We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Nature Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
A TripAdvisor Member
Israel
12
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Recommended!

Planned a 1 or 2 nights stay, and ended up 3 nights, just resting and enjoying the place- hardly ever taking the trouble to visit busy Montezuma.

There is indeed a new, enthusiastic management (a German and Costa-Rican partners) who turned this place to a lovely intimate spot with a lot of personal care for the guests.

The lodge is not on the beach. You can see the sea far beyond the forest that surrounds the place, filled with monkeys, birds, butterflies etc etc.

Our room was big and convenient. (there are about 4 of this kind and the rest are smaller) The large balcony facing the open view- a real treat. Pity there is no AC, but with open windows at night, it was OK.

Great kitchen produces high level European style meals.

The small pool - a real pearl - the best place to cool off with a drink surrounded by all that green.

Had a real good horse riding trip from the lodge.

Gadi & Adi

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2005

We made the mistake of booking the nature lodge in advance. Upon arriving we found a dark, uninviting, hot room with a door that looked like a closet door and no screen. After looking at the pool that was the size of a small juccuzzi, we decided that we wanted to leave. However since we booked 2 rooms for 4 nights, we were told that we would have to pay for the entire stay. We tried to tough it out, due to the financial ramifications.
However the first night we encountered with the entire ant population of Montezuma in our bedroom, thanks to the lovely closet doors. My wife cried all night and sat in the fetal position with the light on. Again we were told we would have to pay if we wanted to leave early.
So basically we decided to salvage our vacation and pay them to leave. What a concept. The guidebooks were way off on this hell hole. The best thing about this place was seeing it in my rear view mirror. I WARN........RUN FAR FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

7  Thank Ajtheshoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 8, 2006

In response to the two above reviews it must be noted that at the time they were at Finca Los Caballos the owner had been very ill. In her absence the managers took advantage of the situation and did not maintain the hotel and had been overcharging guests ( unbeknownst to the owner). It was a regrettable situation and, unfortunately, soured what had previously been a fine small hotel with a good reputation.
The hotel now has new ownership and management and has been completely renovated. The rooms and bathrooms are much larger, brighter, and luxurious. There are now 4 new very large rooms with superb views of the ocean. The pool is a small pool ( but perhaps 5 times the size of a jacuzzi) but that does not seem to be an issue for any of our guests. The pool is now clear of course.
Ants are ubiquitous in the tropics and unless one wants a completely sealed environment they may encounter ants regardless of screens. Of course an invasion as described by the reviewer is unacceptable (and perhaps exaggerated).
We have had very many happy guests this year who are impressed by the changes and have given rave reviews. What has not changed is the friendly and personal service that had been provided in past years before the previous owner's illness.
We hope the above reviews will not keep more people from enjoying the quiet and delightful atmosphere that we have created.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2005

We were in Costa Rica for a month. We booked in advance 5 nights at Finca Los Caballos. It was a major let down. In fact we left 2 days early so we didn’t waste time here. Two guide books we have raved about this lodge. With those recommendations we splurged and paid $81 a night with taxes over the 2005 New Year.

Now we weren’t expecting a resort, we’re backpackers and know Central American standards. This was a huge let down, and felt the descriptions in the books and on their web site are a FAR STRETCH. Their site ------------- only has one picture of a room, and for good reason. They are similar to a prison cell.

The lodge is pretty far from town, so if you don’t have a car you’re stuck here. The walls in our room were half painted and absolutely no decorations. The pool was cloudy and uninviting. And the distant view of the ocean can only be seen from the tiny deck next to the pool. The water pressure was terrible. And the food, although very good, is extremely overpriced.

If we had paid $25 a night, we would feel we got what we paid for. But $81? We felt robbed.

4  Thank ColoradoBaseCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank estebano725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones con deck tienen una vista de ensueño.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BBK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mjby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
333 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $76 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing