends.

Room Tip: Cabin rooms are a little more expensive but are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic! The best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Luna llena is the perfect backpackers place; we met so many chill, amazing people. Originally we were going to stay for a week, then it turned into a week and a half, then two weeks. The common space is beautiful and very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. I really liked that there were boxes to keep our dry food in. All kinds of different wildlife visit, which is really cool and fun, but sometimes that leads to creatures sneaking into your room and night. You can hear and see the ocean from the hotel as well! Very cheerful, friendly staff...I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thousandances7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
0.1 mi away
El Sano Banano Beachside Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Llena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Llena Hotel

Address: 50 Mt From Downtown, Montezuma 6111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: $30 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luna Llena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing