We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing stay at Finca los Caballos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Finca los Caballos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great views from our pacific view room, loved the outdoor shower. Birds and howler-monkeys are so close, it's nature pure. Montezuma is the close-by little village with a great hippie charm, we can recommend the restaurant called Cocolores in Montezuma, amazing food. The food at Finca los Caballos is great too, we had really nice dinners there. We loved the horses, we had fantastic hacks. We left after the 8 days we booked, just to return 3 days later - we decided to spend our entire holiday there, this is how good this place was!

Room Tip: Go fot he superior pacific room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsCalledWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautifully designed, comfortable, peaceful hotel in the middle of the forest. We heard howler monkeys in the morning and I swam in the pool in the evening and watched the stars come out. The outdoor dining area was attractive with subtle lighting in the evening and a beautiful deck stretching over the forest. It is true that the cabinas are grouped together in threes so if you sit outside in the hammock you can hear each other and on the chance that someone smokes it could be annoying. Also, it is about a $6, 3 km cab ride to Montezuma, so if that's not your thing, this isn't the place for you. The staff were very helpful in getting cabs. Internet was available in the dining area.

Room Tip: We had what I believe we're the mid prices rooms for $98 and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband, 4 year old and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of December 2012. The room was very nice. It opens up into the jungle. We awoke each morning to the sound of birds chirping. The breakfast was delicious- as was the dinner. The owner was friendly and informative. The pool was very nice and the wooded platforms with lounge chairs were a great place to sit and watch birds and iguanas. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In November, 2012 Nature Lodge hosted our entire wedding week. The view of the property alone was exciting! You are in the middle of the jungle, only minutes from the beach. We saw and heard monkeys everyday along with endless amounts of other wild life. Our group of 30 was comfortable with room to spare. The rooms were very clean and each style offered unique benefits ranging from ocean view to comfortable hammocks overlooking the jungle. The food was beyond delicious blending local flavors with fine dining flare. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in catering to our every need. Our wedding was stress free, beautiful, and fantastic in every way. From decor and flowers to food, we were amazed. The beauty in the views, vegetation, wild life and sounds have left our entire group grateful and yearning to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our trip to Costa Rica was awesome! We had a great time and everything went perfectly. We were both impressed with the willingness of the personnel at the hotel to accommodate and provide for our needs. I would recommend your services to anyone considering a trip to your remarkable country. The grounds are exquisite. I could have stayed here several days. (NOTE: A taxi is required for a trip to the beach or to the town,)

Room Tip: Taxi required for trip to town and/or the beach. Internet access was down and unrepaired while we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHUGGIEBOOGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is defiantly located off the beating path but worth the hike...in a 4 wheel drive vehicle of course. The property is beautiful with lush gardens. Be prepared to see several iguanas and wildlife. Friendly staff and food is great.

Room Tip: The suits that face the ocean have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel during our honeymoon. Our room had a wonderful view of the jungle and beach. Staff was very nice. The room was clean, but there were lots of bugs. Also, the white bathroom towels they provided us had stains. We were disappointed to find out that since May they no longer have horses. The hotel is also about a 10 minute drive to Montezuma so I would recommend staying closer to the town and actual beach for the same cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Property: Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing