We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casacolores
Ranked #3 of 17 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week in Montezuma, Costa Rica at Casacolores Cabins. I have never met such wonderful people. The owners Catrine and Ruben took care of us like we were family. Our efficiency cabin was neat, clean and had everything you could possibly need. If you'er looking for a quiet relaxing place to stay this is the place for you. We had hot water for showers any time of day and a pool right beside our cabin. Thanks so much Catrine and Ruben keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZURAMSmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    27
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We rented one of the cabins for our family of five and didn't know exactly what to expect. The cabin was awesome, with a double and single bed in each room (2 bedroom cabin), a spacious and fully functional kitchen, and a great porch with a hammock and couch for relaxing. The owners were super nice, and we found that being out of town just a bit (about a mile) was the peaceful way to go. When we go back to Montezuma, which I hope is soon, we will definitely stay here again even though there are lots of options in Montezuma, because of the spaciousness, friendliness and peacefulness of the place.

Room Tip: If you have three or less people go with a single bedroom cabin or with four to six people go with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

At first, we were a bit disappointed to be this far out of town but the peace and tranquility was well worth the $4.00 cab ride from town. Montezuma is a dusty little place and Casa Colores was a pleasant retreat.
The pool and surrounds were clean and well cared for...a nice meeting place for fellow travellers at the end of the day. Our Casa, the pink house, had a well equipped kitchen and we enjoyed cooking dinner and eating on our verandah....with no bugs or mosquitoes, just the odd visit from the resident dog and cat. We saw a couple of monkeys in the trees around the pool and there were a few iguanas making a regular appearance.
We stayed for four nights and would recommend this place to anyone.
Reuben built this place and he and his wife, Katrine, are wonderful hosts.
Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mspcr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous place! Relaxing and peaceful. The owners are super nice and helpful. We had 5 people in our party and felt there was plenty of room for all! My 16 year old wants to add that the beds were really comfortable. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We expected something a little more, based on the reviews and pictures on this site. On the plus side- the owners were lovely and kind, the cabin was spacious, a fan and safe were provided. This place is definitely more rustic than we anticipated, situated about 1.5 km from town (driving to the beach is essential, the walk is too long and the road is steep). So having a vehicle is essential for staying here. Sandals needed for showering- some mildew and not super clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Casacolores is a great place. Super friendly owners make it a nice place to stay and are very helpful and informative about the area. Very hospitable. The grounds are amazing, lots of plants and trees and wildlife. Great pool. The Pink cabin by the pool was perfect for me since I was alone, but would be good for two also. Nice kitchen, cool porch with hammock. The walk down the road to town is not that bad, and beautiful. Take a cab back to the cabins at night. All in all - GREAT AND FRIENDLY PLACE TO STAY! july 2012

Room Tip: All cabins surrounded by trees and flowers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed with friends at Casacolores the week of the big earthquake in Costa Rica in September 2012. When we arrived the owners informed us that due to the earthquake the electricity was out and also that there was no water since their system relies on an electric water pump. It was no problem as the owners found us candles, got us drinking water and water to flush the toilets and there was a gas stove in our kitchen. They handled the situation well and within 12 hours the power was back on.

We had the Pink House (2 bedroom), which was ideal for our group (2 couples) and would work for a family of up to 6 people. We quickly found our favourite area was the large covered porch with rocking chairs, a small settee and a long table with benches. All the furniture in our casita was simple but functional. The floors are made of beautiful Costa Rican hardwood. The bedrooms were airy and equipped with a ceiling fan and screened windows. Since the hotel is not on the beach but at the top of the hill leading into Montezuma it was cooler at Casacolores than staying in town, both during the day and especially at night. We slept comfortably without air conditioning. The property is quiet and each house is situated on the grounds for privacy. The WiFi worked well and the pool was large and refreshing.

There were some minor maintenance details such as a broken towel bar in our bathroom and a poorly fitted toilet seat but for the price this hotel is a very good value. We would definitely recommend Casacolores!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Property: Hotel Casacolores
Address: Km 1, Montezuma 5361 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casacolores 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing