We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience”

El Capitan Hotel / Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Capitan Hotel / Hostel
Reviewed December 30, 2013

dont go to this ugly place they go to take all yours valuables We lost a lot.The safe was broken, the lock on the door was broken, there were no blankets to be found, the showerhead had exposed electrical wires and there were cockroaches in the room.

Room Tip: dont stay here!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto Alonso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

El Capitan is a true travelers' hotel. It is hands down my favorite place I have stayed in all of Costa Rica. The friends we made and experiences we had will be unforgettable. The staff is like a family who is more than willing to welcome you into their home. There are hammocks hanging all around the hotel with beautiful beach views & friendly vendors with hand crafted jewelry right outside the front gate. It's the best deal in Montezuma with a fresh fruit breakfast and pancakes and on occasion scrambled eggs or omelets for free with your stay. Something that will easily cost you 4 or 5 mil at any of the restaurants. We had only planned on staying a night or two and found ourselves there for more than a week because of the sheer feeling of happiness and contentment that comes from the overall environment of the hostel itself and it's amazing staff. Muy tranquilo :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hostel really isn´t a clean place. The showers and toilets only work half of the time and they occasionally run out of water. So the toilets cant be flushed anymore and you can imagine what happens next. Our Room was OK. The atmosphere with the others backpackers on the terrace in the first floor with hammock was nice. They definitely serve the best breakfast. You get two yummy pancakes along with a huge selection of fruits. On top they put coconut flakes. Very nice. But they don´t let you use the kitchen. We also stayed at a different place in Montezuma and the bathroom situation seemed everywhere in this village the same.... The people running the hostel are a bit weird tough. make sure when you book the room that they also include your breakfast. Our friends did´t get served their breakfast for some reason and the hostel-owner got really unfriendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

El Capitan... don't go here, especially if you are gringo.

They originally showed me a ocean view room, $25 seemed fair. When I arrived they put me in another room, dingy and full of cockroaches, and when I complained they said "well, do you want a room or not?" I had no other option and just went on a cockroach killing spree which made me late for dinner. To use the washroom and shower it was a 50 minute line up, with locals blatantly budging in front of me just because I didn't speak spanish fluently and when I tried to explain I would only be two minutes they laughed and wouldn't let me use the washroom. The place was dirty, there was no toilet paper, the toilet and shower didn't work normally, and it was basically a hose to rinse yourself off in dirt covered bathroom. I don't reccomend it at all. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND SAVE YOUR DIGNITY! There was also lots of noise and the room's fan was so loud that it was hard to decide to tolerate the noise or the heat. There was no ventilation in here and it was the worst place I've ever stayed. I would just sleep on the beach instead, much nicer.

Room Tip: if you get stuck without a room, just sleep on the beautiful beach instead of in this dump
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Link H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Dani O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank EsmeRaIdaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
#14 of 28 in Montezuma
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Montezuma
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Howler Monkey Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Capitan Hotel / Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Capitan Hotel / Hostel

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing