We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna Llena Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Tajalin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moctezuma(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Lucy(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel La Cascada(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
131
101
25
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
101
25
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomcommon areascold showercosta ricathe ownershared kitchenoscillating fanshort walkbring earplugsfull moonrooms are very basicin townbeautiful place to stayfree coffeelow seasonfantastic stayfull kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A surprisingly nice place, friendly service, peaceful. Liked that it was far enough away from the town center that it was quiet (and there were monkeys!!) but that the town and the beach were still a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I completely agree with the other enthusiastic recommendations for Luna Llena and there's very little I can add. I stayed in the shared dorm for three nights, $10 per night. The hostel felt like a home away from home. It was so comfortable and cozy, with really great decor and an absolutely unbeatable view. I woke up to howler monkeys each morning and watched the full moon rise during my stay. The Thursday night barbeque was such a fun and unique event - it really shows what a social and welcoming place Luna Llena is. Milly and the rest of the staff were so warm and helpful, I felt completely at ease.
After backpacking through Costa Rica and staying in many, many shared dorms, I can say without hesitation that Luna Llena is absolutely the best. Muchas gracias Milly y todos!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay at Luna Lena was great because of its location in the forest and open common area concept. We were able to see an abundance of wild animals daily while over looking the sunset. The experience was well worth not having a private bathroom. Our room had a mosquito net to keep the bites away with a fan that kept us cool enough to sleep comfortably. I would reccomend Luna Lena for the unique experience of the wild in the jungle right in front the living space.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathroom or a view of the sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelannonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived Thursday May 31st 2012 and stayed until June 3rd 2012. The manager on duty was very relaxed and invited us to the Thursday night community grill. If you are here on a Thursday I highly recommend it. We met people from 4 different countries and had a great time.

Most rooms have shared bathrooms and some rooms are shared. I reserved the room with a private bathroom (room #8). There is no air conditioning, but we had a fan and it became very cool at night. Understand the facilities are somewhat primitive suicide showers and all, but that is Costa Rica.

The common areas are huge and all open air. Since this is in the forest on the side of a hill wildlife abounds. The white face monkeys made daily appearances and one day while eating lunch on our deck we watched a howler monkey go through the tress right in front of us.
The town is a short walk from the hotel and we felt at home immediately.

Room Tip: Room #8 has a private bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Luna Llena is such a nice and beautiful place to stay. first we went at Pension Arenas, but after a few people went rubbed there, we moved up to Luna Llena.

It's very beautiful and the location is unique. You are not far away from Montezuma, but it feels like being in the middle of the jungle. All inclusive, morning wake up by mokey, Lizzards and last but not least the two nice house cats. (By the way, the red / white one loves to give you a massage while you're hanging out on the chair or lying on the sofa!

the team is so friendly and helpful, you have to look a long time, until you find something better. and they really care about you. the do an amazing job!

the kitchen, is well equiped and hughe. there are also three fridges to cool down your beer.

the view form there is stunning, you see right down to the sea.

the atmosphere is so relaxed and chilled that you wish, never to leave!

i totally recommend you this place to stay.

Thank you Milly, thanks to the whole stuff (and the argentinian grill master - thanks for preparing the bbq)..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews