We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
“Indescribable View”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Terraze colibri
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terraze colibri
Montezuma heights Sunrise from the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
10 reviews
Terraze colibri
Montezuma heights
Sunrise from the cottages
View from the cottages
path to colibri cottage
Inside colibri
Kitchen colibri
Loft colibri
Into the great wide open
Starry night
Turtle hatching
Upper fall 36ft. jump
Private waterfall close by
Cocalito fall
Montezuma main waterfall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MaegWatso...
2 reviews
“Indescribable View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This place was absolutely unreal. I had already spent a month in Costa Rica with one of the most amazing views in the world and this place still exceeded my expectations. You are on a cliff but it still sounds like the waves are right outside your door. We arrived at night and Peter and his wife were away so the place was very very difficult to find. Just request that they meet you there are leave several lights on for you. The room was clean and comfortable and the outdoor shower was a plus!! Absolutely rent an ATV it will make zooming around Montezuma and the beaches a blast. We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the distance from town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thanks a lot for the nice review, hope seeing you back. Big hugs
Peter and Rocio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DougRB
New York City, New York
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

"Wow" This is usually the first word that leaves my mouth when asked to describe the time my wife and I spent in Montezuma, Costa Rica. A big part of that wow is directed at how perfectly Peter, Rocio and Natalie's wonderful cabin fit in to the grand scheme of things. It was like being at home away from home, in terms of how quickly we felt at ease and welcomed.

Just to set the scene: There is a main house, which belongs to the family. And separate from the house is the Geco Cabin in which we stayed, to the side and slightly lower down. The other cabins I'd assume, are also to the side, but I didn't want to ask to see, since there were other guests and I respect the space of others when on vacation.

This neat, rustic cabin is not particularly large, but when you want to get away from the big city (NYC), forget all of the unnatural ways in which one spends his or her time when not working, this place really hits the spot in a big way. It has everything one could possibly need, so long as you're not expecting to flip through channels of nonsense on a television, or play video games.

The natural salt water pool is amazing! If you get up super early, you might share it with the occasional crab *which is harmless. They’re more afraid of you than anything and will leave right away* If you simply want to take in the early morning sun, you’ll probably be greeted by one or two of their incredibly sweet pups. In fact, the dogs loved hanging out with us, which of course is due to the fact that we are dog people and invited them to do so. It felt great knowing that they were guarding the entire place, and are also so loving…

The place was designed and built by Peter, and if I'm not mistaken, adorned with art created by Rocio's Uncle ( or cousin? Forgive and or correct me Peter! ) which is really beautiful, and adds a really cozy touch to everything. It's very clean, and has everything you'd need to cook in the kitchen part of the room.

The house its self is settled atop a cliff, overlooking a gorgeous oceanic panoramic landscape, which made our breakfast time breathtaking and engaging, as exotic birds flew overhead, and monstrous toads croaked in the distance. ( I loved that ) If you’re really, really early to rise, the sunrise is a particularly special treat, especially if you take it all in sitting at the pool. At night time, should you be visiting during the rainy season, you'll be treated to some awe inspiring lightening storms in the distant horizon, over the water. And if it's a clear night, the stars seem close enough to reach. Shooting stars, and passing satellites are also often seen, which is totally cool.

The patio deck has a nice breakfast table, and a very comfy hammock, if you simply want to lounge around and do absolutely nothing for a while. It’s great to just sit there, and listen to the creatures in the jungle, have butterflies land on you, and watch hummingbirds actually sit still with you!

What can I say about Peter and his family, except that they are all extremely happy, and friendly hosts who love to chat if you’re in the mood! My wife and I tried to be as self sufficient as possible, not asking much of anything from our hosts, but they were still at the ready, just in case.

We rented a 4x4 down the hill in town, which looking back now, was an excellent idea, vs. renting a small car. We definitely like to go off the beaten path from time to time, and you’ll find that the roads there are not exactly easy to traverse, if you have a “cute” little car! You can also rent an ATV on a day to day basis, which is a great idea if staying near-ish town, but if you're planning on a trip that will take you into sundown, I'd recommend the 4x4, in case of torrential downpour and tough roads. Speaking of which, there are two entrances into the cabins. One leads to the main house's driveway, and is closer to the main outside road, and the other leads right up to the cabin, just incase you want to offload groceries from town, or just want the car near by for whatever other reasons.

Honestly, there's just too much to say about the whole experience, and absolutely none of it is negative. None of it. BUT.. Let me be candid about something:

If you're not the type of person who likes the outdoors; if you absolutely need every fancy ammenity that a four star hotel has to offer; if you don't like humidity to the point that you're going to complain about being in such a location on earth.. Please, for logic's sake, go to a resort with air conditioning and poolside drinks served by "every other tourist bartender", and hang out with every other tourist that you swore you wanted to get away from in the first place!

Peter and his family will be there for you if you need something within reach and reason, and for that alone, my wife and I will not hesitate to ask them if we can stay the next time we're in that neck of the jungle. I'm actually very curious to see what the other vista views have to offer, and can't wait to go back again. I absolutely loved Montezuma and the surrounding villages and towns, and want to thank Peter, Rocio and Natalie for being such gracious, accomodating hosts. Hope to see you guys again soon...

Pura Vida!

Best,

Doug and Edit

P.S. If you would like to see photos we took, including the cabin, here is a link to my Flickr page:

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
makomike6...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Killer Ocean Views, quiet and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful one week stay at Peter and Rocio's Geco Cabina. The ocean views from the cabina deck were amazing as well as the forest adjacent to the cabina. Lots of birds, butterflies and a few squirrels with howler monkeys off in the distance. The swimming pool was delightful with awesome ocean views too. The cabina was small but quite comfortable for two. It had lots of nice artistic touches such as nice wall paintings and tile work and quality construction throughout. We had everything we needed for home cooked meals. Peter is very personable. We had wonderful conversations about home construction and tree harvesting. He has a wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica. I felt I had made a new friend. Thanks Peter and Rocio for a great vacation.

June 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Copenhagen, Denmark
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EandEfrom...
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Beautiful Cabins with Great Ocean Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My wife and I recently spent a few nights in the Mariposa cottage. The cottage is a work of art; the attention to detail in the windows and mosaics add the welcoming feel. Our cabin was mostly very private, a short walk down the hill from the owner's house and next door to their other cabin. The views from the patio are wonderful too. If you open every window in Mariposa, you can be inside and still enjoy the outdoor breezes. The walk from Montezuma is quite steep, but the owners are willing to help pick you up and drop you off. They are definitely worth talking to and their insider's view of the area is a great bonus to the wonderful cabins. We were very pleased with out experience!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Traveling Mom
CT USA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fcalella
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing