We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is Great and the free Breakfast is really good. There lunch/dinner menu is a little pricey but the food is really good. The only issue with the room I had was the mattresses but that seems to be a Costa Rican thing since all 3 hotels I stayed at it was the same thing. Good location. They have a movie night at 7 30 which is nice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    67
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
67
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

LOVED this place. The quality of service we received here was more than exceptional. We planned to only spend a couple of days, but the location, price, food and friendly demeanor here convinced us to stay for most of our trip. The wait staff was superb as well as the food. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful, especially Edward. :) Complimentary breakfast like no other, and candlelight dinner in the evening, accompanied by a newly released movie on a big screen made this place feel like a home away from home. Very comfortable. Hope to be back some day soon! Especially if we win the free night stay offered on the survey we took before we left....!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorindanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved it here at Sano Banano.

This was another place that we had booked just a short stay to see if we liked it and ended up staying for a week. The food was very good especially the breakfast. Really neat to eat outside with the monkey's overhead.

We travel on a tight budget and Sano fit the bill perfectly, especially since you can use the pool at Ylang Ylang which is amazing, so you get the use of the high end resort at Sano Banano prices.

The town of Montezuma is a very cool place and after a while you start to feel like a part of it and like maybe being an ex-pat here might be a good move, just very laid back.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs on the street side which can have some noise but we really liked the windows look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the best price quality in montezuma, because many of the hotels are overpriced. But with el sano we would get a ac room including breakfast. So we chose for el sano banano. The rooms arent WOW but they should do the trick. Te breakfast was good. We only had some problems with birds who were trying to steal our food. It was a nice plus we could use the pool in the other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked this place more than I expected to. I tried to get a room at Ylang Ylang Resort, but there weren't any available so booked here. I was glad I was in town. Great location. My room was a very small interior room, very basic (it would have been small for two, but I was alone). There was AC and the room was fine, since I was outside all day. I really liked the restaurant and ended up eating all my dinners there (3 nights). The menu was more imaginative than others I looked at in town and they are very eco-aware. There is a nice place to sit outside. The indoors seemed rather dark. They have movie nights, which was a neat idea, but it was fairly noisy in the evening. Good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelerNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great budget hotel, perfect location in montezuma center ( all three blocks of it:) and right next to the beach, simple and clean room, but tv small and up high, and be careful of the walls, they are done in rough finish and if you touch, you may get a scratch, but not a deal breaker. Breakfast was included and had a nice variety of options (however not buffet as was listed, but rather a drink and an entree). Plenty of options for vegetarians. Best part are the people. Rafa was especially helpful with suggestions. Must visit and hike the nearby waterfall if physically able!!!! If you want to get away to a quite area, walk 15 min down beach to their sister upscale hotel Ylang Ylang. They have a great pool area with lounge chairs and hammocks and amazing happy hour food and drinks. If you are a colada fan, try their piña, papaya and banana coladas. I'll be dreaming of those for a while. Overall, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing parking lot and patio, away from main street, which could get noise when night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEnchumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked a two queen bed-room online and when we check in the manager assigned us to a super small room, with a mini double bed and a single bed.
Then we found out the shower water was nearly dripping out and completely cold, the manager came and spent 15 mins trying to persuade us all we need to do is to wait. When he was finally proved wrong, he changed us to another room, much larger with two queen beds (how lucky we were!). Not surprisingly the water is still dripping cold, and the plumber that he promised to come never showed up.
This is definitely the WORST hotel experience I had during my entire stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xujun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Village Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

I am happy we were able to provide you with a room change that was to your liking. Unfortunately, during your stay, we experienced a water outage in the Village of Montezuma that affected all the local hotels and as a result were unable to resolve the situation immediately.

Our maintenance chief was alerted but did not enter your room directly as the problem was the town water system in general. He reported the problem to the person in charge, Emma, who in turn called the person in charge of our town's water supply, who later discovered that one of the holding tanks located a kilometer from town had ruptured.

We do have reserve water tanks at the hotel for times like these but the amount in reserve is exhaustible.

At the moment, the Nicoya Peninsula is experiencing an extended drought and we as a town have taken steps to resolve this problem by connecting our water system with the neighboring town of Cóbano.

Fortunately, our guests at Sano Banano are welcome to use the showers and pool at our sister hotel on the beach, Ylang Ylang, where we have our own ample and proprietary water system.

We apologize for this inconvenience and would like to mention that as a hotel owner, not all things are in our control. We do our utmost to resolve any problems as quickly as possible and will go out of our way to help you in any way we can.

Sincerely,

Patricia (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sano Banano Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Property: El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Address: Main Road - Town Center, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sano Banano Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street in the heart of Montezuma, this hotel offers 11 comfortable rooms that are economically priced just a block from the beach. The rooms are above the well-known restaurant and have A.C., hot showers and SkyTV. The rooms are quiet and secure for those who prefer in-town comfort. Breakfast is included and the hotel guests are welcome to use the pool and hammocks at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, just a 10-12 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Sano Banano Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing