We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabinas on the hill”
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casacolores
Ranked #2 of 18 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cabinas on the hill”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

These colourful cabins are perched on the hill leading into Montezuma town, about a 20 minute walk down (and 5 minute taxi ride up!) a windy and steep dirt road will get you to the laid-back shores and surfers paradise. Perfect if you don't want to spend your sleeping time in the busy part of the town, which can apparently get quite loud.

The cabins are equipped with a full kitchen, so we did shop for some groceries and made some meals. The only thing they didn't have was AC, but the fans in our room seemed to keep us cool enough during the night. The pool was nice as well, a must-have in the crazy Costa Rican heat! A super nice family runs this facility, I highly recommend staying with them, and they can book excursions and shuttles for you as well!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingcarly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    31
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We spent a week at Casacolores in December. We are a family of 2 adults and one 10-year old child. What we enjoyed most? Being woken up by amazing bird songs and howler monkeys in the distance.... spending family evenings on the terrace of our little red house, cooking our own meals ( eating out is expensive in Montezuma...) ... We also actually liked the remote location, as it felt like a much calmer and more genuine place than Montezuma village. What our daughter enjoyed most? Jumping in the swimming pool to cool off after a hot day walking .....We warmly recommend Casacolores and thank our hosts Catrine and Ruben for making it such a lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansdoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

this place is just great ,

owners are really nice peoples , that knows how to take care of there guest,

the place is well maintain and really really clean houses ,

the location is really great and beautiful,

i recommend this hotel among all others in Montezuma area you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spelletier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We enjoyed three nights at Casa Colores during our stay in Montezuma. We stayed in the two-room cabin, with five people total. This is not a fancy place, more functional than anything else. It is convenient to the town provided you have a car. Would be a very long walk otherwise...especially if you had to do it more than once or twice.

We used the portable fans at night rather than keeping the windows open (didn't want bugs flying around). This worked out fine. The beds were a little stiff for my taste, but didn't really bother the others in my group. The owners are very nice and extremely helpful.

We used the front porch a lot...the table for reading and playing cards...the hammock for relaxing. We LOVED Montezuma...what a great place to visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SScheffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roid58442
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

The owners/operators, Catrine and Ruben, are wonderful people. They were 100% courteous, very helpful in booking the trip, attentive to our needs during our stay, and respectful of our privacy. The rooms were very clean, and were furnished with mosquito nets, kitchen, cooking utensils, hammocks, full-size refrigerator, hot water, etc. We were very happy with the rooms and amenities.

The only issue we have is that the location of casa colores is a bit removed from the town of Montezuma and thus the beach. It's within reasonable walking distance, however, the steep slope and poor condition of the road make it a bit hazardous. Our hosts offered us rides back and forth, and taxis/buses were easy/cheap to come by.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roid58442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Casa Colores is an absolute gem! Tucked away high in hills above Montezuma the cabins provided the best possible setting for our 3 night stay. The cabins are private and undisturbed, basic but bright, spacious and tastefully decorated and fully equipped with cook-ware, stove, fridge and even a blender for homemade smoothies and pina coladas. The rooms are cleaned every day, the shower has hot water and the swimmingpool is great. We stayed in the red house which has probably the best location, facing the woods and away from the main dirt road. The owners are friendly and super-attentive to the needs of their guests. Ruben, who built the cabins himself, gave us a ride to town on several occasions and helped us with local air-tickets and taxirides. We could use the washingmachine whenever needed as well as the internet.
We were travelling with our 2-year old son and would definetely recommend Casa Colores to families with children of any age. The only downside is that the cabins are quite far from Montezuma if you don´t have your own set of wheels. The dirt road is steep and the walk is about 20 mins - ok going down, no so fun going up. Casa Colores is great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed 5 nights at Casacolores during christmas break.
Casacolores is great if you want an independent, friendly, clean and cosy place to unwind at during your holiday. The cabins are beautifully painted in different colours and personally decorated by Catrine and Ruben, the owners.
They had a very friendly and genuine attitude towards us and it made us really feel at home there. Our children (9,6 and 4 years old) loved hanging around the pool and play with Catrine and Rubens children.
The location is great for exploring both Montezuma and the Mal Pais coastline. You will need your own car though as public transportation isn't an option and Casacolores is located on a hill above Montezuma.
Jens & Gabriella Barnevik
Stockholm
Sweden

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensGabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.1 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Property: Hotel Casacolores
Address: Km 1, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casacolores 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing