We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relax”
Review of Hotel Casacolores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casacolores
Ranked #3 of 16 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
luxembourg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and relax”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Basic little houses but enough if you are not too picky. Nice garden and quiet atmosphere. Owners are very friendly. Price is fair for what you get. We enjoyed...
Only thing is that you are a bit far from beach and road is steep. You can get a cab for 4 dollars..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
81
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Casa Colores made all of our dreams come true. We had already been in Montezuma for 3 nights at a hostel where we had a less than pleasant experience. Arriving at Casa colores was more than I could have asked for! The bungalows were small but simple, clean, lovely, and stocked with everything you could need to cook....as well as a lovely front porch. The owners were super friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and a perfect getaway, made better by the owner's kids who joined us and were really cute! The only downside was the distance from the town, but taxis weren't too expensive if you did want to venture down to the main street of Montezuma. I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 8 days at Casacolores in May and cannot recommend it enough. Gracious and interesting hosts who were full of information and very helpful. The scenery was wonderful and we enjoyed hanging out in the hammocks and by the pool. The walk to town was invigorating and we saw lots of howler monkeys on the way down. It was easy and cheap to get a taxi up the hill. We did the package including first and last night hotel by San Jose Airport and the shuttle to Montezuma and had three trips (horseriding, ziplining and snorkelling) and it was perfect. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyJCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 17 days in March and had a blast! The bungalows were clean and comfortable and it's location up the hill from Montezuma was perfect. It cooled down beautifully at night for wonderfully comfy sleeps. We were traveling with several other families and had a total of 8 children with us and Casa Colores was safe, quiet and the perfect base for all of our activities, whether it was going to the beaches, the waterfalls or into town for a meal or groceries. Having our own kitchen was great! Whether it was just to keep stuff cool in the fridge or to make a delicious meal. We felt completely at home here and really didn't want to leave. Our hosts Ruben and Catrine and their staff were fabulous! They were so helpful and and really made this trip our best vacation ever! This was my fourth trip to Montezuma and not my last and no question we will always stay at Casa Colores.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We just loved the nice, clean and secure bungalows. Big verandas, nice pool and security 24/7 made this to one of the most affordable places we stayed at during our one month in Costa Rica.

It´s just 10 minutes walk from Montezuma (downhill) and maybe 15 minutes on the way back. The local bus from Cobano to Montezuma stops just by the small reception building. Very easy to get to.

If you are scandinavian (as we are) you can get all information and help you need in swedish as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We loved the bungalow, great pool, friendly owners, good price, a bit out of town wich is nice, good small kitchen, perfect place to unwind and stay for a while!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent 1 week at Casacolores in the green house, which is a 1bed/1bath cottage in the woods surrounded by great birds, howler monkeys, and iguanas. The place was perfect for the two of us and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We really enjoyed having a meal on the front porch or just relaxing in the hammock. The pool area is also very nice and was a nice way to cool off during the day or evening. We didn't have a car so we would typically walk down the hill to Montezuma, which is about 1km away. The walk was nice but we usually opted to take a taxi back up the hill, well worth the couple of dollars. The owners are very welcoming and helpful and made our stay that much more enjoyable. They helped us book a trip to Tortuga Island and we even hitched a couple of rides with them to/from Montezuma. This is a great place to stay and was very relaxing - there is a lot of stuff to do in Montezuma from hikes, waterfalls, to just relaxing on the beach. We never had a bad meal and enjoyed all of the restaurants and watering holes there. If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay and a great value, Casacolores fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.1 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casacolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casacolores

Property: Hotel Casacolores
Address: Km 1, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casacolores 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with swimming pool and tropical garden managed by the owners. Situated in a quiet area just outside Montezuma village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casacolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing