We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Professional operation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zuma Tours

Zuma Tours
Ranked #2 of 17 Tours in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Water Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Shuttle/Transfer Connections with Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Uvita, Sierpe. Also: Sport Fishing, Horseback Rides, ATV Tours, Canopy Tours, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. Tours and transportation, Zuma Tours: a reliable and professional tour company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Professional operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We used Zuma Tours for a trip to Tortuga Island (highly recommended) and for transport from Montezuma to San Jose via boat and van. Everyone we interacted with was friendly, competent and professional. Well run operation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    60
    16
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly, convient, and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We took advantage of the services Zuma Tours offers during our trip to Costa Rica. We arranged for a airport transfer on our arrival in Tabor, the Tortuga Island Tour, and then the Boat trip from Montezuma to Jaco. Each time we were met ON TIME by a friendly and smiling driver. The Vans were clean and comfortable, the drivers were safe and very knowledgeable. The Tortuga Island Tour, although a bit of a tourist trap was loads of fun. Cold drinks on the boat, we snorkeled and saw amazing fish, even saw dolphins! The food prepared for lunch was delicious. be warned though, Tortuga Island is a privately owned Island and operates as a business. there is no exploring beyond the beach, beach chairs have to be rented, and if you should need to use the bathroom - you must purchase something from the gift shop first. Yes, there is a cheesy gift shop on the island. Even still, We had a great time and were very impressed with the Zuma Tours staff and boats!.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zuma Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fantastic time with Zuma Tours. We enjoyed the Tortuga Island tour and actually did it twice within our 4 week stay. The staff was excellent and the food and service were outstanding. We also used Zuma's water taxi which I have to admit is a lot better than going on the ferry which takes quite a bit longer and involves a one hour road trip to the ferry dock.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We used Zuma tours to get us from Jaco to Montezuma in Costa Rica. As we were running slightly late for departure they were happy to hold the water taxi (speed boat) for a few minutes. The staff were friendly. I would fault them on safety though. While I was never actually worried about safety, they made no effort to brief passengers on what to do in an emergency. I enjoyed the ride on the speed boat, and while $40 for a one way journey is expensive, it beats the ground journey in time by about 5 hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GarethKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch operator !!!!!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Traveling to Costa Rica for the last 10 years we have run into a few " So Called" tour operators only to be disappointed in almost every aspect. While staying in Montezuma we went into Zuma Tours where we were met by a more than helpful staff and the owner Ivan was there to assist.
We were so impressed with there enthusiasm that we booked many tours through them without any disappointments,delays or excessive fees. This tour operation is 100 % all about their clients and service. I would recommend Zuma Tours to anyone.

Best Regards

Brian Morris
Canada

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuma Tours also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Zuma Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing