We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna Llena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$44
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Mar y Cielo(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Tajalin(Montezuma)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
131
101
25
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
101
25
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomcommon areascold showercosta ricathe ownershared kitchenoscillating fanshort walkbring earplugsfull moonrooms are very basicin townbeautiful place to stayfree coffeelow seasonfantastic stayfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 282 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic! The best place we stayed in Costa Rica. Luna llena is the perfect backpackers place; we met so many chill, amazing people. Originally we were going to stay for a week, then it turned into a week and a half, then two weeks. The common space is beautiful and very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. I really liked that there were boxes to keep our dry food in. All kinds of different wildlife visit, which is really cool and fun, but sometimes that leads to creatures sneaking into your room and night. You can hear and see the ocean from the hotel as well! Very cheerful, friendly staff...I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thousandances7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place was great! On a hill up in the jungle above the town, but very close to town. Lots of wildlife around and some really cool people. The owner and staff were super helpful.

Know it isn't for everyone. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, look elsewhere. The rooms are basic, but can't be beat for the price. That being said, there is a special kind of ambiance at this place. I won't be staying anywhere else when I'm in Montezuma.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefunkchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Luna Llena was the perfect place to stay in Montezuma - it seemed to fit the vibes there in the best way. I stayed in one of the single cabinas which are cute, small, basic cabins with a hint of charm, but the real appeal is the rest of the hotel. The common area is beautiful, with lovely tables and chairs, sofas and swings, all set in a rainforest/jungle setting. There were also little tables and chairs near each of t he cabinas. the bathrooms were shared, 2 with hot was, 2 without and 4 toilets as well so they were never busy. Te communal kitchen was well stocked, clean and well maintained. The staff and service was exceptional, X was incredibly helpful and all the staff are the right mix of friendly and professional. They were a real treat. It is a bout 2 blocks from town so away from the noise but close in every other regard. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nestled into the hillside; Luna Llena exposes you to some of Costa Rica's best wildlife without paying any extra. Cabins are scattered throughout the grounds, in amongst the beautiful trees and plants. Our cabin had a double bed and some bunks, a single fan, which was enough; mosquito nets, cupboards and storage, and a safe. Shared bathrooms are a short walk up the hill, are spotless and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is complete with utensils and sharp knives, (a luxury item in most hostel kitchens) a great stove, several fridges and coffee!

The owners are extraordinarily helpful and friendly and were continually offering assistance or even just a smile. We had some great quiet nights just sitting out the front of our cabin where earlier we'd seen howler monkeys come through, then the Capuchin's, there's also a few racoons about, a few local skunks, and countless unique insects.

Add to that the chill out areas are a great place to socialise and meet new people or simply find a quiet corner and relax in the serenity of the jungle. We had surprisingly few mosquitoes as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived in town without a reservation just recommendations from a guidebook. I chose this hotel based on price and because it offered single rooms. The room was small but spotless. The bed was comfortable and the pillows actually pillowed my head. Fans and mosquito nets were provided and the screens were in good repair. Even at the budget price each room had a lockbox.

Hosts and staff were very friendly and the Thursday bar b que was wonderful.

<i have a new place to stay when <i return to Montesuma!
Just a caution though, the hotel is up a steep hill with a lot of steps, not the best place if you overpack.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews