We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Capitan Hotel / Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
2
0
0
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
0
0
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

El Capitan is a true travelers' hotel. It is hands down my favorite place I have stayed in all of Costa Rica. The friends we made and experiences we had will be unforgettable. The staff is like a family who is more than willing to welcome you into their home. There are hammocks hanging all around the hotel with beautiful beach views & friendly vendors with hand crafted jewelry right outside the front gate. It's the best deal in Montezuma with a fresh fruit breakfast and pancakes and on occasion scrambled eggs or omelets for free with your stay. Something that will easily cost you 4 or 5 mil at any of the restaurants. We had only planned on staying a night or two and found ourselves there for more than a week because of the sheer feeling of happiness and contentment that comes from the overall environment of the hostel itself and it's amazing staff. Muy tranquilo :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hostel really isn´t a clean place. The showers and toilets only work half of the time and they occasionally run out of water. So the toilets cant be flushed anymore and you can imagine what happens next. Our Room was OK. The atmosphere with the others backpackers on the terrace in the first floor with hammock was nice. They definitely serve the best breakfast. You get two yummy pancakes along with a huge selection of fruits. On top they put coconut flakes. Very nice. But they don´t let you use the kitchen. We also stayed at a different place in Montezuma and the bathroom situation seemed everywhere in this village the same.... The people running the hostel are a bit weird tough. make sure when you book the room that they also include your breakfast. Our friends did´t get served their breakfast for some reason and the hostel-owner got really unfriendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

El Capitan... don't go here, especially if you are gringo.

They originally showed me a ocean view room, $25 seemed fair. When I arrived they put me in another room, dingy and full of cockroaches, and when I complained they said "well, do you want a room or not?" I had no other option and just went on a cockroach killing spree which made me late for dinner. To use the washroom and shower it was a 50 minute line up, with locals blatantly budging in front of me just because I didn't speak spanish fluently and when I tried to explain I would only be two minutes they laughed and wouldn't let me use the washroom. The place was dirty, there was no toilet paper, the toilet and shower didn't work normally, and it was basically a hose to rinse yourself off in dirt covered bathroom. I don't reccomend it at all. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND SAVE YOUR DIGNITY! There was also lots of noise and the room's fan was so loud that it was hard to decide to tolerate the noise or the heat. There was no ventilation in here and it was the worst place I've ever stayed. I would just sleep on the beach instead, much nicer.

Room Tip: if you get stuck without a room, just sleep on the beautiful beach instead of in this dump
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Link H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews