We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Lodge that earns its name -- pure nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Most hotels call themselves Eco Lodge because they lack some quality, standard, or service. This one is the only one we have been which earns its name. It truly is amazing -- still simple, but absolutely charming, in the middle of the rain forest, unique. Nice german owner that is very helpful and cares about the place. Special: small but nice pool, charming architecture and setting, very nice showers, clean. Recommend a car to get to the town in the evening. Good service. Mattress was not very good, caused back pain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LonelyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The lodge was peaceful and quiet but was beginning to look a bit tired around the edges.
The Owners were hardly ever around and it showed. The woman who checked us in spoke no English at all and she also prepared, cooked and served dinner. Food was lovely but atmosphere and service is lacking. Menu was only in Spanish and the few guest there were all english speaking. Dinner had to be ordered by midday..not very convenient. Never found if and when the bar opened so we didn't bother and went into Montezuma.
Breakfast was only OK and again hot food was available if they bothered to ask you

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Loved this place so much we just can not wait to return. Our tropical room was fabulous and the food magnificent. The portions were generous and the menu varied daily. Wildlife abounded around this place and everyday brought something new. Montezuma was a quick drive from the lodge and offered everything from waterfalls to excellent beaches. The sodas were good for the local cuisine and the towns "Hippies" offered unique custom jewelry. Usch and her staff made our stay at Los Caballos a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: want more romance try the pacific veiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The finca is a wonderful and very peaceful place - far away from busy Montezuma. We stayed two nights in one of the big rooms overlooking the rainforest. Just amazing! The cuisine is excellent and always freshly prepared. The menu changes daily. The ladies in charge do not speak english but are very helpful.
We were disappointed since we thought that there are horses. Instead she called someone and we ended up with very friendly Americans that took us to the nearby waterfall. A very nice excursion.
There is a little buffet for breakfast and additionally they serve Gaillo Pinto and eggs.
The first night we were fighting with a cucaracha in our room... Still, we recommand this little treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler_traveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amazing place! We woke up because of howler monkeys before a sunrise, and then observed a lot of butterflies in the morning. Very stylish swimming pool and a great view. Delicious breakfast and great service. Loved the stones in the shower, and a wooden design in the room. Nice to be so close t Montezuma, but it a wilderness ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrinaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great views from our pacific view room, loved the outdoor shower. Birds and howler-monkeys are so close, it's nature pure. Montezuma is the close-by little village with a great hippie charm, we can recommend the restaurant called Cocolores in Montezuma, amazing food. The food at Finca los Caballos is great too, we had really nice dinners there. We loved the horses, we had fantastic hacks. We left after the 8 days we booked, just to return 3 days later - we decided to spend our entire holiday there, this is how good this place was!

Room Tip: Go fot he superior pacific room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsCalledWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautifully designed, comfortable, peaceful hotel in the middle of the forest. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and I swam in the pool in the evening and watched the stars come out. The outdoor dining area was attractive with subtle lighting in the evening and a beautiful deck stretching over the forest. It is true that the cabinas are grouped together in threes so if you sit outside in the hammock you can hear each other and on the chance that someone smokes it could be annoying. Also, it is about a $6, 3 km cab ride to Montezuma, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the place for you. The staff were very helpful in getting cabs. Internet was available in the dining area.

Room Tip: We had what I believe we're the mid prices rooms for $98 and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
4.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $70 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing