We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casitas Sollevante(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$60
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
58
24
11
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
24
11
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour night stayhowler monkeysthe ownerhot waterforesttaxishill
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 103 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This little gem is a beautiful place with excellent staff and service. We had a great stay, relaxing and felt well cared for by the attentive staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor looking for a hotel near Montezuma for 3 nights of our honeymoon in late Nov., early Dec. 2010. We had settled on another one (Casitas Sollevante), but they wanted a wire transfer to keep a reservation and I had trouble doing it, so we decided on Nature Lodge instead.

The night we arrived we weren't sure of the place. The road is unpaved and remote, the light on the walkway to our room wasn't working and when we saw our room it was beautiful, but very stuffy from being closed up without the fan. We opened all the windows, turned on the fan and headed to Montezuma for dinner. When we got back, the room was much more aired out and comfortable. Not having AC turned out not to be a problem because it cooled down significantly at night, one night we even used the blanket. There were a few times in the afternoon when we probably would have turned it on if it had been available, though.

The room, a superior pacific room, was very beautiful and tastefully decorated. The king sized bed was comfortable, the floors made from unique stones and the furniture made from beautiful wood. The view of the ocean wasn't great, as it's pretty far away, but that didn't bother us as we spent our days close to the ocean.

The main building has an open porch area with a small swimming pool and outside tables. Breakfast is included, and was a small buffet and a special of the day each day that the lady cooking will offer you. The specials were delicious -- one day it was crepes, another scrambled eggs with cheese. That's where you can access the internet.

Our favorite thing about the hotel was its peace and quiet and the animals we saw around it. We saw both howler and cara blanca monkeys and iguanas. It also has beautiful landscaping. It was nice to visit Montezuma, but we were glad we stayed outside of the town.

The hotel is in close proximity to the town by car, but I don't think you'd want to walk if you don't have a rental car. It's an unlit country road.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmt1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

...after being on the Hawaiian Islands for 6 weeks (got very spoiled there) a bunch of friends got together in Costa Rica for 2 weeks of just relaxing and a very good time!

The location of the hotel is just minutes away from Montezuma (very cute little town, perfect for dinners and little activities, bars, convenient to take boat trips) yet the hotel is away from every huzzle, quietly located in a tropical forest. (you will hear and see the monkeys)
2 or 3 room units, kinda like little villas, wonderfully designed and furnished made it just so pleasant. ( I'm not much of a morning person, but I always got up very early in the morning, just to see the sunrise, to see and hear the awakening day from our terrace! of course with a cup of delicious coffee - made from the coffeemaker provided in the room) also loved the additional shower outside!
Breakfast: the staff is very-very friendly, they will fix you everything possible extra to the rich breakfast buffet!
Again, surrounded by the lush tropic ambiance, feeling how the sun gets stronger, sitting at the common terrace for breakfast, what a perfect start for every day!

my friends were very pleased with the spa treatments, the pool, I much rather enjoyed horse back riding a lot!!!
even for unexperienced people, it's easy to handle the horses, a professional guide (he made us always feel safe, very friendly, a real pro with the horses!) will be with you to show you the trails to a hidden waterfall (with a natural pool for swimming) or riding along the beach..... very romantic!
Dinner: very tasteful local cuisine, the chef is an expert (and a good singer!) they also will fulfill special requests, you have to let them know in the morning and they will do their best to provide your wishes! A nice selection of wines completes the dinner.

overall: a very friendly, helpful staff, everybody there is really trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible!

I really liked the tasteful design of the whole complex, nothing is overdone, just right!
I recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation, with some activities if you decide, perfect for couples or a bunch of friends!
Helmut M. Hamberger, Munich, Germany

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelmutMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had been 'slumming' it in cheaper, more basic places during our 2 week trip in Costa Rica and decided to treat ourselves for 2 nights - and this was definitely worth it. We have really fond memories and beautiful pictures from our stay at Nature Lodge.

The room (Superior Pacific) was spotless and the outdoor shower was a real treat. It was very private and we really felt like we were alone as we had no distractions from any other guests. The location is a little far from town if you don't have a car, but we had planned to spend all day at the lodge so it didn't bother us. You DO need a car if you're planning to get into town though. Or you can get a taxi and the hotel will be happy to call one for you.

We spent the whole day relaxing around the lodge and the staff were not overbearing - they just let us be, so we really felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and were really able to relax.

We really enjoyed staying in luxury here and were energized to go back to less-luxurious(!) hotels for the rest of our trip. Having said that, all the places we stayed were great!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

There's only one word to describe this fantastic hotel: PERFECT. The rooms and the location itself is in the best shape you can imagine. The very friendly people make you feel like at home from the moment you will arrive. Service ist outstanding, Food and Drinks are excellent and the views to the ocean or the jungle are fantastic.
Wake up with birds and monkeys and get your first coffee on your patio. The owned horses are in an excellent shape and condition.
Everybody who has plans for a trip to Montezuma should come to this fine place.
State of the art.!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cableguyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews