We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel during our honeymoon. Our room had a wonderful view of the jungle and beach. Staff was very nice. The room was clean, but there were lots of bugs. Also, the white bathroom towels they provided us had stains. We were disappointed to find out that since May they no longer have horses. The hotel is also about a 10 minute drive to Montezuma so I would recommend staying closer to the town and actual beach for the same cost.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The property here is green and beautiful!! The service was excellent. The staff exceeded expectations and went out of there way to accommodate our needs. The rooms were clean, and our room had a great view of the tree line and ocean in the distance. The food was amazing and we often chose to eat there rather then go to town to eat. Each meal was freshly prepared and we especially liked the appetizers. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again when in Montezuma!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberlittlefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying two nights in the Finca los Caballos as part of a driving tour of Costa Rica. We arrived quite late due to a bit of a nightmarish drive in the dark from Playa Potrero - fortunately reception was still staffed and we were directed to a simple yet smart cabin close to the main reception and pool area. The room featuted two queen sized beds with a large en suite and wet shower room. Staff were very helpful and were able to assist us with getting taxis into town as the hotel is situated a reasonable distance from Montezuma itself (note - you should try to pre-book travel back as we had to rely on lifts back from the locals as there were no taxis to be found after a late night at Chicos bar - lovely people). Rooms were functional and the pool area is intimate and smart, we had an enjoyable couple of sundowners while taking in the beautiful surroundings which was great. The hotel was part of Costa Rica Tours flexi drive package (excellent, see separate comments) so I can't really comment on value for money. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Most expensive yet disappointing hotel on our trip, and it's a shame because it's all because of the manager's bad manners and terrible welcome. As we arrived at the hotel around noon, the manager, Usch, was sitting at the desk and looking at us without even saying a simple "hello". We told her that we have a reservation for one night and she coldly answered "no"... okay... we said that we already paid for one night (the hotel asks for credit card number for down payment), and again she just bluntly looked at us and said "no". That's it. Still, we asked her nicely to look in her books again and wow, amazing, turns out we do have reservations...

This horrible horrible welcome continued as our friends asked for a room with an outdoor shower but were given the wrong one at first and eventually asked to downgrade to a simple room because this place wasn't worth the price of 165 dollars. The hotel is also supposed to be a horse farm but we were never told about any possible activities and had to find out by ourselves that if you want to eat at the hotel restaurant, reservations must be made in advance.

But wait that not all! Breakfast was great and everything but we were so angry to find the manger SMOKING around the buffet and dining area. It's a NATURE LODGE!! We understand that Costa Rica has no smoking rules, but really? The manager smoking in the breakfast area??

Check out was 12 and we asked a nice lady at reception (thank god there was one nice lady there...) if we can check out at 12:30 because we wanted to go down to the beach and have a shower before we leave. She said sure, no one stayed in our rooms for that night to come, and just before we were about to leave she came back and guess what? The lovely manager, again in a wonderful hospitable gesture, decided that we can't stay. We spend sooo much money at the hotel with the expensive dinner and wine and all and Usch couldn't give us 30 extra minutes, in a empty hotel, after they already said yes.

And even after we packed and ready to have some fun, we couldn't even use the hotel safe because only Usch had the combination and she left the hotel, so we had to take our passports and money down to the beach. Do you think you can relax after this experience?

Bottom line, this was by far the most expensive yet so disappointing hotel we stayed in during our trip. Again, the place is lovely and the pool charming and dinner was great but when you don't even get a welcome or hello and feel like you are a burden - it's just impossible to relax. And that's why we came to Costa Rica in the first place. So do yourself a favor, either come prepared to get the worst welcome ever and just ignore it, or pick another place that will be worth your money.

You know what forget it - just pick a different place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank H0ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Went did a round trip in Costa Rica in january for three weeks. When we arrived to Montezuma, we just find the lodge on the road. We are a familly of 5 so its difficult sometimes to find a frendly place that will take care or us. So, we find in the Nature Lodge a really clean place, with nice decorated rooms in the middle of the jungle. If you get there in couple, its agreat place to be, very romantic. Also we speacialy liked the atmosphere on the terrasse so nice and the food was good. For lunch everything is home made. A great place to spent few days. Infortunatly, we had to quit after two night because we didn't reserved. So without any doudt I will recommand this lovely hotel. A special mention to the nice woman from Los Angels who work there, she was really kind and "serviable" we say in french.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were worried at first because in the Fodor's travel guid, Finca Los Caballos did get an ok review, but the location is supposed to be bad. Which is not true!! It's in the middle of nature, away from busy Motezuma! It was very relaxing and everything is made/ designed with a lot of detail and thought. We heard Howler monkeys every day, visited the horses, enjoyed the great view at breakfast and had fun in the pool. Dinner was amazing. All in all we had a great time. It didn't bother us that there was no AC in rooms, but they do have big fans which work just as good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elze2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This little gem is a beautiful place with excellent staff and service. We had a great stay, relaxing and felt well cared for by the attentive staff. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaSteveandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos

Property: Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Address: Main Rd. | 3 km before Montezuma on the road from Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca los Caballos - Hotel, Horseback Riding & Wellness - is a delightful nature lodge with only 12 rooms to offer personal service, privacy and tranquility. Inspired by our vibrant natural setting the finca is designed and built with beautiful local woods, stone using local artists and furniture makers to create a relaxed, romantic and barefoot elegant atmosphere. Reception desk staffed around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Finca Los Caballos Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing